We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In town for a meeting which was also at this hotel. Nice,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #91 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In town for a meeting which was also at this hotel. Nice,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nice meeting rooms. Nice rooms with very comfortable beds. Many restaurants and attractions within walking distance so this hotel is central to pretty much what you'd like to do. But walk. More to see ands less money to pay for taxis. Restaurant/bar attached. Only used the bar. Just fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BothellEnglandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it was such a delight to read that you enjoy your stay with us. We hope that when traveling to the Chicago area again in the future you will make us your first choice hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    405
    113
    27
    12
See reviews for
204
178
44
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel was perfectly fine and superbly located (though its sister property is a few blocks better, i.e., closer to the river) but for some reason, I was expecting more.

One thing that I would rave about is the coffee/donut shop: Glazed and Infused. The coffee was delicious and check out the photos - I didn't eat any donuts but I sure wanted to!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Exec Admin Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review about our property. It is regretful to hear that our location and amenities did not meet your expectiations. You are correct in that our sister properties are a little closer to the lake however we are only about 4 - 5 blocks walk from the lake and are surrounded by some of the cities most popular tourist attractions as well as live entertainment. We hope that when in the Chicago area in the future you will choose the Chicago downtown Courtyard River North as your first choice hotel and enjoy a Glazed and Infused Donut they wont bite :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Not only is the hotel in a great location, good service, but there is an excellent restaurant in the hotel in addition to the numerous restaurants within a 10 min walk. Was here for business, event staff was responsive ...

Room Tip: Great location for business or leisure travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC_TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Chicago Downtown Couryard River North. It was a pleasure reading that our event staff were so respoinsive to your meeting needs. It is also a pleasure know that the location of our hotel allowed you to take in some sights and enjoy yourself while here on business. Please do consider the Chicago Downtown Couryard River North when in the Chicago area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Courtyard River North was wonderful from the moment we pulled up until the moment we left! The staff was extremely helpful. The rooms were comfortable quiet and clean. The lobby bar/restaurant was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are so delighted that you have such an enjoyable stay at the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North. We do hope that you will make us your first choice hotel while visiting the Downtown Chicago area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

For s surprise birthday jaunt to Chicago,reserv. Made at the downtown marriott courtyard on Hubbard . It took two months to secure reserv. Because, well it's Chicago and a lot happens in Chicago..check in was easy, service was excellent from the car valet to front desk...complete opposite of our stay in jersey city in April... Here they take your bags to room, get you the cab, give you a bag of info on the city, restaurants, etc. every one was there to be of service to the people that pay their salaries ..Us, the traveler. We had a junior suite, quite comfortable..bath could be a bit larger, but hey, this is the city and space is at a premium. There is a new restaurant open on the property that we did not try as everything had been prearranged for me by the family..also a small donut shop is right next to it..will give the restaurant a try next time....breakfast looked awesome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, we are so pleased that we could be apart of this wonderful celebration. We hope to have you back here at the Courtyard River North, when you return please stop by Davanti and try the Pizza Soppressata or Glazed and Infused to try the Maple Bacon Long John. Thank you so much for making the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North you first choice hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent Memorial Day weekend in Chicago with friends. The hotel was a couple of blocks from Michigan Ave and the river so it was easy to get to shopping, food, the parks and museums and the water. Our room was very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool, whirlpool and workout room are all on the sixth floor along with an outdoor patio with lots of chairs and tables. The staff seemed very conscientious of who was coming in and out, but not overbearing, so we always felt safe. For the price we thought this was a great choice and would stay here again! We did not eat any meals in the restaurant but did get coffee and tea each morning which was good. The donuts were to die for but my diet did not allow for a sampling!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaDe070714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North as your first choice Hotel. We are so pleased that we could make your Memorial Day vacation a hit! Thank you again for such a great review. We look forward to see you again in the future for your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
292 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

While it was a nice, average Courtyard hotel, for the money, I would prefer something a little nicer. Maybe that is not possible. The location was pretty good. I took the train from Midway and got lost, the front desk clerk gave me excellent directions and was very helpful. The walk to the hotel was about 6 blocks and it was very simple to find, once I knew where to go. Check in was a breeze. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but a few in my group did and said it was very good. My biggest issue is that I was in a room right across from the elevator. It was very noisy every night. I did ask to be moved, but at the time they had no other room available. I was attending a large convention and did not have time to call the front desk back and move all of my stuff. Also, the entrance to the hotel is kind of hidden away off the main thoroughfare, so geting a taxi could be a little challenging at times. The doormen were very adept at this skill. Wouldn't be my first choice for my next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the front desk and bellman at the hotel. We pride ourselves in having a great staff and great location. I apologize that you were in a room near the elevator, and we were not able to move you during your stay. I do understand that getting a good nights sleep is a very important part of staying at a hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing