We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #20 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went to the silversmith for our honeymoon and we were very pleased. Our room was great, and the staff was incredibly helpful and always seemed to go above and beyond the call of duty. Even before we were checked in, they did everything they could to make sure our experience was great. The food at the bar is fantastic (I can heartily recommend the duck as well as the charcuterie plate). There are also a number of good restaurants nearby and it's just down the street from Millennium Park and right next to an L Station so it's easy to get anywhere in the city. You can hear the L Station from the streetside rooms but it wasn't enough to bother us. All in all, I'd be happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was by the L so we could hear it from the room, but not enough to bother us. If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyPriddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

PennyPriddy, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are thrilled to hear we could mae your honeymoon a memorable one at our recently reinvented hotel. Our team here at Silversmith works their hardest to make our guests feel right at home, and we are glad to hear we made an impact! We too love our location right along the loop. We very much hope to see you again on your next visit to Chicago and a big congratulations on your marriage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel did not provide the room I reserved two months ago. When my family and I arrived late at night, they gave me a room without any explanation that they assigned a different room from what I reserved. After I got to the room, I thought it was much smaller than what I booked, so called the front desk and asked whether this was the room I booked or not. They answered no and explained that one guest wanted to extend their stay by one more day in the morning and all the other rooms of the hotel are occupied but this accessible room which has only one queen very small for the two adults and one small child. This hotel offered me a free breakfast instead and a change of the room to the originally booked "Executive King Suite" next day for my two-night trip to Chicago. Though I managed through the customer service center of Booking.com to get a small refund whose amount seems similar to the difference rate between the rooms that night, but my family and I could not sleep at all and could not enjoy the next day because of the tiredness after that hassle. It was a bit late to request a full refund for one night rate after the first night. And when I looked at the original "Executive King Suite", I was surprised and very angry as the room was twice the size and has a king bed enough to hold three members of the family. How could they do this kind of thing to the guests? This seems very irrational as for this luxury "boutique" hotel. My wife was 7-month pregnant and had a difficult time to sleep the day before and our short trip to Chicago was ruined by this non-professional behavior of this hotel. I do not want to recommend this hotel and if they want to choose this hotel because of the relatively lower rate among the hotels located in the downtown Chicago, I would rather recommend that they go to more comfortable international chain hotel which may be a bit away from downtown, but with the similar or lower rate. In addition, the night-turn clerks at the front desk, told me that they are not responsible because someone else extended the other guest's stay, not them. I am really really disappointed at their attitude as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Tae K, let us take this opportunity to sincerely apologize that your experience at Silversmith was not up to the standards in which we typically operate. We are very sorry your preferred room was not available, and even though we did our best to accommodate your family, we recognize the situation should have been handled differently with our staff. We have addressed the issue with our team, and continue to strive to create the most comfortable guest experience with our travelers. We do hope you will reconsider Silversmith during your next visit to Chicago and allow us the opportunity to provide the true customary Silversmith experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I travel a great deal for work. After struggling with dragging my luggage on and off the orange line, I finally got to the bottom of the platform. I looked up and only feet away was the lovely Silversmith hotel. I was promptly greeted by a smiling door man who took my bags and told me that I could now relax. The front desk staff was prompt and very kind. When I was taken to my room, my bag was placed on a luggage rack and I was shown where all the amenities were. I spent 5 nights here and the entire time everyone was very nice and helpful. The rooms are very large and the bathroom is HUGE. I felt like I could just move in permanently.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you, Dominique B, for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad we could make you feel right at home at our recently reinvented hotel. We strive to make every guest experience special, relaxing and most comfortable. We would love to see you again on your next visit to Chicago, and hope you will have the chance to try our recently opened Adamus Lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything about the Silversmith Hotel in Chicago was excellent. Obviously newly renovated, everything was modern and beautiful. The service was great, the bathrooms were spotless along with the entire room. The housekeeping staff was very friendly, the bellman was great, and the front desk staff was amazing. We will be going back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you, Andrea P, for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our recently reinvented space, with modern, chic decor and luxury amenities. Our staff strives to provide optimal guest service and we are so glad to hear we could accommodate. We look forward to your next visit to the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Impressive! The attitudes of staff/front desk: professional and friendly. Rooms: clean, quiet and well ventilated. The beds are wonderful. Bathrooms new. Food at hotel was great. Refurbished lobby is beautiful; location close to Art Institute and Millennium Park. The Value is high: significant savings over the more "traditional" (1 block away) Palmer House.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you, Jeffseitelman, for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We strive to put our best foot forward when it comes to guest service, and we are so glad we could help make your stay a memorable one. We too love our clean, recently reinvented space with modern decor and large guest bedrooms. We very much look forward to your next visit when perhaps you may try our recently unveiled Adamus Restaurant & Lounge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Not to be cheezy, but it is a “hidden gem” of a hotel. Heavily decorated on theme with heavy silver fabrics and paints (in jewelry district). After reading all the reviews, we asked for a room off the street, in the back side of the hotel away from the noise of the train out front and it was fine, no noise. Huge king bed, bathroom had a large tile and glass shower with rain shower head (no tub). The odd thing was there were no hooks or towel bars at all in the bathroom. Guess style won over function. We checked in at 4am after our Amtrak train ran 12 hours late and the service was great, they were there to meet us (thank goodness). The staff were excellent. One of the bellman practically risked his life trying to get us a cab. We stayed 3 nights, the area seemed fairly safe and as described in other reviews the hotel itself is a little hard to find. It’s not a far walk to Millenium Park or south to Grant Park. It doesn’t look like much from the outside but it’s very glamorous once you walk in. Price was really reasonable.

Room Tip: The El Train is literally right out front of the hotel, so ask for a room in the back of the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Emmykeats, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We too find our hotel to be a hidden gem, with a recently reinvented space that makes any vacation memorable. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our artfully designed interiors and prime location. We strive to provide the most accommodating guest services and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Windy City! Be sure to look to our website for the best deals and rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent this past Saturday night at this hotel. We had asked for king adjoining rooms and even with confirmation the week before, I was told we had them. Then we get to the front desk and I am told that with the current remodeling, there are no more adjoining rooms. I guess not all of the staff knows about this. The rooms were a nice nice, clean, furnished with very unique decor and very classy. The rooms are very sound proof and even being across from the elevator, we heard nothing. Room safe, refrigerator, a Keurig coffee maker, bathrobes, FREE WI-FI, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on and a huge bathroom and shower were nice room amenities. The bar and restroom looked great but we did not eat a meal there. Parking is expensive so we go a parking pass for under the Palmer Hotel for 1/2 of the price and walked a block to our hotel. Easy walk. Front desk staff and doormen were very helpful and cheerful. I would not hesitate to stay here in the future. We really enjoyed it!1

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view or it is really ugly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dawnomj, thank you for sharing your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We apologize for the miscommunication in regards to your adjoining rooms and hope that our service and luxury amenities made up for it. Our recently reinvented space extends chic interiors and spacious rooms and we are glad to hear you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you in the future when perhaps you may try our newly opened Adamus restaurant and lounge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £105 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing