We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #21 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Wouldn't hesitate staying here again. Had a first class experience at The Silversmith. Hotel is very modern looking and close to everything in The Loop. Staff are wonderful and helpful. Had a great stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sachaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you, Sachaus, for taking the time to review Silversmith Hotel. We're so glad you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our recently remodeled accommodations as well as our central location in the heart of downtown. We hope you will join us again on your next visit to Chicago and experience the new lounge and restaurant opening soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

What an awesome weekend in Chicago. The Silversmith was a huge part of that. Everyone from the bellmen, valet parking staff, and front desk staff (Vanessa and Hannah and others whose names I cannot recall) went out of their way to ensure that our stay was fabulous. Our flight was cancelled on Sunday night and we had no problem booking an extra night, in the exact room we were in over the weekend. The staff at this hotel went out of their way to ensure our comfort and convenience. The hotel itself was so convenient, we walked to the Cadillac Palace Theatre, Symphony Hall, and Art Institute. If the weather was better we would have walked to other venues as well. Truly a gem of a hotel and I rebooked for the Chicago Marathon in October. Thank you for a most wonderful stay in Chi Town!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Susan G. Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Silversmith Hotel. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and we're pleased to hear our customer service exceeded expectations. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Vanessa, Hannah and the rest of our hard-working team. Our new lounge and restaurant is opening soon, so we look forward to hearing your thoughts about it as well during your next stay. We’ll see you in October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great hotel, nice room, room was big and clean, gorgeous bathroom, great location, everything is on walking distance. Friendly staff, valet parking available.
Would definitely stay here again when in Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja19752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Anja19752014, thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at Silversmith Hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our recently remodeled accommodations, spacious bathrooms and prime location in the heart of downtown Chicago. We hope you will join us again soon to experience our new lounge and restaurant opening soon. We'd love to hear your feedback! We look forward to your next visit.
--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Silversmith was a delight from start to finish. For an adult family outing we opted out of having a car. So parking was not an issue for us. No problem getting a taxi right outside of the hotel and the bell staff was very helpful. Located on Jeweler's Row. if you are looking for bling you are in the right neighborhood!

The public areas of the hotel are gorgeous with amazing wood work. There is a player baby grand in the lobby (though we never heard it playing). Breakfast was a complimentary continental affair which we did not expect. I thought we'd be on our own for breakfast and I fully embrace the free breakfast. Thanks for the treat! The man who worked at breakfast was delightful. The rooms are quite spacious, the beds comfortable and noise an non-issue despite the hotel being under renovation while we were there. Our room was on the street side, which is also the side of the elevated train...still no noise issue.

I would recommend this hotel to adults. Because this was an adult trip (our kids are grown) I listed us as traveling with friends.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBD1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

MBD1957, thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast before exploring the city and Jewelers Row. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Chicago, whether traveling with a group of friends or solo! Our new lounge and restaurant is opening soon, so you will have to let us know what you think during your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This wonderful hotel is easy to find and within walking distance of many attractions in Chicago. Especially close to the Art Institute of Chicago and Millenium Park. The valet parking was great. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The lobby is gorgeous and the room was wonderful. The bathroom was spacious. I can't wait to go back. This will be our go to hotel in Chicago and I will be telling all my friends and coworkers about this gem.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smalltown_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and five-star review regarding your stay at Silversmith Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible experience for our guests, and are glad to hear we have your recommendation. We think of ourselves as refined gem in the heart of downtown Chicago, and are glad to hear you enjoyed our central location and recently remodeled guest rooms. We hope you'll join us again in the near future to experience the new lounge and restaurant opening soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hotel currently being refurbished, new decor is pretty terrible but expensive and comfortable just not to my taste. fortunately they appear to be keeping the beautiful Arts & Craft lobby with its beautiful chandeliers. Staff very friendly and helpful. Also it's the perfect location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erich09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Erich09, thank you for choosing Silversmith Hotel during your recent visit to Chicago. We're sorry to hear the decor selection is not suited to your taste, but are glad to know you enjoyed our friendly guest service, as we make every effort to ensure each guest's stay is as comfortable as possible. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We looked online at a number of places, and finally landed on Silversmith thanks to a savings with our AAA membership (that included parking). We loved our experience. Very clean, exceptionally friendly staff from the doorman to the desk. Room was nice and clean. Shower was large. Bathroom was big. (We had the smallest King bed room they offered.) They are in the midst of moving the reception desk to the bottom floor. It wasn't finished when we left, but it's close and looks like it will be beautiful. The train is steps outside the door, so you're close to anything. And Art Institute is two blocks away. It's on Madison, so the #20 bus runs directly to United Center (where we caught the Paul Simon/Sting concert). If you can, request a room on the back side, away from the train. That's where we were. You could hear the train, but only if the TV was off. I assume if you were on the train side it might be noisy, but that's the trade off for being so close when you want to go somewhere. We'll be back next time we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you, David K, for the recommendation of Silversmith Hotel. We're so glad you chose to stay with us during your recent trip to Chicago, and are happy you were able to take advantage of our central location to explore some of the city's attractions as well as enjoyed our recently remodeled accommodations. Our new lounge and restaurant is debuting soon, so you will have to experience our new addition during your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £105 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing