We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #85 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient and Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently had a long weekend in the Windy City and chose this hotel based on location and price. I was hoping I would not be disappointed and I was not! The hotel is modern and clean and offers a great location to many of the city's sights...most within walking distance. We enjoyed a walk to Navy Pier, Michigan Ave. and the Chicago Theater is also doable. The hotel has nice restaurants nearby and our check in and departure were smooth. I would stay there again !

Room Tip: The sixth floor has the pool, out door patio and fitness area so that would be a consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank condeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Exec Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is with much delight to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleasantly surprised by the value and the service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    412
    114
    28
    12
See reviews for
208
182
45
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
307 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is very nice all around except for the parking fee's which are typical of downtown metro areas. That said, its worth dumping a rental car before you stay or just take shuttle service from airport. Other than that, this hotel was everything expected from a Marriott plus a good location to use mass transit to all of the sites. If your going to more than one in place in a day, get the $10 unlimited daily train ticket. We did Wrigley, Willis Tower, and Millennium Park. All of these places are less than 30 minutes away by foot or by train. The traffic to ORD is very heavy mid-late afternoon, give yourself some time to get there or take the train.

Room Tip: Higher up will give you a nice view....ask the person at the desk when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Exec Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is with much delight to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleasantly surprised by the value and the service. You are correct in that just about all of our best Chicago sites and tours are within walking distance or a short train CTA train ride away. It's up to you if you would like to drive or take a shuttle either way we know that you will enjoy your time with us in Chicago. Thank you again for making us your first choice Marriott. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our hotel stay was awesome ...the location was great & upon arrival we were greeted by our favorite guy Ronny!! He was very helpful & intuitive about what was going on that weekend. While checking in, the young lady at the desk helped us out tremendously and checked us in w/a smile and very quickly. Ronny proceeded to take our luggage w/the room & asked us was there anything else we'd like during our stay that he could help us out with. We're football players, so we knew we needed extra towels, blankets etc because of the games we'd be playing. We went out sightseeing and to our surprised, everything we asked him for was there in our room when we got back!! The next day, another lady at the front desk helped us out w/breakfast spots, passes, tourist information etc. I also had to speak to the manager about staying an extra night & mind you, this was LOLLAPALOOZA weekend. John the manager helped us out, he accomodated us when he didn't have to & we appreciated that so much!! All weekend we were greeted w/smiles and can i help yous!! This will be our hotel to stay in when we visit Chicago from now on!!

Kiva

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Exec Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your most recent stay. We look foward to seeing you agian in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnen
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When you arrive you will be greeted with a smile by a very friendly door man. Check-in super friendly and fast. Hotel has a very good Restaurant.The view is not the best, however.. this is a City Hotel. You are in a perfect Location near the house of blues.. Many Restaurants and very Close to the river.. and CTA Metro Station - you can take the Train to O'Hare Airport ..

Room Tip: ask for high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarnentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Exec. Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will make us your 1st Choice Marriott Hotel when traveling to the Chicago area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Overall wonderful experience at this Courtyard hotel. The staff at every level was friendly and welcoming here. The three items I would say I missed during this stay were: great beds (these were not), a microwave on our floor, and an in room safe. We were walking distance to restaurants, the downtown sites and the waterfront Parks. Cab to MSI ran ~$24. Nice pool and jacuzzi, gym and uncovered patio.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Exec Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is regretful to learn that your trip was affected by our beds, not having a safe in the room as well as a microwave. However we do have microwaves in all of our King and Double rooms suites as well as a mini fridge in all of our guest rooms. You are correct in that we are in a great location with a very walk able neighborhood, and close by great Chicago visitor attractions and entertainment. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope that when travels bring you back to Chicago you will make us your 1st choice Marriott Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The location of this hotel couldn't be better, situated just North of the Chicago River and two blocks away from Michigan Ave this is the perfect spot in Chicago. From the hotel you can easily walk to Michigan Ave and The Loop. If you are up to it you can even walk to Navy Pier and even the Field Museum area (including Soldier Field).

The hotel is clean and the service is excellent, I highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Get a high floor especially if you are staying here over the weekend can be a little noisy as many r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Exec. Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, it is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with you. We hope that you will make us your first choice Marriott hotel when travels bring you back to the Chicago area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location is very convenient to downtown experiences but we wanted to get out and make the loop around Lake Michigan. Unfortunately we had not rented a car in advance. The morning desk clerk, Tabatha, went the extra mile to have a rental car delivered right to the hotel doorstep! She made a lasting impression on us and a positive impact on our visit to Chicago. Thank you again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi G, Senior Exec Admin Assist. at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are so delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable. Our service experts take pride in delivering the best service to each of our guest.

You rated us a 3 out of 5 besides the service that you received by Tabatha is there anything you would like to share with us regarding your stay? If so please feel free to contact me directly at Brandi.Gant@marriott.com.

We hope that when in the Chicago area again in the future you will make the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North your 1st choice hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing