We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #93 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have stayed in Courtyards many times and they are always a good choice. The one in downtown Chicago was in a great location - easy to walk to office and restaurants.

It was raining the day I was there and they had umbrellas to use which was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We upgraded rooms to a suite because we traveled with an infant. We used one of their cribs (pack & play) and set it up in the living space so we could be in the bedroom and watch tv, get ready, etc without waking our babe up. It was wonderful, plus there was a lot of space for the babe to crawl around. The staff was pleasant. The location was great. All in all it was nice.

Two drawbacks: the hotel needs some updating, but for a few days wasn't really a problem for us. We've stayed at nicer marriotts but really it isn't that big of a deal to me. The restaurant was lacking & they don't do room service. You have to dine-in or carry-out yourself. Dining in wasn't that pleasant for us as we went at an off time when we arrived from the airport. At 3pm they had one server and no one else in the restaurant and we somehow managed to be ignored by her. Oh well.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNsuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are so delighted that you enjoy staying at our Marriott Properties while traveling. You mentioned that we should think about updating our hotel and we have less than 18 months ago we renovated our lobby as well as our meeting space/ meeting level. Our Lobby features a clean contempory welcoming feel as you approach the front desk and a nice business center for your convience. Unlike most Courtyards by marriott we do have a full service Rustic Italian Restaurant in our hotel called Davanti and a Gourmet Donut Shop Glazed and Infused. Although we do not offer room service at this time, we do allow all of our guest the convience of signing any restaurant or Glazed and Infused charges to their rooms. Please do consider stopping by the Davanti and Galazed when staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family stayed here for several days in June 2014 for my brother's wedding (held elsewhere). Overall, we were impressed with the property and the staff.

My room was on the 10th floor and was directly across from the elevators and ice machine - noisy, of course, but a set of earplugs that I brought along helped. And even on the 10th floor, the street noise at night is quite loud! The room itself was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The shower didn't drain well, but that's probably my only complaint about the room itself besides it's location. My parents had a 2-bed room on the top floor, in the corner - very spacious, but with smaller windows than I had in my room. The bridal couple's 'suite' seemed just a bit bigger than my room - there were double doors separating the bedroom and living space, and the vanity area was larger.

We had breakfast several times in the lobby restaurant. One day, our order was taking a long time, so the manager sent our server over with two doughnuts from Glazed and Infused - YUM! The food was good, and I especially loved the smashed fingerling potatoes. Sunday's Bloody Mary bar was awesome, with a huge variety of spices and relishes!

I didn't valet park my car, but others in my family did. The valets and doormen seemed to be quite helpful, especially when we were trying to get all of the luggage and wedding decorations into our cars in the morning. One night, we needed a cab, so a doorman signaled one for us across the street - although it was unmarked, so we were pretty sure that it was an Uber.

One weird event - on the day of the wedding, the elevators suddenly stopped working. The stairs on either end of one hallway both stopped (like, a dead end!) on the fifth floor. There were numerous guests wandering the halls and stairwells, trying to figure out how to get up and down without a complete set of stairs. There must have been another stairwell somewhere, but none of us could find it! (Good thing this wasn't during an emergency!). The elevators did start working again, in time for the wedding crew to assemble. :)

I've stayed at several hotels in downtown Chicago. This property might not have the quirky charm of some of the independent boutique hotels, but it was comfortable, in a good location, and had everything we needed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank teacher314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for giving us your feedback, it is regretful to learn that you stay with us was enjoyable however you encounted a couple of unforseen issues. Our hotel is conviently located in the heart of the River North neighborhood with some of the best dining and local events the city has to offer. In addition we take a lot of pride in the size of our hotel rooms, we have some of the most spacious rooms in the city of Chicago as well. I am delighted however to know that you enjoyed your meal at Davanti and that the issues you experience there were taking care of quickly and to your satisfaction. Thank you again for choossing the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Helpful staff and location is pretty close to everything that you need in downtown Chicago, but even staying on the 6th floor, it was quite noisy. That being said, the positives far outweighed the negatives and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the better and ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axel5171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Administrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your stay, We are in the heart of the River North Neighborhood, What is unique about our location are the local attractions and the level of convience to great restaurants, and night life. However we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Recently stayed hear while doing a 5K in the city. Front desk staff and bell hop very nice and helpful. Quick service. Room was well appointed with top rate linens and comfortable beds. Very nice stay, great area of town with a nice place to have a night cap or grab a bite off the lobby. I will stay here again, love the location!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Admin Asssitant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for giving us your feedback, we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is refreshing to learn that you felt that our staff were friendly and polite. It was also a pleasure to read that you have intent to stay with us again. It is our hope that when you stay with us again you will check out our restaurant Davanti and our coffee shop Glazed and Infused. Thank you again for the great feedback and for making the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North you first choice hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here in late May and really enjoyed the location and hotel. Room are typical Courtyard, but seemed to be a bit larger than most. Also, the new wine bar off the lobby is fantastic, although do not spend all your time there. Staff was excellent and I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAbendhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Admnistrative Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for leaving such great feedback about the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back with us when you are in the Chicago area in the future. Thank you again for making us your first choice hotel in Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have traveled plenty, and rarely have experienced as nice, accommodating and polite of a staff as this hotel has! Whoever did the hiring and training should be commended!! The location is ideal, great restaurant onsite and plenty of others within a short walking distance.

We had a great experience and will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Administrative Assitant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

What a pleasure it is too ready such wonderful feedback, we thank you for making the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North your first choice hotel. We hope to see you when you are in the Chicago area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#43 of 191 in Chicago
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £73 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing