We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Ranked #122 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Overall, this is a nice hotel. It is close to most points of interest. We just walked or took the bus/subway during our visit. Bus fare is $2.25 ppl (exact change). We proabbly will stay here again if we come to Chicago in the future.

Pros:
-Excellent location
-Good breakfast
-Clean room
-Helpful front desk

Cons:
-Room too small.
-Only one chair in the room, The second person has to sit on the bed
-Parking too expensive

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Raymond F,

Thank you so much for being our guest and for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know you enjoyed our location, clean room accommodations, breakfast at Sunny's and our helpful front desk team. While not having an extra chair and parking fees were the cons, it is such an honor to know you will stay here again if you visit Chicago in the future.

Thank you once again and look forward to your return.

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

stayed here on various business trips into the city and the Hotel is always first class. Excellent service and standards. check-in can be slow at times but i usually arrive around early evening, so that is sometimes to be expected. Room service is how i usually dine but to be honest this is of a good standard also. Bar prices are slightly high but for it's location not unexpected. a good business hotel but would also suit a leisure traveler. A good Choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Gus P,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are extremely appreciative to receive your recognition of "Business...first class.” It's is an honor when one of our repeat guests provides us with a gift of their experience.

Thank you once again and look forward to your return.

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Holiday Inn W. Harrison St Chicago was an excellent choice for the weekend in Chicago. Conveniently located, professional staff who pay attention to details and meet all your needs. Even the restaurant staff were superior in service and professionalism. Ana in the Sunny café was very kind and a pleasure to see each morning.

I would like to specifically (Julio) mention the parking staff who were very pleasant and worked hard to meet all of my needs including assisting with my luggage, getting my car, hailing a cab or anything else I needed. Extra-special mention goes to Julio who assisted in making our trip a pleasure.

Even the cleaning ladies servicing the room were extra nice. When all else fails, you can't beat nice. :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Catherine L.,


Thank you so much for leaving such great words about your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that all of our staff provided great service. Also, thank you for the “Extra –special mention” to Julio. We have shared with him the recognition he received from you.

Thank you once again for recognizing the Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown and look forward to you return.

Warm Regards,

Holiday Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I needed a place to stay for a sporting event at the United Center but also to walk around to see the sights. This Holiday Inn was about in the middle of both. $10 cab ride in rush hour traffic to the UC and about a 20-30 minute walk to Millennium Park and Cloud Gate. I like to walk around though, so some may want to utilize the adjacent Blue Line on the CTA. The "Clinton" stop on the Blue can be seen from the front door of the hotel which was awesome when going to/from the airport. If driving, easily accessible from 290.

Sunnys Bar and Grill was adjacent and connected to the hotel. the breakfast buffet was delicious, typical breakfast fare. There was an optional menu as well but I didn't look at it. Lunch and Dinner served as well. Happy hour (starting at 5) in the lounge/bar area included free appetizers, though I don't know if that was a one time or everyday thing.

Due to hotel being downtown (and all the noise that comes with that) earplugs were provided. I had never seen this before in hotels and thought this was a nice attempt to provide more comfort. Staff was ridiculously friendly and helpful to an obvious out-of-towner (Go Kansas Jayhawks!!). Wasn't a question they couldn't answer about the area or the hotel.

Room Tip: Join IHG Rewards before booking this hotel. Bring additional earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Ut...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Nikerst,

We can't thank you enough for the present you presented to our team about your experience. The feedback you shared about every aspect of the hotel lets the management team know how we are doing and opportunities to improve. The greatest gift any establishment can receive is the gift of a repeat guest. Based on you comment, “Definitely will stay here again", we succeeded in our promise to you.

Thank you once again,

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Pics on the hotel website must be wrong, tiny lobby, friendly staff, overpriced and inaccurate snacks, dirty room, 3rd floor room facing road very noisy and not close or walking distance to attractions, parking is a huge issue in thr city yet at $35. @ night this hotel seems to be cheapest, toilet overflowed 4 times and was not given correct number of towels or shampoo for number of guests staying in room, thank god we found Panera few blocks away in the Marshalls shopping complex.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianabradley41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear dianabradley41 ,

We appreciate the gift you provided our team as it helps us to improve. We can completely understand how you must felt with the problems you listed. Please note that we are in the process of making some improvements to our hotel and hope the next time you stay your experience will be excellent.

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you once again for your gift.

Warm Regards,
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Holiday Inn W. Harrison St Chicago has become my accommodation of choice when visiting the Windy City. The staff area all wonderful - kind, helpful and never too busy to help. Special mention goes to the parking staff who have your car up in no time and help with the bags. Extra-special mention goes to the lovely Taiyon and her dazzling, warm smile that brightens up the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachlan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Lachlan W,

We are most thankful to have one of our returning guests take the time out of their busy schedule to review our hotel. The team works diligently each day striving to provide clean comfortable room accommodations, amenities our guests enjoy and the level of service our guests deserve. We have passed on your great comments to our parking staff andTaiyon. She is definitely a gem and has been since the moment she joined our team.

Thank you once again for recognizing one of our outstanding associates Taiyon and for making Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn and enjoyed free breakfast at Sunny's Bar & Grill because I was a member of IHG. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and service was great. We have stayed here before and will stay here again. Our handicapped room with walk in shower was very much appreciated, since my husband has trouble with the circulation in his legs. The bed was very comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. I took advantage of the business center, which was quiet and well-equipped, including a copy machine. I was able to get some continuing education credits completed. The work out room is also well equipped and there is a coin operated guest laundry. So many reasons to stay at this hotel, within walking distance of Union Station. Sunny's Bar & Grill served up a delicious buffet breakfast and the staff, especially Matthew (Asst. Manager) and Ana were very efficient and friendly. Our only regret was that we did not have time for a longer stay. Maybe next time!!!!

Room Tip: Excellent value for the money and the facilities for handicapped guests were excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetandburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear janetandburt,

Thank you for your declaration regarding your experience while staying at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed the amenities we offer to our loyal IHG Rewards Elite Members such as a complimentary breakfast at Sunny’s Bar & Grill or a complimentary drink. We hope you were able to attend the Manager’s Reception during your stay to see the other complimentary amenities we offer our guests. If you were unable to attend the reception at Sunny’s, the next time you are staying on a Tuesday or Wednesday join our management team along with the other guests for complimentary appetizers and more.

Also, we are elated to know our friendly staff provided the level of service you deserved and that Ana and Matt at Sunny’s Bar & Grill created an experience you did not forget.

Thank you once again for allowing the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown the opportunity to service the both of you while visiting Chicago.

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 506 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60607-4303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £99 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) & Suites Chicago - Downtown conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, and other prominent area attractions. We are steps away from the CTA Clinton Blue Line station on South Clinton Street and I-290 on South Canal Street, this Chicago hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. What's exciting is vacationers are surrounded by Willis Tower, the Museum Campus, Soldier Field and more when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our business travelers appreciate our hotel's location, meeting rooms space of 2,000 sq. ft., free Wi-Fi access, an extensive fitness center, a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool and dining facilities. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Downtown
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing