We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“week end at soxfest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #17 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
oak forest
1 review
“week end at soxfest”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights when we went to check in woman at desk was awesome she told us that she could upgrade our room at no additional charge. We recieved a room with jaccuzzi. that made a great stay into an awesome stay. that little thing she did will make me and others we know stay at silversmith again next year when we come down for sox fest.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for the review and the comments on our front desk staff. It is always nice to hear when we are able to provide upgrades.
GO Sox and we will see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    541
    129
    31
    35
See reviews for
392
721
123
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

During two bitterly cold days in Chicago, the warmth of this charming small hotel was quite appreciated. The broad smile and enthusiastic hello from the door man was delightful. The front desk [located on the 2nd floor of the building] sets the cheerful tone of this establishment. Each staff member exhibited a helpful, enthusiastic, and engaging attitude and demeanor.
Our room was large, comfortable, and extremely clean. The bathroom was enormous as well as spotless. There was a minor problem [toilet seat was wiggly]; as soon as we reported it, maintenance came and fixed it.
The free wi-fi and flat-screen T.V. worked quite well and was welcomed, indeed. The bed was solid and comfortable, just the way we like it. I enjoyed all the beautiful wood, high ceilings, and elegant furnishings.

The location was perfect for us since we were attending a performance at a nearby auditorium.
Just downstairs, we ate both lunch and breakfast at Idas Cafe. The food was excellent food and the location was quite convenient.

Our experience at The Silversmith Hotel & Suites was priceless...great value, genuine staff, and extraordinary accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th floor and to be on the side away from the tracks on Wabash Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deecat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We all enjoyed reading your recap of every aspect of our hotel. I will be sure to share it with all of our staff.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again, as the weather warms up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

No matter what the weather might be doing, the welcome is warm at this hotel. The charming man at the front door man wrangled our bags for us and recognising the signs of "travel overload" guided us painlessly through check in. Our room was lovely, the beds were very comfortable and the staff could not have been more helpful.

It is very well located, close to many of the major attractions people come here to see: the Art Institute, the theatre, Millennium Park as well as many shops and restaurants. It's easy to find at the end of a long day.

The hotel gave the impression of calm and serenity and we found it a very relaxing and charming place to stay.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We are glad that you found us to be the perfect spot for your repsite after a long day.
We really appreciate your business and hope that if your travels lead you back to Chicago that you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at The Silversmith Hotel & Suites for 5 nights in January 2013 during my business trip to Chicago. I had booked a room, and I got a small suit (bedroom + living room + bathroom) at no extra charge. Very good service at reasonable price as for downtown accommodation. It's worth to add that right before arriving to The Silversmith I spent one night at Hilton - Boston Logan Airport, where for much more money I got much worse service. I'd definitely recommend staying at The Silversmith for your downtown Chicago needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is always nice to hear that we outperformed the Boston hotel.
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back in Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had a tiny tiny issue upon checkin. The issue was so insignificant that its not even worth mentioning. The front desk clerk / manager Sergio demonstrated the most amazing customer service. He apologized right away and did anything he could to make up for the inconvenience. Everyone should send their front desk clerks to Sergio for training!!! Also the hotel is very spacious and impeccably clean. The room is larger than expected and don't forget to try the toilet phone! (disclaimer-its near the toilet.... The toilet itself is not a phone). If you have the choice.... Stay here vs other area hotels... Its quite the hidden gem!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penguinsonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for such an outstanding review. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Sergio.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Spacious rooms with nice touches make this hotel unique instead of cookie-cutter chains. The usual things are here - along with a friendly staff and an amazing location. Definitely will be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windupdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for the great review.
We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Located in the Loop, The Silversmith was not too far from the Millenium Park (where you can find the Cloud Gate and Crown Fountain to name a few art pieces). It was also not too far from where we had to pick up our Chicago Passes AND was near one of the pick-up points for our hop-on-hop-off bus rides. There are restaurants, cafes and convenience stores nearby, so if you need stuff (or more food and water) that is no problem.

The rooms may be a bit small, but they are comfy nonetheless. When we reserved our room, we requested that our room be located in an area where we won't be hearing much noise (like trains and cars)... and the rooms they gave us were so quiet, we worried that we might have been the only ones making "noise" on our floor.

What I LOVED most about this hotel was the STAFF! I would like to commend Ms. Morehead and her team for being very patient with us! Our trip to Chicago was bumped-off by 3 days because of technical difficulty with our aircraft, and the airline had a hard time putting people into other flights. Luckily, Ms. Morehead and her "angels" (I think their names were Emily and Penny? I no longer recall...) stayed in touch with us. We were so glad to still have rooms to sleep in when we arrived in Chicago! They were even there to welcome us when we arrived from the airport!

Hope that's enough to convince you folks to book here! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nani008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you so much for the great review.
I will be sure to pass along your comments to the entire staff.
We appreciate your business and hope that if you are back in Chicago, that you will again be staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,613 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,465 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing