We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #16 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for only one night before leaving for Europe. The hotel has been gorgeously renovated. The staff was particularly welcoming and helpful. If you stay there, you absolutely MUST visit the cocktail lounge for at least a glass of wine. There is also a light snack or a full dinner menu. Location-wise, you're in the middle of the Loop -- stores, theatres, and the beautiful park just across Michigan Avenue. The Chicago Art Institute is within easy walking distance as well. In short, STAY THERE!

Room Tip: If the noise from the Chicago elevated trains disturbs you, request a room facing towards the rear o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomR4012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you TomR4012, for choosing The Silversmith Hotel. Our recently reinvented space extends chic interiors and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge. We too love our convenient location right on the loops, offering guests the chance to explore all that the WIndy City has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    537
    128
    30
    34
See reviews for
383
714
119
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very chic inside. There is a full bar an restaurant in the lobby. Elevators were tiny so I wasn't sure what to expect from the rooms, but I was pleasantly surprised. Rooms were decorated just like the lobby. Renovations seemed new. The CTA is right outside of the hotel. You can hear it, but it wasn't loud enough to distract or disturb. I've never been one that needed to utilize the front desk staff, I do lots of research before traveling, but the staff was amazing and help with anything and everything. My husband had a dental emergency on Memorial Day and the helped call around to find a dentist to help us. Completely satisfied with our stay. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Taylin T, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. The recent reinvention of our hotel lends to the chic interiors. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our newly opened Adamus restaurant and lounge. We are glad that we could help out with your husband's dental emergency and hope everything worked out. We look forward to your next visit to the WIndy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I am a Hampton Inn guest service associate and my service at this hotel was excellent! I had originally booked a room for my best friend's birthday at the Palmer House, which we were told was overbooked upon arrival, so they relocated us to the Silversmith and paid for our room. The Silversmith staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel looked ultra-chic, modern, and very upscale. We were delighted to see we had complimentary bathrobes! We were told that it had been recently renovated, and it looked gorgeous! It was a little less "grand" than the Palmer House, but we really enjoyed our stay. The only disappointments we had were the size of the beds in the room (they were a bit snug being full-size beds), our view out the window was a brick wall, and there was not much noise insulation between our room and the hallwayy. Otherwise, a fabulous hotel that I would absolutely stay at again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Joey F., We are so glad we could accommodate for your visit under your initial circumstances. Our recently reinvented space extends artfully designed interiors lending to the chic look you enjoyed. We hope to see you on your next visit to the WIndy City when perhaps you may try our newly opened restaurant and lounge, Adamus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Silversmith Hotel over Memorial Day weekend.

The location is excellent. It's only 2-3 blocks from Millennium Park, and is only steps away from the El.

We were able to get the hotel at a great price (for downtown Chicago) through their website by reserving the room a few weeks ahead of time.

The hotel is in great shape. I can't say that the decor is really my taste, but everything is in really good shape and very clean.

The room was much bigger than I would have expected for a downtown hotel. The bathroom was decent-sized, with a walk-in shower. The bed was very comfortable. A Keurig machine is available for coffee/tea. There was also a small refrigerator

Some others have mentioned the noise from the El. I was concerned about this, but was put on the back of the building on the 6th floor and never heard it. We only had the backs of other buildings to look at, but we did get plenty of light.

The attendants at the front desk were very friendly.

We'd definitely stay here again when in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boscaverde86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you, Boscaverde86, for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our convenient location in the heart of the WIndy City, within minutes of famed downtown Chicago attractions. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the accommodations available afforded by our recent reinvention. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chicago, when perhaps you may try our newly opened Adamus Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had the best time at The Silversmith Hotel. Freshly remodeled into a gorgeous gem of a hotel. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was amazing, drinks at the hotel bar were wonderful! The staff there is friendly and helpful . . . Johnnie at the front door ROCKS and gave us wonderful recommendations for local restaurants. Our room was pristine and comfy and gorgeous. Stay there -- you will love it. Close to everything you could need. I will stay there again and again when I visit Chicago!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you, Toni Z, for your five-star review. We consider ourselves to be a rare gem, and are delighted to hear you share the same sentiment. So glad you enjoyed the delicious dining and drinks at Adamus! We'll certainly pass along the compliments to our staff, and look forward to welcoming you again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed here recently for a few days on a business trip. I was very happy with the hotel. It was a great price vs. some of the other hotels in the area. The proximity to the train was awesome. There were quite a few restaurants and bars in the area. Also, numerous starbucks and dunkin donuts in the immediate area, which are nice & fast breakfast options.

the room was pretty amazing. i found it to be large and comfortable. The shower was nice and modern. Good water pressure and lots of heat. :o) The free wi-fi is sufficient. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant. I did consider it and looked over a menu. It was a bit too fancy for my tastes, but everything looked wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ClumsyIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Silversmith. Our hotel was recently renovated, and we're glad you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and large bathrooms, as well as our central downtown location. Please sample a drink or dish from Adamus during your next visit, you won't be disappoint. We hope you will join us again in the future, either for business or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I don't normally stay in the Loop, but the city was crowded due to a convention and I came across this hotel. I had never heard of it, and was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful rooms and friendly staff. Would definitely recomment. Very close to Loop shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyQsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We're so glad you discovered our gem of a hotel, and are pleased to hear you had wonderful experience. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation, and hope you will choose to stay with us again during your next visit to Chicago. Be sure to sample a delicious cocktail or bite at Adamus! You will love it. Thanks, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,407 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing