We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very modern stylish hotel, next to Millennium Park. Large rooms and even bigger bathrooms. Great location, and due to 50% off deal from Hotels.com, great price. Would recommend for a tourist trip to the Windy City!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davebauhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you, Davebauhaus, for your five-star recommendation of Silversmith Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our remodeled guest rooms as well as our prime location in the heart of downtown Chicago. We hope you were able to enjoy many of the nearby Chicago attractions during your visit to the Windy City. Please join us again soon. We'd love to hear your thoughts about our new lounge and restaurant, Adamus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    537
    128
    30
    34
See reviews for
383
713
119
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We made the right choice of hotel in Chicago! We arrived at the Silversmith Hotel, and our luggage was attended to promptly, allowing us to take our hire car to the public car park ($30 per 24hrs as opposed to $56 per night for valet parking and just a short walk away). Checking in was a breeze and the staff were very efficient. The lobby's granite and smooth lines are very elegant updates to what is a historic building. Our room (on the 10th floor, at the front) was a dream, luxury King bed, Chaise lounge, well appointed bathroom (with a proper shower, no stepping into a bath with a curtain) and a pod coffee machine and fridge for our purchased items. The 'Loop' runs right past the front of the hotel and we thought this may bother us at night, but we hardly noticed it at all. We walked to absolutely everything, the Skydeck at Willis/Sears Tower, Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, and almost to the Magic Mile, which wasn't far either. The staff were very welcoming, always had a nice word for us and were very helpful with providing directions or suggestions on where to eat outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (and/or at the rear of the hotel) if you think the trains may bother you, , alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShelleyGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, Front Office Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
ShelleyGray, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Silversmith Hotel. We consider ourselves to be a rare gem encased in classical architecture, and are pleased to hear your feedback about our redesign. We are happy you were able to take full advantage of our downtown location and were able to experience many of our favorite city attractions. We're delighted you enjoyed your spacious guest room, and are thrilled you allowed Silversmith to be a part of your Chicago experience. We hope you to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were in Chicago recently and upon looking at reviews and seeing the location and the ease of using the El to get there from Midway was wonderful. The front desk was proactive in putting my Aunt on the same floor as us without even asking. They guessed that we were related by the last name being the same as well as the check-in date even though we booked separate. Everyone was very friendly and helpful when asked a question. The bar area was wonderful and I appreciated the special drinks they had available with house made infused vodka. I was very happy with the location and would gladly stay again. If you are a light sleeper keep in mind that the El is close and you may want to ask for a room in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Rachel R, thank you for your kind words and feedback regarding your recent stay at Silversmith Hotel. We aim to provide the best possible experience for our guests and appreciate your compliments of our staff. We're glad you were able to enjoy some of the handcrafted cocktails at Adamus, and hope you enjoyed some of the delicious cuisine as well. We hope you will join us again soon and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We recently visited Chicago and stayed at The Silversmith Hotel, April 9th for 4 nights. Its located in The Loop area. This was a really great location, we took the CTA train in from O'Hare and got off at Washington, just 2 blocks from the Hotel and only $5 per person 1 way. The hotel was really very good, the rooms were very nice and well decorated, the manager Hans, bar staff and housekeeping were excellent. Very relaxing bar area with plenty of quite places to sit and relax. We didn't eat at the hotel. There is a great selection of restaurants around the area. Shopping there was great too, with Macys only a block away and the Mag Mile less than a 15 min walk. Choose a high room so you don't hear the trains as much. Do the river and lake tour. Do the Skydeck. Go to Chicago Cut Steakhouse, cant remember the address but I am sure you can google it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi, Brian O. Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you chose to stay at Silversmith Hotel and were able to take advantage of our central location. We appreciate your feedback regarding our remodel and are glad to hear you enjoyed the relaxing space in Adamus. We hope you will join us again in the future to sample the delicious cuisine and beverages available. We'd love to hear your thoughts. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argenta, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I've stayed at the Silversmith a number of times over the last eight years and have always been impressed with their quality service & security, upscale room decor, and overall value for the price. In addition, the location is really great for public transportation or walking to some of the local sights and shopping.

Yet, we were blown away this trip by their recent renovations. The lobby has been moved to the ground floor and has been updated with modern and classy looking black granite. The rooms have also been updated and our room was quite luxurious. Our room was on the El tracks side of the building, but in all honestly the sound wasn't bad at all and didn't bother us a bit. The hotel restaurant was also renovated (didn't even look like the same place) with a whole new layout and theme (private suite/couch seating/eating areas). We only had breakfast at the restaurant, but were impressed with the atmosphere, service, and quality of the food.

Overall between the amazing updates and same great location we will definitely be back to the Silversmith next time we are in Chicago!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Kona J! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your continued support of Silversmith Hotel. We love to hear from return guests and are delighted your stay was both memorable and special as the first. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our new look as well as breakfast in the new lounge and restaurant, Adamus. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation of Silversmith and are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We also were worried when we saw the El tracks but as soon as we walked in, they asked if we were light sleepers and made sure we had rooms in the back where it was quiet. The front desk staff and doormen were so friendly and helpful, we missed them when we went home!
The location was convenient to everything with good restaurants, stores, the Art Institute and Millenium Park all close by. We would definitely go back next time we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hannah O, thank you for your five-star review of Silversmith Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing supreme guest service, and are delighted to hear we made a lasting impression. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our unbeatable location, and hope you enjoyed a snack or beverage from our new lounge, Adamus. Our front desk staff and doormen eagerly await your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were in Chicago to visit DePaul University, so the hotel was in a great location to walk to the Loop campus and to hop onto the brown line to go to the Lincoln Park campus. The location is also good for doing some shopping. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Ranae G! Thank you for your recommendation of Silversmith Hotel. We think of ourselves as refined gem in downtown Chicago, so we're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our prime location for visiting the university and shopping attractions. We will pass along your compliments to our staff, and hope you enjoyed our recently remodeled guests and new lounge. Thank you for your kind comments; we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,391 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,301 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing