We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family stayed for six nights in July and enjoyed the Silversmith immensely. Staff were efficient and friendly. Our room in the back of the hotel on the ninth floor was extremely quiet: we would not have believed it could be so quiet with the train running in front of the hotel. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept on in a hotel. Nice flat screen TV for World Cup viewing. The location was convenient for many attractions; however, most nearby restaurants are chains and/or open only for breakfast and lunch. We took the train to go to dinner most nights. Fado Irish Pub, Rickshaw Republic and Tandoor were superb. The entrance to the train is right in front of the hotel and is very convenient.
Disadvantages were minor: housekeeping was erratic. Most days they serviced the room in the afternoon. They did not always leave enough towels for everyone. My request for additional towels was not fulfilled until I asked a second time. As others have mentioned, bathrooms badly need towel racks. Our room was quite cramped with about seven inches between the bed and the wall and little room to walk about the room (with the exception of the entryway and spacious bathroom).
We will absolutely stay at the Silversmith again if we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Travelingpossum, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear your family enjoyed their stay at our recently reinvented Silversmith Hotel. We too love our luxury amenities and spacious guest bedrooms, making for a most comfortable night's stays. We do sincerely apologize for the housekeeping service you experienced, and we will look to see where the breakdown in communication occurred to fix this for future visits. We very much look forward to your family's next stay with us!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
There are newer reviews for Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were unable to get reservations at our first choice hotel and ended up at the Silversmith. I was very pleased with the hotel overall. Rooms were spacious and well-appointed. The restaurant and lounge service and food were excellent. I especially liked the private viewing areas in the lounge. The location cannot be beat. It's a five-minute walk to Millennium Park, CTA station right outside the door, and great shopping and restaurants in the immediate area. Next time in Chicago, the Silversmith will be our first choice.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms can be noisy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Acemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Acemom, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad you ended up at the recently reinvented Silversmith Hotel with spacious guest bedrooms, luxury amenities and artfully designed interiors. Our convenient location right alongside the loop is perfect for exploring all that the Windy City has to offer. We are thrilled to be your first choice hotel in Chicago, and very much look forward to your next visit, Acemom!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four nights and without a doubt it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in for the price. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are brilliant. The bar is well stocked, the rooms are clean and comfortable with a huge comfortable bed. The only downside is that I ended up being charged FOUR times for my stay due to repeated administrative errors. Each time they refunded a wrong charge, they charged my card again. But having said that, they did refund it straight away each time I queried it and everybody I spoke to was very apologetic. I would possibly stay again though based on all the other good points.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank admf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you, admf2, for choosing to stay at Silversmith during your recent trip to Chicago. We're so glad we could provide a fantastic experience, and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and new lounge, Adamus. We really appreciate your feedback and will pass along your compliments to our staff. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the billing mishap. The issue has been addressed and resolved internally to ensure future guests will not experience the same problem. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Chicago.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was 10:30 at night and pouring rain when we arrived. Johnny brought an umbrella for the ladies and helped the guys with the luggage and the car. He's a super friendly man who stopped and greeted us each time we saw him during our stay. Ariel was at the desk and checked us in quickly. Each time we saw her she asked how our day was...a genuinely warm and friendly person. All the associates we met during our stay were friendly and sincere in their desire to make our stay a pleasant one. This included Karen, who serviced our room, Stephanie, who served us breakfast in the dining room, and Paige who also manned the front desk. This level of outstanding customer service is the result of customer focused management. Good customer service is not a training issue - it's a management issue. This hotel hires the right people and manages them to a high level of service. I'm sure managers must set a good example because this level of service cannot be taught.

We requested rooms in the rear on the 10th floor. Since it was so late when we arrived, I was concerned we wouldn't get them, but we did. And they were perfect. Clean and quiet. The beds were plush and comfy. The bathroom had a large mirror with halo lighting(why don't all hotels do this?) that was perfect for putting on make up. It sat above a spacious sink area that held all of my cosmetics and hair supplies. The huge double shower was a treat.

The first night we managed to get to the bar before closing and had a night cap served by a lovely lady who was gracious in accommodating us at the last minute.

I chose this hotel because of all of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, and as always, it was great advice. I will recommend The Silversmith to all my friends who travel to Chicago and will book there again when we return. It was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th floor in the back don't have a view, but if you like quiet so you can sleep, t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TriStateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

CincinnatiKathy, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith does their best to provide attentive, personable and memorable service and we are so glad to have made such a lasting impression on you! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. Our recently reinvented space extend large guest bedrooms and artfully designed interiors. We are so glad you could enjoy. We very much look forward to your next stay, Kathy, when perhaps you may try our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The Silversmith hotel is a real gem! It's centrally located near numerous Chicago attractions such as the Art Institute, Millennium Park, State St., Chicago Cultural center and a short walk to Grant Park, Museum Campus and the Magnificent Mile. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and the service was exceptional. We arrived very early from our flight and we were given a room due to availability so we were able to go out and begin enjoying the sights. The complaints is it is close to the CTA train, but not so bad I could not sleep, no towel racks other than on the back of our door in the bath and the pull out queen sleeper makes it difficult to get to the bath and you can't open the fridge. But those are just small inconveniences, truly a wonderful hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Lola2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you Lola2012, for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our central location right in the heart of Chicago, right alongside the loop in close proximity to famed attractions and premier shopping & dining. We are so glad you enjoyed our recently renovated space, but do apologize for the small inconveniences you experienced in the room. We will work on these to make for a better guest experience next time. We do hope you will be staying with us again the next time you are in Chicago!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our first stay at the Silversmith and compared to other hotels we've stayed at in the city this is our favorite! Both our room and service were excellent. I rarely take the time to write reviews but others should know about this hotel and enjoy as we did.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a "Tranquility" room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TangoPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you TangoPaws, for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the Windy City. Our staff here at Silversmith strives to provide a personable and memorable experience, and we are glad to have left a lasting impression. We do hope to get the chance to further impress you on your next visit to Chicago. Thank you again for choosing Silversmith Hotel.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel after staying there with our family last week

Pros
1. Superb service! When we ran into a problem with the toilet in our room they promptly addressed the issue and compensated us with a great breakfast and suprised us with treats in the room. The staff goes out of their way to be friendly, polite and helpful
2. Very convenient if you don't have a car. L line next to the hotel (noise is not an issue). Target store around the corner. Grant Park and the Art Museum within walking distance. Lots of restaurants nearby
3. Well appointed rooms. Decor is elegant, bathrooms are modern, and the room was neat and clean

Cons (minor)
1. Beds are a little on the soft side for my taste (but I like matresses extremely firm)
2. Rooms are a touch on the small side

Definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXcoffeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you, PDXcoffeetraveler, for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide attentive, personable service, and we are so glad we could make for a memorable stay. We too love our convenient location right alongside the loop, within close proximity to famed attractions and premier shopping and dining. We do hope you will be joining us again on your next visit to Chicago, and thank you again for choosing The Silversmith Hotel.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 191 in Chicago
9,089 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,861 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £103 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing