We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, loved somethings, not so much others.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #91 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Location, loved somethings, not so much others.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package; first of all, the location is really great, easy to walk to various tourist spots (Navy Pier for example). The staff was also first rate, really nice people from the door man to the maintenance people. The rooms were nice, large, American sized hotel rooms with premium bedding and everything you would expect. However, be advised that the windows don't open, this drives me crazy, particularly as we were there during a perfect weekend, weather wise and I would have given a lot to have a little fresh air coming through. Due to the non-opening windows you are subjected to forced AC/Heater air that smells musty and really REALLY dries your skin/eyeballs out. This always makes me wake up with a headache. I have this problem in Vegas and have always gotten a humidifier sent to the room, but they aren't available at this hotel. if you are a fresh air person like me, then this wouldn't be the hotel for you.
On the bright side, they have a nice gym that has good equipment and a pool/spa (that I didn't use) but I did use the machines and they were all in good working order. They also have a restaurant downstairs (NO room service although the website I looked at specified room service, they don't offer it). We had a great dinner at the downstairs place, Italian flat and some great chicken. They also serve breakfast in the morning, but our b-fest was terrible, the french toast arrived ice cold (butter wouldn't melt on it) and it took forever! The whole thing set us back over $50 bucks for ice cold French toast, a small handful of fruit, 2 coffee/s and oatmeal, served by an inattentive waiter ((no room service, but room service pricing for sure). We go to Chicago fairly regularly and I would Tip: we did go to Alex's Jazz across the street and had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thyra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Executive Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and your experience with you. We really appreciate that you enjoyed our friendly staff as well as the location and the size of our guest rooms. You are right in that the guest rooms windows do not open, however we have a great large patio located on our 6th floor guest room level just off the pool. This is a great location within the hotel, guest may utilize this area to hangout and get some fresh air or a quick tan before heading out on the town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    405
    113
    27
    12
See reviews for
204
178
44
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
306 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This Courtyard is in a great location - River North. It's within walking distance of a huge number of restaurants and establishments. It's easy to walk to all of the tourist hot spots but it's also not crushed in the center of chaos. There's a couple great craft beer places nearby which is great if you like that (I do). The staff was always friendly and accommodating. I will definitely pick this hotel again for another stay in Chicago.

Our room was an internal facing and was quiet as could be. The only snafu was that our thermostat must have a loose wire and we couldn't turn the heat off for hours and our room got to 80s at 3am. I thought I was going to die. We finally got it turned down and we survived but things got desperate. The Courtyard was ready to change our rooms but we took a chance and stayed in the "hot" room with the fan off the rest of the time!

For those that are gym users, which I am when I travel for business, this may interest you. The pool area looked fantastic and recent. The actual gym area is shared with the neighboring condo building. This may explain why the gym area looks ancient. The cardio equipment is standard Marriott grade (good) and there were about 4-5 treadmills, 3 elliptical and bikes each. The free weights were so old and worn I think they were a few pounds lighter. The weight equipment didn't look much better so I avoided them. The overall environment of the gym was worn. The gym is the only reason I can't give this place a 5.

Room Tip: It's quiet on the side facing away from Hubbard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sportyangel215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Executive Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at the Chicago Courtyard River North. I am sorry to hear about the thermostat issues in your guest room. I am also glad to hear that our staff offered to move you to another room so that you would be comfortable. You are correct in that we share our fitness center with the neighboring condo building, however we are working on updating the fitness center with more modern equipment very soon. Again thank you giving us your feedback and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Nice property with very friendly and professional staff. I will definitely stay here again. Suggestion: stay away from the attached restaurant Viand and be aware you will pay $48 per night for parking. $60+ for valet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garcarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Executive Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give leave us your feedback. At the Chicago downtown Courtyard River North we take feedback very seriously. I was delighted to read that our staff was professional and courteous. You are correct that the parking which is not managed by the hotel is $48 per night which is one of the lowest rates across the city. Our valet parking serves as a courtesy for our guest who choose to drive in to our hotel in order to eliminate the hassle of finding parking on busy nights in the City of Chicago. Again thank you for choosing the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North, we hope that you will keep us in mind when in the Chicago area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Marriott downtown is in a nice location. We were there on St. Patrick's day. The revelers were fun to watch. Hotel is an enduring jewel. It is not as up to date as some other Marriott properties but its elegance makes up for it. Service is outstanding as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank padrepadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Exec. Admin Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. I am delighted that our staff was professional and courteous. We hope that you will choose the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North for your future travels to the Chicago area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Located just down from Michigan road, which was pretty central to our needs, we were able to park our car and spend the rest of our time walking the city. Our room was on the 23rd floor with a city view of other buildings and was very comfortable. We mainly ate outside of the hotel so can't comment on the restaurants although the food served when we ordered room service one night was really good. Lots of different and great restaurants in the area. The staff were wonderful. Little things like making sure we had umbrellas as we ventured into a rainy Chicago did make a difference!'

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Its a nice and updated courtyard, in downtown Chicago. the loop and magnificent mile as well as navy pier are all within walking distance. The beds were comfty. Free wifi for all was a huge plus.

No breakfast is included at all for this location, however this is a restaurant in the lobby that had really good scrambled eggs (and that's saying something !)

the bad
I stayed on the 10th floor and the noise from the ice machine was beyond obnoxious. The fire station was nearby and would come down the street with sirens blasting at all hours of the day and nite. Wished the rooms had better sound proof windows. My coworker on the other side of the building had no problems with the noise.

I would stay again, however I will request a room on the east side, and away from the ice machine, otherwise it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: stay on east side to avoid the sirens coming down the street by fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent visit to The Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North. On your next visit, please feel free to request a room on the east side of the building. We will be happy to meet your request. Our goal is to ensure you get a good nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
631 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I'm always looking for the prefect location to stay at. And the courtyard on Hubbard comes darn close to it. It's centrally located near shops, bars restaurants and rail transportation. You are in the thick of it here.

The hotel has no convention space, that's a good thing! Why, because the elevators are easily accessed without long waiting times and with only 15 floors it makes it better! Plus checking in and out does not have to be a hassel with an influx of conventioners.

The rooms where big and had plenty of outlets conveniently placed so my wife and I never had an issue charging our devices. The staff where super friendly and nice to deal with. When we asked for an delayed checkout the receptionist said what time? We opted for 2:00 and it was no problem. That's helpful when you have an afternoon flight.

The king size bed was extremely comfortable, after four nights it was still prefect. There was plenty of desk space for the business traveler and a microwave and mini frig.

The place was very clean and the lobby, hallways, common areas where without smell. That's important to me because I can't stand hotels that smell musty. This place gets a A+ for clean smelling!

I'll be staying here again when I come back to Chicago. Great place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 8ric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give The Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North an EXCELLENT rating. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing