We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Craftsman Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Craftsman Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

From Midway Airport mass transit (CTA - L Line) to the hotel could not have been easier. We did not want to stay on the Miracle Mile in Chicago but more in the arts and park and museum area of the city.
The Silversmith Hotel was a surprise and a treat. The building was designed by Burnham and has been restored to a very, very private accomodation hotel. No grand teas or open lobbies to the public streaming through here. At the same time, the lobby floor was enormous and lovely place to sit in relaxing chairs and sip fruit water while admiring the decor. You wouldn't be able to find the lobby if you were not headed to the hotel. Security is great. To access the upper floors you need a card. Every time we arrived, at least two security or staff were on hand to greet us.
Our room was immaculate, spacious and all designed in the Craftsman/Stickley/ Arts and Craft period with nice attention to detail. Large room with a sitting area lounge with refrigerator. Enormous bathroom for a hotel room. Plenty of storage and closet area.

Service was fine, not overly friendly. Just a nice welcome and any information you could need. Room service was prompt . Downstairs there are two options for dining, A restaurant deli for breakfast and a bar.

Room Tip: There is the train outside the hotel room, so there is a rumble. We were right next to the track, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,269
    539
    129
    31
    34
See reviews for
387
720
120
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

i really liked this hotel - there were a lot of good things going for it: the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was huge (i had a large bedroom area with a huge bed, and a separate living room type area with a sofa, desk and coffee table - there was a TV in both areas, plus a large bathroom with tub and shower), and immaculately clean (one of the curtains in the bedroom was off its hooks a bit and too high up for me to reattach it, and presumably for the cleaners too, but that was no big deal).

there was a vending and ice area down the hall, as well as free wifi in the rooms and in the lobby (which is large, has citrus water to drink and comfy chairs to sit in). there was a diner type restaurant in the ground floor that was open fairly often and could be accessed from the hotel or outside, that did decent, inexpensive breakfasts and had a bar and ATM.

the location was great - right next to wabash/madison L station, which has green, purple, pink and brown lines i think; the red line was very close too, Monroe station was 1 block away. millennium park, the bean and the art institute were 2 blocks away, the cultural center about the same, there were lots of restaurants close by (including pizano's pizza literally across the street), bars, cafes, useful shops (CVS, walgreens & two 7-elevens within a couple of blocks).

the only downside - and actually for me it really wasn't, because i find this oddly comforting - was that being positioned almost under the L tracks & station meant the hotel was generally very noisy. if you stood outside the entrance (say, waiting for a shuttle to the airport etc) the noise was really loud, every time a train goes through you really know about it. but even within the hotel you could still hear the rumbling of trains and sometimes also the bells to signify opening/closing doors and platform announcements. my room was at the back so this was lessened, but it was still clearly there. i have no problem with this but any travellers who prefer to be somewhere quiet should perhaps rethink and do just that. however, if that kind of thing isn't a problem for you and you want somewhere with impeccable location, good staff & lovely rooms, go for this.

Room Tip: if you don't like noise, ask to be at the back, away from the L station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank talkingtocactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Silversmith, because it isn't too big and it is very conveniently located. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: If the sound of trains affects your sleep, then ask for a room that doesn't face the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARVBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our room was spacious with a very nice bathroom. Despite the train line running close to the hotel, the room was quiet. Location is excellent - Millenium park is on your doorstep, most tourist attractions are within walking distance and the hotel is easy to get to on the L line from o'Hare airport. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Exceptionally well located in the center of Chicago, the hotel is only a few blocks from the Art Institute and a dozen other attractions. Walking to shopping, parks the lake and musea is quite easy. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and functional. The view was of a lovely brick wall, but that also assured it would be quiet and that was among our goals in finding a hotel. The hotel offers valet parking at about $50. I felt quite uncomfortable giving up my MB500S to the valet, however. There are also security agents in the ground floor foyer and a lovely reception area on the second floor. We took advantage of a coupon, so the price was just around $100 per night. We would happily return any time over-nighting in Chicago. It was a lovely and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The "L" runs noisily on one side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very cute hotel with an EXCELLENT location. One block walk from Millennium Park and about a10 minute walk from the Miracle Mile. We were only in Chicago for one evening and with the great location of the hotel, we didn't have to take any taxis to see everything we wanted to see. We were also upgraded from a standard room to a suite which was a very pleasant surprise (especially because we are younger guests and we usually aren't treated with as much respect as older guests as we are seem to be "cheap"). The bed was super comfy as well :) I slept great. Genuinely nice staff (not fake-y nice) and overall a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: The hotel is right by one of the stops on the Loop. We were on level 8 which was nice because we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Have stayed there several times now. Very convenient location, easy acces to the El. Staff is courteous and very helpful.

Room Tip: Can get noisy if your room faces the El, ask for one on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKE687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,509 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing