We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #17 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great find in the city”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Coming from the NYC area I wasn't expecting such a nice hotel for the price I recieved. It was a pleasant surprise. The front desk couldn't have been any nicer, they upgraded me since I have elie status with Expedia to a junior suite. The room had a cute sitting room separate from the bedroom. The bedroom had two very comfortable full size beds and was a decent size for a downtown hotel. The room came with all the emenities expected in a first class hotel. Including bathrobes. There s a nice gym and parking. I did find parking a bit steep at fifty six dollars a night but you can go in and out as much as you would like
. There is cheaper parking a few blocks away, about thirty six dollars but you can't come and go. Overall this was a very nice experience and the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: In the back ts quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koochieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you Koochieloo, for your five-star review of Silversmith Hotel. Having just completed a remodel, we think of ourselves as a rare gem located in the heart of downtown Chicago, and we're delighted you have discovered us. We hope you’ll choose to stay with us again next time you visit the city, and have a chance to experience handcrafted cocktails and delicious dishes from the new lounge and restaurant, Adamus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    565
    133
    32
    35
See reviews for
407
749
130
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Really enjoyed an earlier stay. Our stay in April 2014 was enhanced by a recently completed remodelling. The hotel looks sharp. The dining room and menu have been upgraded. The service remains first-rate. You can still hear the rumble of the "L" but once again that did not disturb our sleep. Might want to hold down or eliminate the music in the dining room. But this remains our go-to hotel in Chicago. The amount of space in the well-kept rooms remains a really attractive feature, as is its central location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi MarkL_10, thank you for your feedback about the recently redesigned Silversmith Hotel. It means so much to us that we are your hotel of choice during trips to Chicago, and are pleased to hear your approval of our new look. We're glad you enjoyed our attentive staff and spacious accommodations once again, and are excited to hear about your experience at Adamus, the new lounge and restaurant. We appreciate your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coloma, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived around 5 in the evening. The door man was very nice and we went up to the room. It was clean and quaint We got ready for dinner and went out. In the morning the continental breakfast was nice. I enjoy coffee and the coffee was fresh, hot and tasty. We heard the El every twenty minutes but overall it was a very nice experience and the hotel employees were great..... I

Room Tip: rooms on the north side are quieter.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckmdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you, duckmdude, for choosing to stay at Silversmith Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing superior guest service, and are pleased to hear you had an excellent experience during your visit to Chicago. Our new lounge and restaurant, Adamus, is open now and available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We hope you have to chance to visit us again soon, as we'd love to hear your feedback about the lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights during a conference/work trip. I was able to get a AAA discount, so it was cheaper than the nearby conference hotel. And I was surprised/impressed at how nice the Silversmith is. Probably the "nicest nice" hotel I've stayed in. The staff were very friendly, and the room was so clean, comfortable, and well designed. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parsleysage9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear parsleysage9, thank you so much for your kind comments regarding Silversmith Hotel. We've just completed a full remodel and opened a vibrant new lounge, Adamus, and we're thrilled you enjoyed our new look. Guest service is our top priority, and we will pass along your compliments to our staff. We hope you and your husband will visit us again for your next business trip, or join us for a few days of leisure to further take advantage our central location close to many Chicago attractions. Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Dont let the exterior fool you. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was.The furnishing were fresh and modern,comfortable bed,nice bathroom etc, felt high-end. The staff was friendly and accomadating (especially when I needed to receive a fax). As far as location,the CTA is just steps from the hotel door. We arrived from Ohare on the Blue line but that is a very short walk to the hotel. The Red line is closest (you can transfer to the red from the blue if you dont want to walk but its really no big deal). Shops at Magnificent mile and State st are short distance away. The hotel's restuarant was closed due to construction but there was plenty of restuarants very close by. The El goes by this hotel but our room was in the back and we did not have a problem with noise. We just had one window that faces the wall of another building so no nice view, but that's not what I was looking for in a hotel. Overrall our stay was comfortable and I would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesnt face the EL,back room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaklyn9811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you, Jaklyn9811, for a wonderful review of Silversmith Hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our recently remodeled gust rooms with modern decor and were able to take advantage of our prime, downtown location. We hate that you missed out on our new lounge and restaurant. Adamus is now open so hopefully you can visit us again soon for the the full experience! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I often stay here when I have an overnight business event. The location is excellent. The staff is always friendly and helpful. There are many restaurants nearby. Convenient to Macy's and other shopping. High charge for parking, but that's the case with all Chicago hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a desk and close to the elevator. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldg4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
ldg4283, thank you for you kind comments about Silversmith Hotel. We're pleased to be your destination of choice during business trips, and it sounds like you are able to take advantage of our prime downtown location. We strive to provide excellent customer service, and will pass along your compliments to our staff. We're excited to share that our new lounge and restaurant, Adamus, is opening soon. We look forward to hearing your thoughts during your next stay with us, either for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The unassuming entrance under the El is almost on the corner of Wabash and Washington: it hides a totally remodelled interior. It is very modern, spartan, urbane. Our king bed room was spacious with modern/post-modern touches with mirrors, art, and light fixtures. It has a bright, expansive bathrrom in light marble, with a large walkin shower. Our room toward the back of the hotel sheltered us from most of the passing El noise so the double-pane windows are decently effective. Only bad is a breakfast that is very skimpy, with few choices. The hotel is close to many tourist destinations downtown, just a few blocks from the Art Institure for instance. Lots of restaurants in the area. Prices are competitive for downtown. The hotel is a find.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room or a room on a floor above the El to avoid a bit of it's passing noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuadaSilverHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you, NuadaSilverHand, for taking the time to review your recent stay at Silversmith Hotel. We consider ourselves to be a rare gem encased in classical architecture, and are pleased to hear you share the same sentiment. We're glad you enjoyed our recently remodeled contemporary guest rooms and spacious bathrooms, and were able to experience some of the Chicago attractions located nearby. Adamus, our new lounge and restaurant, is opening soon, so you will have many options for breakfast, lunch and dinner during your next visit. We hope to welcome you again in the near future, and appreciate your recommendation of Silversmith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 190 in Chicago
8,975 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,698 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,835 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Property: Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing