We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #22 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Made welcome the moment you arrive. Valet parking was excellent & reception staff very helpful and informative all done with a smile. Had three nights at the start of our 3 week trip to USA. Deluxe room with Queen bed. All very comfortable and very clean. Hotel situated in good location close to most everything we wanted to see. The bar was very modern if a little expensive. The restaurant menu was not large and somewhat overpriced. Don't let that put you off as the ambience of the whole place was just so inviting and I would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the building but even then you could hear the noise of the trains but on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordonmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Gordonmaximus, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our personable, attentive team here at Silversmith. Our recently renovated hotel extends large guest bedrooms and luxury amenities to make for a most comfortable stay. We very much look forward to your next visit and be sure to look to our website to find the best deals and rates.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room was amazing except for two things, there was a strange wall or colom in the room its didn't apear to be a load bearing wall so it was just strange. The other thing was the beds were a bit too high up for a short person like me. Other than that I was very impressed. The staff was out of thier way nice and friendly. We had some confusion when trying to catch a can back to the train station and the staff went out of their way to grab two cabs because we had so many people in our group.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and barely hear the El
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ginger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Ginger H., thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Thank you for bringing to light the issues you experienced in your room. We will look to see how we can improve upon these for future visits! Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide personable, attentive and helpful guest service, and we are so glad that we could leave a lasting impression. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we do hope you will be joining us again on your next visit to Chicago!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Staff were fantastic, helpful and knowledgeable and very accomodating for a solo traveller. A great location for Downtwon, train links and exploring Chicago for the first time. Would definitely stay here again to explire this fatastic, vibrat and unique city.

Room Tip: Get one at the back of the hotel because there can be some noise from the passing Elevated trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravellingTitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

TraveliingTitan, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal guest services to make for a memorable stay, and we are so glad to have left a lasting impression on you. Our location is perfect for exploring all that the windy city has to offer! We very much look forward to your next stay, when perhaps you may try our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It's close to everything you want to see in downtown Chicago - we walked all the way to Navy Pier, although not everyone might want to do that. We walked from Amtrak to the hotel, were able to check in early, and from then on we were pampered and assisted at every turn. The rooms were squeaky-clean and spacious, and I had a toothbrush, toothpaste and mouthwash delivered to me when I forgot mine. I came up with friends to see the Paul McCartney concert July 9, 2014, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Be sure to eat at the bar, where the drinks are marvelous and the bite-size servings include berries and the best cheddar cheese you ever had. The Silversmith is top-notch!

Room Tip: You won't believe how fantastic the prices are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ittycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Ittycar, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our location right alongside the loop, within close proximity to famed attractions and premier shopping, dining and entertainment. Our recently reinvented hotel extends large guest bedrooms and artfully designed interiors that make for a most memorable stay. We are so glad you were able to experience our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge! We very much look forward to your next visit with us and be sure to look to our website for the best deals and rates.

Regards,
Hans Ritte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Silversmith In February and were very impressed even though the renovations were not quite finished. The room had a unique design and layout which made up for the bleak view from the window. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was excellent with some wonderful eateries and stores nearby (and a Gallagher's Popcorn shop). The only thing that kept this place from five stars was the mediocre breakfast offering. I just wish that the room prices had not risen so much since the renovations were finished. The new prices have elevated themselves out of my price range which means we can't stay there when we are in Chicago next month.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kathleensspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

kathleensspin, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal guest services to make for an enjoyable stay at our recently renovated hotel. While the prices may be higher, we have many great packages and deals that help a great deal with pricing! Please do look to our website for we would love to have you and your family here again to experience our the face of Silversmith.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First time staying at this hotel and it is definitely one we will stay at again and again. Clean, comfortable, safe, and very friendly. Within walking distance of many sites and restaurants. Extremely comfortable bed and large shower. Surprisingly quite even with the L-Train just outside. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Made our stay more like being at home

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

James C., thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our recently reinvented hotel, extending large guest bedrooms, luxury amenities, and chic, modern interiors. Our team here at SIlversmith strives to provide optimal guest service, and we are so glad we could accommodate. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you are in DC.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family stayed for six nights in July and enjoyed the Silversmith immensely. Staff were efficient and friendly. Our room in the back of the hotel on the ninth floor was extremely quiet: we would not have believed it could be so quiet with the train running in front of the hotel. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept on in a hotel. Nice flat screen TV for World Cup viewing. The location was convenient for many attractions; however, most nearby restaurants are chains and/or open only for breakfast and lunch. We took the train to go to dinner most nights. Fado Irish Pub, Rickshaw Republic and Tandoor were superb. The entrance to the train is right in front of the hotel and is very convenient.
Disadvantages were minor: housekeeping was erratic. Most days they serviced the room in the afternoon. They did not always leave enough towels for everyone. My request for additional towels was not fulfilled until I asked a second time. As others have mentioned, bathrooms badly need towel racks. Our room was quite cramped with about seven inches between the bed and the wall and little room to walk about the room (with the exception of the entryway and spacious bathroom).
We will absolutely stay at the Silversmith again if we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Travelingpossum, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear your family enjoyed their stay at our recently reinvented Silversmith Hotel. We too love our luxury amenities and spacious guest bedrooms, making for a most comfortable night's stays. We do sincerely apologize for the housekeeping service you experienced, and we will look to see where the breakdown in communication occurred to fix this for future visits. We very much look forward to your family's next stay with us!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
369 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,938 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £95 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing