We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay-and erroneous mini-bar charge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Ranked #102 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average stay-and erroneous mini-bar charge”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The carpet in the rooms is tired and in our room, had been patched. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet (12th floor) and the location can't be beat. One thing that really rankles me is that the hotel charged us $5 for something from the mini-bar and we did not use the mini-bar. My husband had already been down to the desk to explain that he took their stuff out to store some beer he had bought at the store. The desk told him it was a good thing he stopped in to explain what he had done, since they charge for the mini-bar based on a sensor that tells them that something has been removed....and then they charged us anyway. I wrote to the hotel to complain two weeks ago and have received no response.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid traffic noise. It's a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Miranda C,

My sincere apology for the mischarge with the mini bar. We are in the process of converting to standard refrigerators.

We were recently acquired by Warwick International Hotels and we are working to improve the many services and product of the hotel in the near future.

We look forward to the opportunity to regain your faith.

Sincerely,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    554
    280
    117
    72
See reviews for
270
571
113
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our room was adequate for a one-night stay, but the two of us kept bumping into each other. We had to use the nightstand as a "dresser," and the window ledges to keep some of our toiletries. Heaven forbid a hotel actually omit a mini-bar so guests can have some room. It was a surprise that there was free coffee in the lobby in the morning; a surprise because it was hidden out of sight against a wall and there was no information about it in any of the printed materials in our room. The lounge doesn't offer much, but the bartender does a nice job and it's quiet, which if you like that, is fine. Also, the place was clean and the location is very good. How long are you in your room, anyway?

Room Tip: The higher you go, the less street noise you'll hear; but be patient with the slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaneCountyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
KaneCountyCritic,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Most of our historical guest rooms are uniquely sized and plans for making them more efficient are underway, such as changing our the mini-bars to refrigerators.

Our apologies for the miscommunication regarding the coffee in the lobby. We will pass your comments on to our team.

We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I had a one-night layover in Chicago following a long-haul flight and mainly needed to sleep. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, upon check in I requested a room "high up" to avoid traffic noise. They gave me a great little room in a corner far from the elevators. I could still hear the sirens below but not enough to keep me awake. They also gave me a code for free wifi in the room even though the sign said it was only available for free in the lobby.

The bed was awesome. Great sheets and pillows. (Then again, I was jet lagged.) The room had a quirky shape, which gave it character compared to most modern hotels with a bunch of square rooms lined up along straight, narrow hallways.

The location right off Michigan Ave makes it convenient to restaurants, shopping and public transport. I took the blue line and red line from the airport and walked a few blocks to the hotel. It was a much longer train ride from the airport than I expected, but you can't beat the price! (Not sure I would do that with luggage again, though.)

My one complaint about the hotel was that it did not have in-room coffee. Free coffee was available in the lobby instead. I would have preferred to relax in my room for a while with coffee, but instead I just got dressed and headed out for a sit-down breakfast.

The staff accidentally booked my airport shuttle for the wrong day but they quickly got it fixed and I made it to the airport just fine. (Heads up - the airport shuttle they book only takes cash! Be prepared!)

The staff was consistently courteous and helpful. I would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Amy B,

I am pleased to hear we were able to assist you during your layover. We agree that our historical landmark hotel is unique and carries great charm.

We hope to see you again should you pass thru Chicago.

Sincerely,

Louis Van Huesden
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked pre-paid through priceline and I was wary because of other online reviews, but I absolutely and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. By far, bar none, from the moment I stepped out my my cab to when I went to the airport every single person there went out of their way to help me, be kind and friendly, and truly exemplified the meaning of the word "guest." Every request was accomodated with generosity, and every tip was taken as if not expected or anticipated, but truly appreciated. I felt so comfortable and welcome. When I told them I needed a room with a couch and seating area, they upgraded me to a small suite for 25/nite. I stayed on the 7th floor, and occasionally I would hear sirens, but when I went to bed, I would turn on my white noise with my small portable blue tooth speaker I always travel with, and I heard nothing. The location absoluely cannot be beaten. You are 4 blocks east of a whole foods, 3 blocks from water tower, a block from the Northwestern medical campus, and a nice walk to museums. The rooms are small, but well laid out, and after walking and biking all day, I appreciated the cozy secluded atmosphere. It is not a sleek modern hotel! I requested a fridge, I got one, I wanted more towels, there they were. Wanted a room upgrade, got one. The wifi is expensive, but I always travel with a hotspot and LTE enabled devices, so it wasnt a big deal. The porters were great for all taxi requests, and directions. I had a second week coming, pre-paid and booked, and my son had to leave camp because of a health emergency. I had travel insurance, and was going to file a claim, but the hotel generously refunded, even though they didn't have to without the claim. The service and care at this hotel was impeccible, from beginning to end. My only suggestion for improvement is Coffee makers in the room, please!!! The lobby coffee was great, but I really prefer to have my coffee before I greet the public! I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want, if they have it, they will give it, it may cost a little, but last time I che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippocampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hippocampi,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Regards,

Louis Van Huesden
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good points:
Perfectly situated in the downtown area, the big name shops and malls are within walking distance of the hotel; oak street beach is also only a ten minute walk. The room wasn't massive, but plenty big enough and the bed and pillows made for a good night's sleep. The service was also really good - they even managed to loan me a pair of scissors to wrap a friend's gift when I asked.

Down sides
- a terrible breakfast buffet (only 4 hot items included at almost $20)
- intermittent Internet pretty in the evenings
- the slowest elevators!
- no kettle/mini bar in my room

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a mini bar or kettle so check when you book. Rooms at the back would have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blonde_in_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Blonde_in_HK,

Thank you for sharing you recent experience at our hotel. I will share your comments with our team. We are pleased to let you know that we are currently working on improving both the internet and elevators in the hotel.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago.

Sincerely,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After reading the reviews on this site I was dreading staying in this hotel. It had been booked by my travel agent as part of a two week, two state stay with a cruise so I had no choice. Well all I can say is probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. It was much bigger than I had expected with almost a separate sitting room, 2 large tvs and the best shower ever. We never once encountered any problems or delays with the lifts. It was in a brilliant location bang in the middle of the Magnificent Mile. I asked about internet service and was told it is normally $9.95 a day but he gave me a code which covered our entire stay. Also if you opted out of maid service they gave you a $10 credit to use in the restaurant or on room service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
larma,


Thank you for sharing your experience. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Location is everything and this is within easy walking distance of everywhere that a tourist in Chicago could want to be. The rooms are small but pleasant with all you need except beverages or a useable fridge (it’s one of those touch-sensitive mini-bars).

Service and amenities were pretty standard for this hotel class so the competitive advantage here is the historic building. This comes with some quirks like scattered elevators and a maze of corridors but means that everything is not as generic as it would be in a modern box chain hotel.

There are free computers and printers and a good gym. Public transport is very close and taxis are plentiful. Reception is small and sparsely staffed but we were luckily always near the front of the queue.

Room Tip: Pay more for a bigger room if you want. We had the cheapest one right next to the lift but it was st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
BadgerCT,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very proud of our historic charm. I am pleased to let you know that we will be converting our refrigerators from mini-bars to standard refrigerators.

Regards,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Allerton-Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Allerton-Chicago

Property: Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Address: 701 N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2501 (Formerly Allerton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#96 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Allerton-Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a spectacular, multi-million-dollar renovation to match our dynamic downtown setting, we have reaffirmed our coveted standing among Magnificent Mile Chicago hotels. Luxuriate in sleek, modern rooms and suites appointed with every conceivable comfort, along with a few surprises. Stay at our dazzling downtown Chicago upscale boutique hotel and be at the center of it all with world-class shopping, dining, sightseeing, and entertainment beckoning from right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Allerton-Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerton Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing