We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and super location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #21 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This was definitely the best first night stop in Chicago. We parked under the Millennium park and walked the short distance to the hotel. The raised train line runs straight up the street pAst the hotel but you wouldn't have known about it once inside.

The door staff were brill and so helpful. I loved that the hotel lifts used room key cards which meant you felt safe.

Rooms were modern and very comfortable. Pretty little trolley in the bathroom with everything you could possibly need.

The coffee machine in the room was fantastic and room had a fridge.

The only negatives were the noises before 7am. Someone was fixing something with tools in our floor and it was really annoying along with deliveries or bins being collected. Small issues but annoying after a long flight and time zone change.

Excellent hotel

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JWoods55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

JWoods55, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel, extending to guests large bedrooms and modern, chic decor that make for a memorable stay. We sincerely apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced. We do hope that this did not effect your positive experience too much, and do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
There are newer reviews for Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a great Chicago hotel. The staff were excellent, especially the bell staff. We visited with our children (8 and 12) for a long weekend. The room had plenty of space for all of us, which is not always the case, especially when it comes to sleeping areas. The cost of the hotel is a little pricier than some, but the location is excellent. It is EXTREMELY close to public transportation, which is fantastic, but you will hear the El (we were happy to make that trade off - it's a city, so it is going to be loud, and if you close the curtains, it really helps!). The restaurant could use some selections for children, but I'm not sure if this is their target audience. Overall, we were very pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mickeyme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Mickeyme123, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide friendly, helpful and attentive guest services, and we are so glad that we have left a lasting impression on you. Our location is perfect for exploring all that Chicago has to offer, and we are so glad you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to your next visit, when perhaps you may enjoy a meal at our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were in Chicago for 5 nights to move in our daughter to the SAIC dorms. I picked this hotel because of the location and the reviews were so high. Our family loved the hotel. It was so convenient to everything in the loop and the trains. The rooms were very clean and the decor was lovely and modern. I did ask for a room away from Wabash because of the noise from the L (train), so the view was the tops of buildings. That was ok since the window was small and the room was a so comfortable. The beds were one of the best hotel beds. We were also very impressed withe the front desk staff and doormen. Everyone was so friendly.

My only complaint is the housekeeping, we always left a big tip every morning and sometimes she didn't even leave extra bathroom supplies. We had to call and get toilet paper!
I would definitely stay here when I visit my daughter at SAIC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luvtripz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Luvtripz2, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear that your family enjoyed our recently renovated hotel in the heart of Chicago. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal customer service and we are so glad to hear that we have left a lasting impression on you. Looking forward to you and your family's next visit!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Friendly, professional staff, nice room and comfortable beds. Love the location and will be back. Very centrally located, I loved how close it is to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. I did not try the restaurant, but maybe next time. Exceeded expectations!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor, the train is right there. Also there is a mini fridge, so bring your o...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrewABlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

DrewABlanc, thank you for sharing your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. Our team at Silversmith does their best to provide friendly, attentive and personable customer service, and we are so glad we could leave a lasting impression on you. We too love our central location, providing easy access to all that the Windy City has to offer. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I don't even know where to start... This was our first time at the Silversmith hotel and it was very enjoyable. The moment we walked through the front door everyone was friendly, upbeat, and helpful. The woman at the front desk (sorry I cannot remember her name) helped us book tickets for the architectural boat tour at a discounted price. It was a fantastic way to start off our vacation. The location of this hotel is conveniently located just a few blocks away from the bean and within walking distance of the magnificent mile. No in-room wifi, but it is available in the lobby. The room was very clean, soft beds/pillows, offered comfortable bathrobes, mini fridge, and free coffee (kuerig). It also had a safe that was hidden in a drawer - I don't know why but I liked this feature. I cannot wait to stay here again!!

Room Tip: The train runs right in front of the hotel. If you're a light sleeper you might want to bring ea...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Meredith S., thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide friendly, personable and attentive guest services, and we are so glad to hear we could leave a lasting impression on you. Our recently renovated hotel extends large guest bedrooms and chic interiors, and we are so glad you had a comfortable night's stay. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago, Meredith.

Regards,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely hotel close to the tourist attractions which was exactly what we needed as we was only in the city for a day. 1 block from millennium park and plenty of restaurants to choose from whether you want fine dining or fast food. The double room was much bigger than expected and the beds very comfortable, which was very welcome after a long flight from the UK. Glad we requested a quiet room as the L train runs right outside the hotel.

All the staff were great and we would definitely stay again if we return to the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room as the L train runs right outside
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sparkle1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Sparkle1998, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our location is perfect for exploring all that the Windy City has to offer including famed landmarks and premier shopping, dining and entertainment. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel that includes spacious guest bedrooms, making for a most comfortable nights stay. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago.

Best,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was my first time staying at the hotel, and I am extremely impressed. The hotel is clean, modern, and full of amenities. My room was very large, and I like that it included a Keurig coffeemaker as well as a small refrigerator. Everyone on the staff - from the bellmen at the front door to the front desk workers, to housekeeping was extremely accommodating and definitely went above and beyond. The bar/lounge is very nice, and the food and drinks are great. The bartender, Elizabeth, was absolutely outstanding. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifercM3437ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Jennifer C., thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our recently renovated hotel with large guest bedrooms, luxury amenities and modern, chic decor. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal guest service, and we are happy to have left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to your next visit, Jennifer.

Best,
Hans Ritten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 191 in Chicago
9,114 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,868 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 191 in Chicago
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £107 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing