We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #17 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We chose the Silversmith for the convenient location and the relatively affordable weekend rate. We had stayed there 18 months ago and were so surprised when we arrived last weekend to a totally new hotel! The main floor lobby and restaurant/bar area were beautiful and we loved the theme that reflected the historic Jeweler's Row location. The room was very tastefully and elegantly decorated with a huge gleaming bathroom. Because the hotel is located on Wabash, which can be noisy with the El, we were happy that our 9th floor room was quiet. We will definitely stay here again! The location is especially good for access to Millennium Park, the Art Institute and the loop.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 9th floor and in the back I think - the view was of a rooftops and a brick wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenZ-midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time you review your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel extends large guest bedrooms, public spaces and modern, chic interior design, and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed! We too love our prime location right alongside the loop, providing easy access to major Chicago attractions. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Windy City!

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    555
    129
    32
    35
See reviews for
399
734
126
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We live in the Chicago suburbs and took advantage of several in town events including the Bears pre-season game. Chose to stay overnight and could not have been more pleased with the decision to stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located to Millennium Park, The Art Institue, shopping, public transportation and good dining. The staff warmly greeted us and allowed us to check in a bit early as our room was ready. Great lighting in the room and towels very plush, unusual in our experience. Will not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Hotel is adjacent to the 'L'. The noise was not a problem for us at all, but ask for a &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASchaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
ASchaff, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad we could help make your "staycation" a special one! We too love our convenient location within walking distance of famed attractions and premier destinations in Chicago. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide personable, attentive and helpful service, and we are so thrilled to hear we left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My two teen daughters and I had another fabulous stay at the Silversmith Hotel. We've stayed in hotels on the Mag Mile but prefer the atmosphere in The Loop where you are conveniently situated to restaurants, shopping, museums, Millennium Park, theaters, and the "L". This isn't a large hotel but bigger isn't always better. Walk 5 blocks to the river to use the Chicago Water Taxi (buy a daily pass for unlimited rides) which made getting to Chinatown a breeze. The recently remodeled hotel is gorgeous, has comfortable beds, refrigerator & in room safe. It is very quiet and the staff is friendly and attentive. We always book a Premium Double room which gives us a little more space to spread out. My daughters and I love the Silversmith and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Denise, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your second experience at Silversmith even more than the first! Our location is perfect for easy access to premier destinations and famous attractions around Chicago. We hope to see you and your daughters again the next time you visit Chicago, Denise and thank you again for sharing your experience.

Best regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our trip to chicago this hotel is ok .my wife not like this place our room is not very clean. we find bug at our bed. we ask manager to change the room. manager say sorry we clean the room every day.cofee in a breakfast is taste less.we will try different hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balero j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Balero, I sincerely apologize for the experience and service you had with your stay at Silversmith Hotel. We take hygiene and housekeeping very seriously at Silversmith, and what you experienced is not up to the standards in which we operate. I will look to find where the breakdown in service occurred and we do hope you will give us another chance to impress you the next time you are in Chicago. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Everything was perfect! The room was beautiful and comfortable. It is convenient to everything. The restaurant was superb! The staff was helpful and went out of their way. Could not have a better hotel experience. Hated to leave!

Room Tip: The room was elegant. The restaurant is elegant. The view not so good, there may be a room with some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Carol S., thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are thrilled t hear you tried our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge in our newly renovated space! We can not wait to leave another lasting impression on you the next time you find yourself in Chicago, Carol.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel was conveniently located to local transit, Millennium Park and The Institute of Art. The staff was exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was very clean and well appointed.
The basic room includes an in-room refrigerator and safe.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the noise from the el.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Mary D., thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Right alongside the loop, Silversmith Hotel provides easy access to famed attractions and premier shopping and dining. Our staff are happy to provide a memorable guest experience for our customers and we are thrilled to hear we could leave a lasting impression. We look forward to your next visit, Mary!

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara on the lake
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and really appreciated the good location of the hotel. We could walk to the riverfront in about 10-15 minutes, Millenium Park was just around the corner, the Oriental Theatre was another 10 minute walk, and the El had a stop right infront of the hotel.( Remember when exiting the El that there are 2 flights of stairs to negotiate coming down with your luggage- perhaps a taxi to the hotel from the airport for people who would have difficulty with this.)
The hotel staff were friendly, and our maid especially so. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated, there was a small fridge and a Keurig machine with coffee's and tea, and an in-room safe. The bed was very comfortable and had beautiful linens. The lighting was rather dim in the main room and a beautiful ceiling lamp/chandelier in the bathroom by the toilet had no switch to turn it on! The bathroom was huge and clean, however there were no towel bars to hang a hand towel or bath towel, even though there were long walls providing plenty of area to install a couple of towel racks. We asked for a room at the back away from the El and also higher up and this was graciously done and we had no problem with noise, I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Flagy, thank you for taking the time to review the Silversmith Hotel. We too love our prime location in the heart of the city, right alongside the loop, where famed attractions are easily accessible. Our recently renovated hotel offers a chic ambiance with spacious guest bedrooms and luxury amenities, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed. We are happy to provide a room best suited for your needs and hope you will be staying with us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 189 in Chicago
8,729 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,534 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,729 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
995 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing