We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #22 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel! The room was wonderful and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar tenders were chatty, friendly and really nice. Gave us great advice and directions when going to the baseball.
Highly recommend staying in this classy hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Slan J., thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our recently renovated hotel extends large guest bedrooms and luxury amenities to make for a most comfortable stay, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed! Our team is happy to provide helpful information to make the most of your time in Chicago. We hope to be seeing you again the next time you find yourself in Chicago Slan.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is very modern, clean, comfortable, and accomodating. The location is optimum for the south part of Michigan Ave. the hotel is close to the L which is good and bad for conveinience and noise levels.

Room Tip: Request a room opposite the L side of the hotel. There is a faint subway noise and adjacent room noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Brad h, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our modern, chic decor and large guest bedrooms from our recent renovation. Our prime location is ideal for guests look to explore all that the city has to offer, and we are glad that you could enjoy. We hope to see you again the next time you make your way to Chicago.

Best regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had 7 days in Chicago and a packed schedule. We were deciding whether to stay in a hotel along the Magnificent Mile or to stay in one within the Loop. We decided to stay at the Silversmith Hotel in the Loop and I'm glad we did. Armed with a 5-day Chicago Go Card and a 7-day Ventra card for CTA transit, the Silversmith proved to be a very convenient staging area for all of our tourist activities in Chicago. The hotel is located just a short walk away from the Palmer House hotel, where most of the bus tours/trolley tours are based for the Go Card. Several convenient bus stops on State Street and Michigan Avenue within a block of the hotel. El Train stops right in front of the hotel (Brown/Pink/Purple) with the Red and Blue line stops located underground just a block away. The hotel is also within a block of Millenium Park and the Bean. It is a 15-30 minute walk south to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain, and a 15-30 minute walk to the Magnificent Mile. Tons of dining options in the area. Institute of Art is nearby. Catch the CTA #29 on State and Madison to the Navy Pier. Catch the #146 on State and Monroe to the museum campus area where the Adler Planetarium, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Soldier Field are located. A lot of times, after a long morning and afternoon of sightseeing and shopping, we were easily able to stop by our hotel to drop off our items and freshen up, before heading out to continue an afternoon and evening of activities. The Hotel itself is very clean. Our room was spacious especially the bathroom. Walk-in glass shower - very nice. Very spacious closet. We requested more hangers and they delivered it quickly. Large flat screen TV and a fridge. Free Wi-Fi. No ice machine on the floor, but if you call the front desk, someone will deliver a bag of ice to your door. Our room on the 4th floor had no view to the outside other than an inner "courtyard", but it didn't matter as we were outside most of the time. We occasionally noticed some "noise" from the El, but it was not an issue for us. The staff was awesome - friendly and helpful, especially Arielle, Paige and Enrique. We were initially assigned to Room 902, which was an oddly shaped "L" shaped room. After realizing there was no desk or a dresser with drawers for clothes (we were there for 7 days and I needed a desk to use my laptop and a dresser to store our clothes), we asked for another room and they graciously and quickly accommodated us. There is an area in the lobby area with two computers and a printer, which was convenient when we learned the Bears were in town and I wanted to get and print tickets from Stubhub. Unfortunately, we did not have an opportunity to eat at the restaurant or have drinks at the bar, but every night it appears that place was happening! Guess we'll have to try that if we are fortunate enough to come back to Chicago. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Bububear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Bububear, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our recently renovated hotel. Our prime location right alongside the loop is crucial for guests look to explore all that the Windy City has to offer. We love that we are so close to famed attractions and premier destinations. We are glad that we have left a lasting impression on you with our personable, friendly and attentive guest services, and we hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As a group of 16- 8 adults and 8 Children between the ages of 2-16 years we felt the Silversmith was a great place to begin our trip. We all had double rooms with there being 4 per room including children. Our room in particular had the second bed within a great sofa which was perfect for the group to get together to discuss the plans for the forth coming road trip. We had two nights at the Silversmith and the staff were great, and the bar at night quirky.
Several of us used the gym which was good with a great view of the tram and what we expected to see in Chicago.
The hotel is a great place to venture into Chicago, with access to local typical American food places and attractions. We didn't eat in the hotel but that was down to our limited available time. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Sam C., thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad we could provide a great start to your trip! Our staff at Silversmith strives to create a memorable experience for all of our guests, and we are so glad we could leave a lasting impression on you. We too love our location in the heart of the city, perfect to explore all that Chicago has to offer. We do hope we will be seeing you again the next time you find yourself in the Windy City, Sam.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was lovely and spacious. Bathroom looked like new. Beds were only mediocre in comfort, but okay. Very nice lounge and reception area. Location is close to everything, one street from Michigan Avenue, right between the Bean and the Art Institute. 7-Eleven, Target, and ATMs within steps in case you forgot something or want to stock up the mini fridge. In the jewelry district, if you are in the market for that. A bit of train noise, but nothing disruptive. Absolutely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank distortiongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Distortiongirl, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal customer service, and we are so glad we could leave a lasting impression on you. Our recently renovated space extends modern bedrooms, bathrooms and chic interior design. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I found a very good rate for this hotel online and took a chance on it. I am very happy with my choice: great location, nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, My only complaint with the room is that the mattress is on the soft side.

Room Tip: I would advise on spending the extra money on a room upgrade for an upper floor, though. The hotel f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

mlzafron, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our convenient location right alongside the loop is great for guests looking to explore all that the Windy City has to offer. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago, when perhaps you may enjoy a meal at our recently opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A perfect location, but beyond that a wonderful place to stay. Lovely rooms, great ambience. As a single traveller on business it is a joy to find a bar to be comfortable at, and wonderful bar staff to have a quick chat with. Call out thanks to Barrye for excellent cocktail making and remembering my favourites from evening to evening. This hotel and it's staff are awesome. If I have the good fortune to come back to chicago I will absolutely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LibbyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Libby, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel with chic interior design and luxury amenities. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide helpful, attentive and friendly guest services and we hope we left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to your next visit!

Best,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
354 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £92 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing