We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this "best kept secret" in Chicago!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
pensacola
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss this "best kept secret" in Chicago!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel turned out to be one of the best parts of my week long trip to Chicago. From the minute you walk through the front door to the lobby upstairs you know you are in someplace special. This is "old" Chicago and that is a good thing. The room was very clean and inviting. The huge bath made it very easy for two women to get ready everyday.
All of the staff from Guest Relations, to the housekeeping staff to EVERYONE of the Valets and Bellmen made you feel "happy to be there".
Don't miss ADA's Deli and Restaurant the food is made as you order and is downright cheap compared to other places close.
The only Negative thing I could find was the motion activated thermostat, made it hot at night.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zr1woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,269
    539
    129
    31
    34
See reviews for
387
720
120
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Hotel is located only a few blocks from millennium park and many restaurants and shops. The room was clean, staff was friendly, furniture was very dated however, but overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel with a group of friends while in Chicago for a wedding. Overall it was a pretty good experience given the price of the rooms. I think we received a really good deal on the rooms because it was December in Chicago- not exactly the height of tourist season.

The Room:

My friends and I stayed in 2 conjoining rooms right across from the elevator on one of the upper floors. There was no view out of our windows other than the building next door. I'm not sure if any of the rooms have a view at this hotel or not.

The furnishings and overall vibe of the room was that it was quite old, but nice enough. The rooms were decently spacious and comfortable, but nothing special. The bathrooms especially felt very old.

The Service/ Hotel Overall:

There is a very nice lobby on the 2nd floor with computers, a piano, and lots of seating. This was convenient because we arrived early and our rooms weren't ready yet. The concierge and the other staff were all very friendly and helpful. The one thing that was "off" about the hotel was that the street-level interest consistently smelled very bad.

The location:

This was the BEST thing about the hotel other than the price. The hotel is about 2 blocks from Millennium Park with great museums and entertainment. Most attractions are walkable from the hotel. However, for the things that are not within walking distance, the hotel is located HALF a block from the El- Chicago's transit system. This was extremely convenient, especially because you can ride the El directly to both of Chicago's main airports! We saved a lot by not taking a cab!

So, If you want a hotel that is not expensive and is in a very convenient location- stay at the Silversmith. If you are looking for luxury, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwbdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Silversmith over Memorial Day weekend. We had a roomy 1 bedroom suite. The king bed was very comfortable ~ can't vouch for the sofa bed. The bathroom was huge. It would have been nice to have had a door in the middle of the bathroom to separate the toilet from the shower sink. The only real down side to the room is that there is an open vent between the living room and bedroom. So, the sound carries right into the bedroom. I finally out that is why the living room tv was so loud in the bedroom the morning we were checking out. If I had figured it out sooner, I would have covered the vent (which is located at the bottom of the wall) with a couch cushion.
The location of the Silversmith is outstanding! Lots of great shopping along State and Wabash. Also, just one block away from Millenium park and the fantastic museums.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntz4bbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We went for the holiday weekend and I was very happy with the hotel. Everyone was helpul and prime spot for going everyway in the city. Eat at Miller Pub and have a few beers (Craft Beers) or a bloody mary. Theres a pork chop in that glass!! Bartender Mike fits the scene. It was a very nice man. Rudys has awsome burgers rated #1 and there is Italian place right next door to Rudys looked good didn't eat there should have. Look on line for deals at the Silversmith it is well worth it. I looked at the reviews and people need to get over their own issues. We had a blast going back in a few months to do again. We had rainy weather so the only thing we did was go to Navy Pier , All the boat rides looked fun , dang rain. Everyway we went in the city beer was decent price mixed drinks over priced. Looking forward to our next trip to the city, we took metra downtown, walked and rode cabs now that a great weekend!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktiesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

This was a great hotel in every sense :) Stayed for a week, and have nothing to complaint about :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybee_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

The hotel was very nice and clean. Great location for parents with students at Columbia College. (about a 10 minutes walk down the street). Very close to the red line Monroe Street stop. If going to Navy Pier, #29 bus around the corner on Monroe Street drops you right off at the Pier! Service was great! We had a late flight out Sunday and the hotel bellhops kept our bags until 3pm after checking out at 9am. Would definitely stay agin. No hottub or pool, older TV's (no flat screens) but if you don't need all the bells and whistles it is a great place to stay! Looking to eat, Millers Pub down the street has excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nebufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,509 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing