We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best, if not the best, hotel stays I've ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #24 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location and price brought us to the hotel but if we're ever in Chicago again we'll stay at the Silversmith because it was truly excellent and I am critical about hotels. The staff was always helpful and always had smiles on their faces. We were well taken care of and the room itself was very comfortable. It's definitely a place to put on your short list when searching for hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Rudy M., thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are thrilled to hear about your wonderful experience at our recently renovated hotel, in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our team here at Silversmith always does their best o provide helpful, personable service and we hope to accommodate for you again the next time you visit Chicago, Rudy!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a gorgeous hotel! The lobby and rooms are decorated in silver and grey with some hot pink to keep it lively. Be sure to check out the more subdued Arts and Crafts decor on the second floor (the fitness room is on that level, too). The staff was very nice. Andre helped us get settled and others were friendly, too. Great location! It was so easy to walk to Millennium Park and The Art Institute. Be sure to visit the Chicago Cultural Center to see the stained-glass domes. It's very close by and free! A couple cons: I wish we'd had a towel bar in the bathroom (there was a hook on the back of the door, but nowhere to hang a hand towel). Also, I was surprised that there wasn't an informational booklet in the room. The front desk will answer questions, though, and give you a map of the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the tenth floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you Zesti, for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel with beautiful interiors and modern decor that makes for a most memorable stay. Our team here at Silversmith does their best to provide helpful, personable customer service, and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to Andre. Thank you for your invaluable feedback and we do hope you will be visiting us again the next time you're in the Windy City, Zesti.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Silversmith Hotel over a weekend in June, and it was a completely delightful experience!

The hotel is perfectly located right on Jeweler's Row, at Wabash and Madison, just one block from Millennium Park. I know that many reviewers have commented on the El tracks right outside the front door; honestly, we didn't mind that. It was part of the ambiance of staying in a big city, and inside our room the trains sounded like a quiet "whoosh" when they went by. Even having a room across from the elevator wasn't noisy--there were only a couple times when we could hear groups of people laughing and talking as they went in and out; otherwise, it was very quiet.

We were traveling with bicycles, and were a little nervous when we drove up to the hotel, wondering how we'd store them and where we'd park our car (the hotel only offers valet parking, at $56/day). Being two women from not-large cities, we were feeling like fish out of water--and then we met Johnny. He was the doorman/valet/concierge when we arrived, and he immediately took us under his wing! He stored our bikes for us, showing us the room where they were secured; he told us about garage parking a block away (for $42/day), gave us recommendations on dinner, tips on finding essentials like the nearest drugstore and ATM, and was so much like a big brother that I gave him a huge hug!

A shout-out to Paige at the front desk: She was the soul of calm and patience, all throughout our stay; even when the desk got busy, I never saw her vary from her gentle, friendly demeanor. She was so welcoming, giving us maps/guidebooks of the city, tips on how to get to particular sites, and advice on the best walking routes. She even put up with multiple calls from me when I had questions such as how to arrange for meal delivery from a restaurant, or getting ice brought up to the room.

The room itself was luxurious and super-comfortable; each of the two queen-sized beds had a pillow-top mattress, and was like sleeping in a cloud. The bathroom was huge, the water pressure was good, and everything was sparkling clean. There were even two bathrobes in the closet for us to use during our stay!

The only mechanical difficulty we encountered was the room fridge (and, in my experience, those NEVER work well). It didn't get cooler than 39 degrees the first night, so we called Paige (bless her heart!) who had maintenance take care of it the following day; then it got down to 36 degrees.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, so I can't comment on that, but I did stop in and ask if we could borrow cutlery as our meal delivery hadn't come with any, and the servers cheerfully found me a two complete sets of silverware with napkins and napkin rings--elegance in the details!

Every single person working at the hotel was friendly, kind, cheerful and willing and able to help, any time of the day or night. We almost felt like guests in someone's home, rather than travelers staying in a hotel.

The next trip I take to Chicago, I am DEFINITELY staying at the Silversmith!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the side of the hotel away from the El, so that may have been why it was so q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you Galeda, for taking the time to share your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad we could make for a pleasant experience in our recently reinvented hotel with modern, chic decor and luxury amenities. We too love our convenient location right alongside the loop, allowing guests to explore all that the city has to offer. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to Paige, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit Chicago!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel doesn't look like much until you enter your room - then it's impressive. Very nice clean room. No views to be had, but you can walk to shopping and restaurants if you like to walk, and you can catch a Taxi or train with ease. This hotel is located in "The Loop".

The continental breakfast is just ok, seating is a little scarce and you may find yourself clearing someone else's dirty plates and such so you can sit and eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Nicole D., thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our recently reinvented space extends large guest bedrooms and beautifully decorated interiors that make for a memorable stay. We take our dining services very seriously, and we hope to provide a more impressive service for you the next time you visit us. Thank you again for choosing Silversmith.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at the Silversmith on the recommendation of a co-worker. I've never been to Chicago before, but when I go back, I won't even look for a different hotel. The staff was super friendly. The rooms were sparkling clean and look as if they've recently been renovated. The atmosphere was upscale and modern. There's a nice bar at ground level where you can sit and watch the world go by. Finally, the location is fantastic. You can walk all over the loop area and catch the L right outside the front door.

By the way...random thought...see the Bean at night. I thought, "A bean? What could be so great about a bean?" But believe me, the Bean is so cool!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Cindy M, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad we could make such a lasting impression on your for your first time in the Windy City. Our staff strives to make every guest experience a special one and we are so glad we could accommodate. We are thrilled that you experienced our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge with creative, custom cocktails to help guests wind own after long days of travel. We very much look forward to your next stay, when we may make your second trip to Chicago just as memorable as the first!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in June 2014 at the time of our 30th wedding anniversary. The location is excellent--just a couple of blocks from the Chicago Art Institute and right by a CTA train station. Everyone working here was helpful. My wife is disabled and she ordered a motorized scooter which was waiting for us at the hotel when we arrived. One night we went to a nearby restaurant. It was raining. One of the workers manning the front doors, Johnnie (Johnny?) looked at us and said, "Here, take my umbrella." Room were well appointed and quiet with high ceilings. I'd definitely go back again. Of course it helps that it's in Chicago--a truly great city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you, PierreHD, for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad we could make your 30th wedding anniversary a memorable one. We too love our convenient location just moments from the loop, giving our guests the opportunity to explore all that the Windy City has to offer. Our team here at Silversmith does their best to provide personable service, and we very much look forward to your next visit, PierreHD!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rooms look the same on every floor, but it is pretty and modern. Front desk was very friendly.Very convenient if you want drinks at night. Nice big rooms. Its next to the subway but the walls and windows are sound proof, its like hearing it rain outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snekl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you snekl001, for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel extends large guest rooms and modern, chic decor that make for a memorable stay. Our staff strives to provide helpful, personable service and we are glad to hear we could help accommodate for your time in the Windy City. We hope to have another chance to impress you the next time you are in Chicago, when perhaps you may try our newly opened Adamus Lounge!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
352 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,952 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £93 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing