We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay with 4 year old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Ranked #68 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
South Lyon, United States
1 review
“Overnight stay with 4 year old”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel was in a great location for a visit to the American Girl store with our 4 year old. Check in went well and was quick. Getting our car back from valet parking when we were ready to leave took over 20 minutes though. The air conditioning in our room was not really working properly so the room stayed muggy all night. Cable in the living room was out but maintenance staff fixed it promptly once we discovered the problem. Worst issue was that we paid for late check out so our daughter could nap but housekeeping wasn't aware so they came in to clean the room shortly after noon thinking we'd checked out and woke her up just after she'd fallen asleep. It was frustrating because letting her nap was the entire reason we asked for and paid for a late check out time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Andrew K,

Thank you so much for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience. It is both valued and appreciated.

It was disappointing to learn that your request for late check out was not properly managed and that in the process it did wake-up your little 4 years old girl. We have shared your comments with our team, and you can be assured that they understand how important request such as yours are for all our guests.

We hope that you will stay again with us on your next visit and I invite you to contact me directly so I may handle your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    663
    256
    88
    43
See reviews for
659
350
87
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We did a fair amount of searching for places to stay downtown that gave us convenient walking access to many popular spots. This is a perfect place next to the John Hancock tower and shopping on Michigan Avenue. It was even a short walk to the Ohio Street beach. Great rooms with alot of space. The only downside is not having an option for comp breakfast (even a light one) in the morning, although they do have a restaurant on-site. They did advertise a jacuzzi at the pool (even was in photos) and there was not a jacuzzi to be found! Staff were attentive and courteous. I would definitely stay here again. And...the American Girl store is super close if you've got kiddos into this phenomenon...just come loaded with some cash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels for a great view of the city or the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirtgirlphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear dirtgirlphx,

Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a great time here in Chicago. Reading the experiences of our guests is something that we enjoy doing and yours is no exception. Thanks for recommending our location. There is no doubt that being steps away from the Mag Mile, the American Girl, the John Hancock Tower and the restaurants on Rush Street makes it easy to enjoy our fabulous city. The information about the jaccuzzi has been removed from our site for quite sometimes but unfortunately there are a few third party sites that still show picture of the jacuzzi and I am very sorry that is gave you the wrong information.

Looking forward to seeing you in the great city of Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Located at the Norht end of the Magnificent Mile. Overall good location, can walk to a number of places, ONly $10 cab ride from Union Station. Can walk to Rush Street. Close to shopping. Quiet. Stayed on the Executive lounge, free internet, breakfast, wine and beer in the evening. Access to papers and water bottles to take with you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Brett Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Brett Z,

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. It is always a pleasure to get feedback and read reviews from our guests, we are glad that you had a great time in Chicago and at our hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you in the beautiful city of Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I did a decent amount of shopping around before booking here, and this is definitely the best value per sq ft that you are going to get in this area. I was attending a conference and had 2 other guys staying with me, so we were looking for a little extra space than the standard room would provide. The hotel is in a prime location on the magnificent mile and walkable to the lake. The suites are roomy, clean, and quiet. We all slept very comfortably. The living area closes off to the bedroom, and the couch is a pull out, so we all had our own bed. The bathroom is accessible from both the living area and the bedroom. There is a lot of seating in the living area, as well as a wet bar with a fridge and microwave. Our room ended up as a gathering area for others prior to going out bc we had way more space than anyone else. There is also a desk where you can get some work done if you need to. Wifi is free if you are an AT&T customer. The staff are very helpful downstairs, and the workers outside can always get you a cab quickly.

It certainly doesn't have the frills or ambiance of a boutique hotel, but that is usually what I would look to get with my wife on a romantic getaway. This hotel really doesn't fall in that category. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who was wanting to stay in this area and wanted more space than a standard room provides at a really good value. It worked perfectly for our situation.

Room Tip: I have heard that the rooms higher up have great views. You should try and request one of these. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear rwjacobs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It is both valued and appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and its great location. There is no doubt that being steps away from the Mag Mile, the John Hancock Tower and the restaurants on Rush Street makes it easy to enjoy our fabulous city. An there is more to do when you stay with us, the shopping is just steps away and after shopping, it is always nice to go for a relaxing walk by Lake Michigan that is just a block away. The fact that all our rooms are suites makes it comfortable to have friends over to share a drink before going for a nice dinner. I am delighted that yoiu enjoyed our hotel, the lopcation and the service your received.

Looking forward to seeing you in the great city of Chicago again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Located in one of the nicest neighborhoods in the city this all suite hotel really delivers. With an easy walk to Michigan Ave/Mag Mile and the Lakefront you can't beat the location. Rooms are spacious(ask for high floor lake view) with all the amenities. Courteous , helpful staff with a nice top floor pool and gym add to this gem. The first floor connected restaurant, The Local Chicago is outstanding for breakfast, lunch, dinner & late night. The Local offers a variety of fresh sourced interesting foods and a large list of liquid libations

Room Tip: best rooms face the lake on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Joe D,

Thank you so much for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience. It is both valued and appreciated.

Thank you for recommending our location. There is no doubt that being steps away from the Mag Mile, the American Girl, and the restaurants on Rush Street makes it easy to enjoy our fabulous city. I am glad that you had the opportunity to experience the Local restaurant. Indeed, it is a great way to relax and enjoy Chicago’s local cuisi

Looking forward to seeing you in the great city of Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great staff - very professional, helpful & friendly. They assisted us with advice on bus routes, taxis, & restaurants. The pool was a big hit with my daughter & she absolutely loved all of the special treats included with the American Girl package. Very comfortable & relaxing weekend for mom & girl.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jane M,

Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a great time here in Chicago and it is truly a pleasure and a privilege to read the feedback of our guests. All of us at the hotel are commited to the satisfaction of our guest and ansure a pleasant stay, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our great city and our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I requested a lake view room and the view was Amazing! Our room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a great location - just a few steps to Michigan Ave, Watertower Place. My husband informed me after my stay with our daughter that the hotel has hosted every American President since the hotels opening. Interesting little fact.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Amada S,

Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a great time here in Chicago. Reading the experiences of our guests is something that we enjoy doing and yours is no exception. Our location next to Michigan Avenue, steps away from the Lake and a short walk to many restaurants makes it easy to enjoy Chicago.

Looking forward to seeing you in the great city of Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Property: Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Address: 198 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in May 2016, Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites is an upscale, all-suite hotel in a prime downtown Chicago location. Our modern, comfortable, well-appointed two-room guest suites and executive accommodations are just steps from Michigan Avenue, one block from Lake Michigan and close to everything central Chicago has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing