We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, fascinating hotel but they can/should do better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Ranked #105 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The position is very good, in the middle of the magnificent mile, and at few feet from the loop!! The hotel is much elegant and big. The room was not big, but not too small, definitely enough to live a few days. The water flow of the shower was not strong enough. The worst is about employees and elevators. Employees are not polite, at least most of them. That's bad! I expect an optimal service from such an hotel. They've 5 elevators, but they are probably not enough, the avarage wait time is quite long in busy hours. The overall experience has been good and I advise that hotel, moreover with a discount of 35% as i had.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Cecilia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will address your concerns with appropriate personnel. Rest assured, your comments will enable us to improve our culture of hospitality.

Having recently acquiring the hotel with Warwick International Hotels we have many improvements underway in the areas of both product and service.

We hope you will allow us an opportunity to share our true Warwick hospitality with you.

Kindly,

Louis Van Huesden
Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for Warwick Allerton-Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely renovated property in a great location. Staff, with one exception, friendly & helpful. Small super small rooms, but expected that with an older property and, honestly, the space was adequate for one person. 2 would have been over-friendly. Also, very clean, which gets high marks from me.

Only 2 issues marred a great stay:

We arrived at 8:40 pm and didn't have rooms until 10:30 pm. You read that right. I will say that the gentleman at the desk comped us drinks & appetizers (huge & delicious), but....

And what is the deal with no coffee in the rooms? I don't know about everyone else, but when I am there for business meetings, the very last thing I want to do is venture to the 2nd floor lobby first thing in the morning with bed head to get coffee, which I NEED first thing.
The lady who answered the phone when I called to ask of I was just not seeing the coffee maker was plain rude about it.

To be clear, she was the only one who was ever rude. But I'm a generous tipper, too, which buys lots of good will when traveling.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kqhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Kqhouston,

On behalf of the staff and management of the Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
and
The hotel was recently acquired by Warwick International Hotels and we are in the process of retraining our team on service cultures, as well as product improvements.

We hope in the future we might regain your trust when you return to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed on my own for a weekend. Check-in was friendly and competent. There are several different configurations of rooms so don't be shy to ask for a different one- that's part of the charm of this historic building. I wish they had told me about the free morning coffee in the second floor lobby as I missed it the first morning (no coffee maker in the room). Bed was comfortable and A/C worked well. Be aware, the mini bar is the kind that charges you if you move items and there's a $25 fine if you move things to store your own items inside. Housekeeping did a fine job with the cleaning but both nights forgot/didn't have enough soap, hand towels, no bag liner for ice bucket and second night no bath mat. No big deal. Items were brought to room swiftly when I called. Very friendly bell staff will hold your luggage on ground floor before or after you check out. No dinner restaurant on property but check with concierge (not front desk staff- they recommended the Grand Lux Cafe. Sorry, really?) for a multitude of nearby excellent restaurants (including The Purple Pig). Gelato for dessert from nearby Eataly or ice cream from Ghiradelli - both usually open until 10 or 11 pm(check their websites). Thanks Warwick Allerton for a good stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Maggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Maggers,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Rest assured, your comments will be used to improve our product and service.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Chicago and we hope you will visit us again if you return.

Sincerely,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Allerton, but it wasn't perfect.

Pros - Location, Location Bus stop right outside on Michigan. Train station a couple blocks walk to Chicago Red Line. Smack dab in the middle of some great shopping and restaurants. The location can't be beat. I like staying in older hotels with some history as long as they are well kept and this one was. It was clean and in really nice condition. The bed was comfortable. For Chicago, the price is right.

Cons - Free wi-fi is only in the lobby - you have to pay for it in the room. There is a mini fridge in the room, but it is stocked and you can't use it to store your own drinks or leftovers without paying a $25 restocking fee. That's annoying. The staff at the front desk are friendly, but you come and go through a "motor lobby" on the ground floor. The guys working down there are not friendly. They aren't rude, they just are not welcoming and look like they would rather be anywhere else than in that motor lobby. Would it hurt them to greet people as they come in? The room is smallish, but that doesn't bother us. We don't spend a lot of time in the room. But, there is no chest or drawers in the room to store clothing - just the small closet. I am the type who likes to unpack and not live out of suitcases, but that wasn't an option here. Last thing - the water pressure is lacking. I have a lot of thick hair and it was a chore to rinse out in that shower.

I know my con list is larger, but really, it is a nice hotel overall and these are small things and I still think it deserves 4 stars. The location is really the draw and I would return there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Redbirder,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

As the hotel was recently acquired by Warwick Hotels International, there are many service and product improvements underway.

We hope when you return to Chicago you allow us to share our improvements.

Regards,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Recently had a meeting at the Warwick Allerton in Chicago. The room was nice. Big city=small room....That's how it is!! Staff was nice. I didn't go to the breakfast downstairs because we had meals in the meeting rooms. Great stay in Chicago. Traveled by shuttle to the hotel from Midway Airport. Allow lots of time during busy hours! It is close to two hospitals so sirens are a given. If that bothers you, probably not the best...I heard them but it was okay.

Room Tip: Away from the hospital side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacknval97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

jacknval97,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meeting was successful and that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your return.

Kindly,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

+ directly situated at the Magnificant Mile in Chicago
+ clean room
+ good, free WiFi
+ great fitness centre
+ no pool
+ no fridge
+ look-out (skyline)

- parking fees (60 $ per night (this is very high, even for Chicago), but valet parking)
- no pool
- small room
- in parts unfriendly staff
- air conditioning does not work properly
- noisy (thin walls)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Piwinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Piwinho,

Thank you for your comments. I will share with our team so we may improve our product and services at the Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago.

Regards,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We chose this hotel for it's affordable price and great location...right in the middle of great shopping and restaurants and only a few blocks south of the lake shore. Our room was spacious, clean, and nicely appointed. The bathroom was small but clean with a pedestal sink and shower (no tub). The king size bed was comfortable. There is a safe in the room. Maid service was excellent. Our only complaint during our 5 night stay was the availability of the elevators. It is an older hotel with small elevators and we had several long waits. But since we were on vacation, we were ok with it. We were able to take the El from the airport to within 5 blocks of the hotel (red line chicago stop). We managed without a car for our entire stay.

Room Tip: We had a small window with a non-descript view so if a view is important request it but it was quiet...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette k, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Sandra M,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Chicago.

We are currently in the process of improving our elevators and hope when you return you will visit us again.

Thank you,

Louis Van Heusden
Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 191 in Chicago
3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#148 of 191 in Chicago
1,831 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,861 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Allerton-Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Allerton-Chicago

Address: 701 N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2501 (Formerly Allerton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#96 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £83 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Allerton-Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining stunning historic architecture from the 1920s Jazz Era with modern features and services, Warwick Allerton - Chicago offers a perfect place to stay while visiting the Windy City. Conveniently situated on iconic Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, this timeless hotel features everything needed for an unforgettable experience, including sophisticated guest rooms and suites, upscale amenities, and close proximity to the area’s top points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Allerton-Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerton Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing