We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal Touches made such a difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal Touches made such a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed for 1 night and didn't want to leave. The staff is super friendly and helpful, especially Johnny at the door. The room was decorated so nicely and the amenities were very generous. It was quieter then I expected, no noise from the 'L' train in my room. The location is great for parents of SAIC students looking for a close place to stay when visiting. I tried to get a room a 2nd time when I needed to return but on the weekend they required a 2 night stay. So, I'll try again another time.

Room Tip: Ask for inside room away from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Michelle V, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad our staff could make your visit a memorable one as we strive to provide optimal guest services. We too love our recently renovated accommodation conveniently location in the Windy City. We look forward to you joining us again the next time you are in the Chicago area.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    537
    128
    30
    34
See reviews for
383
713
119
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here with my wife and kids for 4 nights. Had a great time. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very nice and well maintained. A little small for the 4 of us but we didn't care. Close to many things--very centrally located. L stop right near the hotel and sub stop (red line) one block away so you can get anywhere quickly. Millennium Park and 'Bean' statue a five minute walk away as well.

Room Tip: Because the L stop is right next to the hotel I would ask for a room not overlooking Wabash to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garypeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Garypeto, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff could help create a memorable experience. We too love our central location to the Loop and famed attractions, shopping, and dining. We hope you join us again the next time you are in the Chicago area.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Smart modern fashionable rooms beautifully furnished. Absolutely the best pillows we have ever put our heads on to sleep, and a lovely extremely comfortable bed.
Very friendly and helpful staff, reception called after we had checked in to make sure we liked the room, this was part of our 40th wedding anniversary trip.
Near the Art Gallery and lakeside.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a high floor to avoid street noise but not a real problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippo778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank Philippo778 for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad our staff could make your 40th anniversary trip a memorable experience. We too love our recently renovate accommodations including luxury amenities and chic, modern decor. We hope you join us again the next time you are in the Windy City.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a place to stay in the city for a night and ended up finding a great deal on groupon. Before actually booking it, we made sure to google this Hotel and read the reviews. SO glad we picked this Hotel because it was amazing and had such positive reviews! Not only did we get a great deal but we ended up wanting to stay another night and they were able to honor us the same price as the groupon for the second night! The staff were super friendly and such great help. Would love to go back whenever I visit Chicago again!
Had no problem with hearing the train, very minimal! Was also in great location right by Millennium Park!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad our staff could create a memorable and enjoyable experience for you and your boyfriend. We too love our central location and recently renovated, luxury accommodations. We hope you join us again the next time you are in the Windy City.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the silversmith for 2 and a half weeks on business. I had the most amazing time, because of the amazing staff that is employed. Johnnie at the front was very friendly, always willing to accomidate. The front desk staff was very helpful. Hannah, Mauri, and Paige all know the city well and make great recommendations of what to see and do as well as where to eat. The restaurant Adamus was great, a little pricy but the food was always amazing and the drinks are fresh. I felt so comfortable staying at the Silversmith and my next trip here I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Jack F, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our newly opened Adamus Restaurant & Lounge along with our recently renovated accommodations. Our staff strives to help create memorable experiences for its guests, and we are glad that we could make your business trip more enjoyable. We look forward to you joining us again the next time you are in the Chicago area.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked the hotel based on the reviews from other travelers. When I called for directions from Union Station the girl told me it was 15 minutes walk, it was rather a 30 minutes, in a strange town, hot and humid, tagging along luggages. So, we were glad they could check us in about an hour before their check in time. We were impressed by the decor and the fact that they accommodated us with a quiet room. And also we liked how convenient it is to the Arts Institute and Millenium Park, well practically everywhere in town. But the service of front desk was awful. When we asked if they could warm up something for 2 minutes in the microwave, she kept repeating like a robot, "we don't have microwave" but by pure luck, an assistant manager, Bobby was in the front desk and quickly accommodated us. They definitely need to have better training to address issues the guests might have. The bell staff service was very irregular, there were many times although they were by the door, they were chatting with valet staff and we needed to man the doors ourselves. Also there was some kind of construction going on in the lobby, restaurant area. no signs, or "pardon for the inconvenience" and the noise during the day in the restaurant! The location cannot be beat but the aloofness of some staff members was a total put off. The pros: location, the duvet, the shower and cleanness. The cons: staff amateurishness, the construction and the bed, needed a new mattress topper. So next time I am in Chicago, not sure if I am staying here.

Room Tip: They have neither ice, nor microwave. So be prepared. They can either bring the ice to the room or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbiscuitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our central location and recently renovated accommodations. We apologize for the below average service that you experienced during your stay with us, and we will look to see where we can improve to make future visits more enjoyable. We hope you give us another chance to impress you the next time you are in the Chicago area.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Of the many hotels we have stayed in, this hotel has the absolute best bed we have slept in! The hotel itself is perfectly situated to walk to almost any major attraction or sight in downtown Chicago. This being our first trip to the Windy City, we wanted a hotel that was in the middle of the action. Art Institute, three blocks away, Willis Tower, 10 minute walk, the River, 7 minute walk, the Bean, two blocks away. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. Our flight from NYC to chicago was cancelled and the hotel staff was more than accommodating in adjusting our reservation. The hotel is an older hotel that has been updated and remodeled. They did an excellent job. In terms of price, we felt that it was incredibly well-priced considering we stayed the Independence day weekend. We would most definitely stay here again when we visit chicago in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed towards the rear of the hotel and heard no noise whatsoever considering that the El runs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El Gaby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location near famed attractions and premier shopping and dining options. Our staff strives to create memorable experiences for our guests, and we are elated we could help make your stay with us even better. We look forward to you joining us again the next time you are in the Chicago area.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,387 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,299 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing