We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to return when construction finished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #20 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

By reading reviews on this hotel I was slightly apprehensive on booking here. Concerns from these reviews on noise from the el trains, construction, and lack of restaurant / bar turned out to be a non issue during our stay. We were on the 8th floor directly above the train and barely heard any trains. The construction was only noticed on the ground floor and a bit in the hallway on our floor. The room was perfect; nice large bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The only problem we had was the refridgerator, which never was cold. We did call this in and maintenance was to look at but never heard if they did check it out or not, but temperature did not improve. All staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. In talking with one of the employees he explained some of the changes in process; finishing the restaurant / bar, expanding the fitness center and moving registarion to the ground floor. I'd really like to return to see the finshed product when these changes have been completed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when our restaurant is completed. We can't wait to welcome you back to The Silversmith Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a great small hotel located in the middle of the Loop.

The hotel is very clean, very well appointed and has an outstanding location.

The service staff was very helpful and friendly during my stay.

I was in town to see the sights and attend a sporting event. The location allowed me to hop on a number of the train lines (theres a stop right outside the front door) or many of the bus routes have stops on the same city block that the hotel is located on.

This hotel doesn't have a ton of the amenities that some high end places have. There's no spa on site or on site restaurant for room service. But for my money the location, comfort and cleaninless is the most important for a stay in Chicago. I can walk or commute to a nice restaurant when i need to.

This is a great hotel for visiting Chicago. I would recommend it for familes, couples and when the location is right for business.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side will be quieter as they are away from the train. Not sure it's a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestMichEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our great service from our employees and our location which can't be beat! We hope to see you again when our restaurant is up and running!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Silversmith is a wonderful hotel located at the center of just about everything that you need. My wife and I stayed four nights while she was attending a conference in Chicago. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the doorman and valet, who were very pleasant and helpful. Check in went very quick and we were given a king room on the 9th floor. 9th floor was undergoing some renovation at the time but nothing that we couldn’t live with. Room was very nice; having looked like it had recently been renovated. Room had a small sitting area with a television along with a king size bed with another TV. Bathroom was large with a great walk-in shower. Room was facing the front of the building and you could look down on the elevated tracks. Occasionally you could hear the train go by, but it wasn’t disruptive. Used the exercise room the following day and equipment was nice but room was a little small. The hotel provided a nice continental breakfast to start your day. It looked like one time the hotel had a restaurant but it was being remodeled at the time of our visit. The front door staff was very accommodating and friendly and helped us to both get cabs and advised us where to catch the Metro. “El” station right at the corner of the hotel and Metro was only a block and a half away. Everything was in walking distance from the Hotel. We easily walked to the shops on Michigan Ave, the Aquarium and the Field Museum from the hotel. A fifteen minute stroll and you could easily be at the north end of Michigan Ave. However, there was plenty of shopping in the area on State Street, one block to the west. Plenty of restaurants in the area, including Panera Bread, Miller’s Pub and the Bergoff. For the value in Chicago, the hotel was well worth it. If traveling back to Chicago, we would look at staying at the Silversmith again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacingRoscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see again soon at The Silversmith Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The room we stayed in was recently redecorated with an old Hollywood chic elegance- it felt very posh. The room had everything we needed including plush towels and cozy bedding which are a must for a vacation. But the best part of the Silversmith is the staff! From start to finish we had incredible service. I had problems with Groupon and the manager fixed everything for me. It was our daughter's birthday and the staff left her goodies and a handwritten note in the room. I left my phone and gloves in the car and the valet walked four blocks to go hunt for those items in my car and brought them back to me immediately! I was so grateful as my phone is my life line and had all my precious photos in it. I could go on and on about the staff- truly the best of any hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere: USA and out of the country. Each staff member was kind, courteous, helpful, polite and genuine, not phony. From reservations/front desk to bell hops to valet to housekeeping. They truly made our visit a wonderful, lovely memory!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glamour_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your great comments. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful service. We hope to see you again at The Silversmith Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Wonderful hotel with very nice friendly staff. Our bathroom was so clean you could eat off the floors (but we didn't). Beds were comfy and warm. Newly decorated room was beautiful, with all the amenities you could think of. Hotel was extremely convenient to everything including public transportation and in walking distance to most major Chicago attractions. If I had to pick a negative (and this is stretching it) the coffee was a little weak and the free continental breakfast mediocre. If you are a light sleeper you will want to request a room away from the CTA that runs all night.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you will want to request a room away from the CTA that runs all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Silversmith Hotel and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed one night, 3 guests, business. Right off the (Southwest stairway) El stop of Wabash/Madison. 3rd floor guests facing the street get to see the trains up close. Check in was fast. Doorman wasn't, well, he wasn't at the door. There is sort of a bland plywood corridor at the entrance, then you ascend in an elevator or by steps to the 2nd floor lobby. Very friendly staff, looks like an older hotel which had a makeover. Fruit water in the lobby, and in the morning, free continental breakfast. But beware, They only put out about 8-10 bagels, and when they are gone, you have to ask if they will bring out more food. Elevators fast, clean public areas, rooms, and bathrooms. The lobby has a piano hidden back around the corner by the meeting room, and a public restroom. The lobby looks like it was a bigger room, and walled off. Tiny gym has sparse equipment. No business area I could find, but the desk will print your boarding pass if you ask. Rooms have high ceilings, lofty bathroom with shower stall on one end, bath/shower on the other, all recently made over, Marble, wallpaper, lighting,etc. Small fridge, no microwave. We were in a king suite on top floor, the 10th. Not the very largest room, but adequate. Double storm windows quiet the city noise, but windows open! Ice machines and 1 soda machine each floor, they sell red bull from a cooler at the desk. The website made it sound like there was a consierge station, but none that I could find. Just helpful folks at the front desk, sort of a country inn feel. Within walking distance of a Starbucks, Panera, and Corner bakery. Miller's pub is also within a block, and across the street is the fameous Reys Cigar Lounge on the 2nd floor. It's not the Ritz, but certainly adequate for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room facing the trains and the cigar lounge. Maybe ask for the Largest room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Guest-

I'm sorry we didn't have a chance to speak before you left the property. Please email Emily Cohen at emily.cohen@silversmithhotel.com as we would like to discuss your stay with you.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The room itself is newly renovated with very pleasing decor. High end amenities such as thick glass shower doors and cool bath mirror. Staff was friendly. The room itself was miniscule and had no where to sit except on the high bed (headboard was beautiful). There was a floor lamp instead of a side table on one side of the bed (so no where to put glasses and cup of water).
The room had one banquet chair thrown in a corner.
(The only other hotel room I've stayed in that was this small and had no extra seating was The Pod hotel in NYC, but this was clear on their site, so expected.)
Front desk gave my husband another banquet chair upon request so we both could have a place to sit. But very uncomfortable so I called to see if we could get some better chairs. The front desk staff said she could not do that and would we like to change rooms? I got a call from a manger a short time later stating that in the new design they decided not to include desks and chairs. The offer of another room was no longer on the table and the implication was that all the new rooms were this way. But, their own web site room photos show chairs, along with guest photos on this site (even a sofa!). Perhaps the AAA "best rate" does not include seating?
Ice machine was impossible to find without help and only one hook in bathroom to hang towels. There was no where to put clothes except to hang them in very tiny closet. All of this would be an easy fix and room could be modified to make up for these deficits.
I would stay here again if I had a larger room with chairs, but I would call and talk with a manager to make sure. It was not too bad if you don't want to spend time in the room.

Room Tip: If the noise from the "L" would bother you, request room up high or toward the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest-

Please accept my sincere apology that you did not receive the highest level of service that we strive to offer. We do have a few rooms without chairs, but we do our best to accommodate our guests requests to provide them with the necessities they require. Please email our Front Office Manager, Emily Cohen, at emily.cohen@silversmithhotel.com for any future reservations and to ensure that you have a room that will meet your needs 100%. We would like the opportunity to show you our true services.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £105 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing