We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location not experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Ranked #107 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The price you pay and services you get are not on same page. The room that was given to us had bad plumbing.

The location on this hotel is awesome, right in middle of everything. Valet parking is also bad, takes more than 10-15 mins to get your car so call up in advance.

So overall it was a an Ok-Ok experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indian_journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Indian_journey,

Thank you for your review and our apologies for the delay in retrieving your car. We will share your comments with appropriate management of the garage.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Chicago and stay with us again when you return.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Yes, there are lots of hotels and one may either save $5 here or there or perhaps have 10sq ft extra but our rooms were clean, boutique style and plenty of room. We had a King bed, and separate sitting area with a pullout. Although it had a rain shower, there was lots of pressure unlike other hotels that have nice but unhelpful features. My only complaint was there was no coffee in the room but in the same time I could make some I returned from the 2nd floor with a fine brew to start the day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MidlifeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

MidlifeMike,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to share our new renovations in the near future.

Kindly,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Based on many negative reviews, I was apprehensive about staying here. Upon arrival, I loved the fact that it was across the street from Tiffany's, one or two blocks from Water Tower, two or three blocks from 900 N. Michigan, etc. What an awesome location! The hotel had a big city exciting kind of a feeling. The bellcaps were wonderful and helpful. The two lady's at the check-in couldn't have been kinder. They gave me a total of 4 different rooms to try out before deciding. I was very happy with my room, I could hear a faint siren (I was on the 10th floor) but I had ear plugs so that was not an issue for me. Other than that, it was very quiet, no door banging, or loud talking. I couldn't hear anyone else in the other rooms as well. This was truly a home away from home during a difficult time of my life. The restaurant was also very good and fresh. The elevator isn't soooo bad, yeah maybe you have to wait a little bit, but come on.......
The only negative thing I could possibly say was about the fitness center. One elliptic trainer was very strange at an angle that you couldn't do it normally. I just stuck with the treadmill. As well, most of the tv's on the machines didn't work so entertainment was at a minimum. Oh well. They also had bicycles, etc. like any fitness center. The entrance was also rather strange. You have to take the elevator up to the top floor and then walk up a flight of stairs to like an attic space. The stairs don't look so nice, but hopefully they will renovate that eventually.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank babsZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

babsZuerich,

Thank you for you review. We are happy to announce we will be updating the hotel in the future as we were recently purchased by Warwick International Hotels.

It will be our pleasure to have you as our guest once again.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

There was a deal on Redtag for rooms and it was in a great spot. Hadn't been to Chicago before and if I go back I will stay somewhere else. It wasn't totally horrible but there r ALOT of other hotels to choose from. Rooms r sml, had to complain twice to get the shower unplugged. Wifi only on 2nd flr.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sonyajean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Sonyajean77,

We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. We were recently purchased by the Warwick International Hotel Company and have many improvements in store for the hotel.

Please allow us to show our true hospitality in the future.

Regards,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We only stayed one night but would have stayed more if we needed to! Got a great deal through Living Social that included free internet. We were on the 11th floor and upgraded to a King room. Room was updated and pretty spacious. Very clean and has alot of old character. Coffee is available on the 2nd floor near registration desk. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

mrsbondy,

So glad you enjoyed your adventure in Chicago. We agree that our hotel has a certain charm and awesome location!

It will be our pleasure to have you again as our guest.

Thank you,

General Manager
Warwick Alleton Hotel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was a bit concerned by some of the reviews I read-- mold, elevator problems, noise, and other issues.

I had none of these problems. Yes, the standard rooms are small, but one should expect this of an old hotel in the city that doesn't cost a fortune. The room was fine for one and even two people. Tight but not unmanageable. My room and the entire property were clean and well maintained. There was good security.

My room was on 15th floor overlooking Michigan Ave. There was some city noise at night, but not disturbing.

The elevators are busy, but there are several and I never waited longer than a few minutes.

The location is hard to beat and you can (with a reasonable walk) use public transportation (via red line) to get to/from the airport.

Staff are excellent (friendly, knowledgeable and efficient).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarkHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

MarkHF,

We agree that our historic charm and location are key attributes of our hotel!

Thanks for sharing your time and hope to see you again in Chicago.

Kindly,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here July 3 and 4 for a quick getaway. I got a good rate on Hotwire. We had a queen room looking out over Michigan Avenue (room 1904). We couldn't see the street but could see the sidewalk on the other side and a little bit of Huron Avenue. The hotel has a great location. Our room was a decent size, however the bathroom was very small. There was a narrow shelf to put things on in the bathroom. The main drawback was the lack of a dresser. The two nightstands each had two small drawers that worked for a short stay, but it could be an issue for a longer one. There was an empty spot next to the door that could provide space for a dresser. We did not use anything in the snack or beverage bar in the room. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel either so I can't comment on that. Everyone on the staff we encountered was very nice and helpful. I went to the lobby to check e-mail since you have to pay for in room internet. My husband used a bike in the exercise room that had several machines. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mininutrsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Mininutrsp,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago.

We look forward to sharing our hospitality again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Allerton-Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Allerton-Chicago

Address: 701 N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2501 (Formerly Allerton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#96 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £73 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Allerton-Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining stunning historic architecture from the 1920s Jazz Era with modern features and services, Warwick Allerton - Chicago offers a perfect place to stay while visiting the Windy City. Conveniently situated on iconic Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, this timeless hotel features everything needed for an unforgettable experience, including sophisticated guest rooms and suites, upscale amenities, and close proximity to the area’s top points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Allerton-Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerton Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing