We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$282
US$242
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$468
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$488
US$345
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$272
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$225
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$281
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$284
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
281
270
119
60
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
270
119
60
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion stationblue linerooftop poolfront deskwillis towerchicago downtownconvenient locationvalet parkingwalking distanceaverage hotelthe hotel is cleanself parkthe loopchecking instreet noisethe entire staffstaff was very friendly and helpful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hotel was great with friendly and helpful staff... Restaurant/Bar attached service sucked... Waited 20 minutes to get order taken. Watch 3 tables with single girls come in after us get prompt service. Had to flag down a waiter ... Music is loud rap music that the waiters walk around singing out loud. I'll stay in hotel again but never go to Sonnys again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firefighter20emt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear firefighter20emt,


Thank you for leaving a review about your experience and please accept my sincere apologies. Our team work very diligently to gain customer loyalty and I'm not sure what happened on this occasion. We have scheduled training with our restaurant staff to ensure repeat behavior of this nature does not happen again. Also, I have passed along your great comments to the hotel staff about the service they provided.

Thank you again for your feedback and hope to have another opportunity to have you as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nitin

General Manager
Holiday Inn Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Really not a good choice for our long weekend. The first room smelled like smoke--like someone was lighting up in the next room. The very nice staff shifted me to a different room prior to my family arriving by separate car (to meet me at the end of a business trip). That room was marginally better but still smelled awful. The rooms were antiquated, stale, and smelly. The door to the room didn't close unless we stood there and pulled/pushed it closed. The location was quite out of the way and not sure I would call it truly downtown at all. Not sure what one could walk to if one really wanted to stroll in that neighborhood. Don't say I didn't warn you. Just find another location.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. That or take your smokes with you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank blondetraveler508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear blondetraveler508,


Thank you for sharing a detailed review about your previous stay and please accept my sincere apologies. Our goal is to provide exemplary services along with amenities that exceed expectations and based on your feedback we failed on amenities. I would love to speak with you personally offline to gather more information as this is not the norm for our guest rooms and hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Nitin
General Manager
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

PH: 312-957-9100
EM: gm@hidowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is awesome with great staff, prices, pool on roof top restaurant and bar, beds clean rooms. We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. We will retun soon its close to highways and walking distance to other places downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Marilu M,


The Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown staff and management team are very happy to receive your gift of guest satisfaction and your acknowledgment to return in the near future.

Thank you for being our guest and for your 5 star review.


Kindest Regards,

Nitin
General Manager
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is very good. Its close to downtown and there is a parking look very cheap for 24 hours, and we can get in and out all the time (about 20 dollars). The room is very good and the employees can help the guests with information about the city. The breakfast is charged in the restauranst just beside the entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbrauns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear bbrauns,

Thank you for leaving a review and for being a guest of the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We hope the next time you visit you are able to enjoy some of Chicago's attractions. The Willis Tower is walking distance, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Planetarium is minutes away.

Let us know when you are visiting again, as we can help you plan your day.


Thank you once again,

Nitin
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We had stayed in this hotel for 1 night... It was a do or die kind of situation for us. We had megabus booking at 11pm from union station and the bus driver didn't allow is to board the bus as we had 1 extra luggage! We were stranded at night in Chicago, holiday inn's green light was like angel's leading us to comfort. Mind it that we had been traveling since last 48 hrs and we had more to go...
I am not gonna lie, this hotel is expensive but why shouldn't it? Its near the Chicago hub... We only had to stay for 1 night so we pinched our pockets.
We only got free WiFi and no complementary breakfast deal, which kind of sucked.
But I must tell you, holiday inn had one of the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in... The bathroom was stocked with necessary items..
It was a comfortable stay...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank NehaMuley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear NehaMuley,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am happy that you were our guest and do understand your frustration with pricing when you were stranded in Chicago. But in the end, you enjoyed the comfortable bed, free Wi-Fi and those amenities in the guestroom.

Thank you once again and welcome your return on a planned visit to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Nitin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews