We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$550
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$316
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$386
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$648
US$501
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$317
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,206)
Filter reviews
2,206 results
Traveller rating
1,404
590
139
36
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
590
139
36
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe loopmillennium parkart institutegreat locationelevated traintrain noisel trainlarge bathroomwithin walking distancebrick wallthe beanblue linelight sleeperbeautiful hotelfront desk staffpublic transportationtwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,476 - 1,481 of 2,206 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

During two bitterly cold days in Chicago, the warmth of this charming small hotel was quite appreciated. The broad smile and enthusiastic hello from the door man was delightful. The front desk [located on the 2nd floor of the building] sets the cheerful tone of this establishment. Each staff member exhibited a helpful, enthusiastic, and engaging attitude and demeanor.
Our room was large, comfortable, and extremely clean. The bathroom was enormous as well as spotless. There was a minor problem [toilet seat was wiggly]; as soon as we reported it, maintenance came and fixed it.
The free wi-fi and flat-screen T.V. worked quite well and was welcomed, indeed. The bed was solid and comfortable, just the way we like it. I enjoyed all the beautiful wood, high ceilings, and elegant furnishings.

The location was perfect for us since we were attending a performance at a nearby auditorium.
Just downstairs, we ate both lunch and breakfast at Idas Cafe. The food was excellent food and the location was quite convenient.

Our experience at The Silversmith Hotel & Suites was priceless...great value, genuine staff, and extraordinary accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th floor and to be on the side away from the tracks on Wabash Ave.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deecat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We all enjoyed reading your recap of every aspect of our hotel. I will be sure to share it with all of our staff.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again, as the weather warms up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

No matter what the weather might be doing, the welcome is warm at this hotel. The charming man at the front door man wrangled our bags for us and recognising the signs of "travel overload" guided us painlessly through check in. Our room was lovely, the beds were very comfortable and the staff could not have been more helpful.

It is very well located, close to many of the major attractions people come here to see: the Art Institute, the theatre, Millennium Park as well as many shops and restaurants. It's easy to find at the end of a long day.

The hotel gave the impression of calm and serenity and we found it a very relaxing and charming place to stay.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Janie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We are glad that you found us to be the perfect spot for your repsite after a long day.
We really appreciate your business and hope that if your travels lead you back to Chicago that you will come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at The Silversmith Hotel & Suites for 5 nights in January 2013 during my business trip to Chicago. I had booked a room, and I got a small suit (bedroom + living room + bathroom) at no extra charge. Very good service at reasonable price as for downtown accommodation. It's worth to add that right before arriving to The Silversmith I spent one night at Hilton - Boston Logan Airport, where for much more money I got much worse service. I'd definitely recommend staying at The Silversmith for your downtown Chicago needs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is always nice to hear that we outperformed the Boston hotel.
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back in Chicago again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had a tiny tiny issue upon checkin. The issue was so insignificant that its not even worth mentioning. The front desk clerk / manager Sergio demonstrated the most amazing customer service. He apologized right away and did anything he could to make up for the inconvenience. Everyone should send their front desk clerks to Sergio for training!!! Also the hotel is very spacious and impeccably clean. The room is larger than expected and don't forget to try the toilet phone! (disclaimer-its near the toilet.... The toilet itself is not a phone). If you have the choice.... Stay here vs other area hotels... Its quite the hidden gem!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguinsonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for such an outstanding review. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Sergio.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Spacious rooms with nice touches make this hotel unique instead of cookie-cutter chains. The usual things are here - along with a friendly staff and an amazing location. Definitely will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windupdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for the great review.
We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews