We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very adequate accomodations in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #113 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree on Ohio Avenue for 3 nights in June as we wanted to be in a downtown location close to the sights. The location of this hotel is great. Of course, you expect to walk a lot in Chicago, and even I, recovering from knee surgery, did very well from this base. We were 3 blocks from the trolley pick up, 6 blocks from the train that took us to Wrigley Field (only about a 15 minute trip), 6 blocks in the other direction to Navy Pier, and only 2 blocks to Michigan Avenue. There are all kinds of restaurants, bars and shops in this area. Our 14th floor room had a great view down Grand Avenue. The room itself had great bedding, a nice bathroom and was average in size. We were lucky to be on a corner and had a large wrap around window.

We arrived early but our room was ready and we were checked right in. The concierge was helpful with suggestions and directions. Cabs were no problem and we used a lot of them. The bagel shop on the corner was great for breakfast and the restaurant just across the street also had a wonderful breakfast. The pool looked great but we simply didn't have time to take advantage of it.

I would stay in this hotel again. It wasn't lavish and historical like some of the pricier Chicago hotels, but it was clean and updated and comfortable. The price was lower than most of the area hotels, but everything in downtown Chicago is expensive. It was well worth it. We love Chicago and hope to go back to see other things we didn't get to see on this trip. There is just too much for one trip.

Be sure to go to Millenium Park and see the Bean. Very cool! Also loved going to the top of the Willis (Sears) Tower and of course, the Cubs game. Wrigleyville was awesome. There is something for everyone in Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,035 - 2,041 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a very nice two-night stay at the Doubletree on East Ohio (albeit a very expensive one, being the weekend of a major conference).

The hotel is excellently situated, close to the Magnificent Mile strip, restaurants, Navy Pier and a host of other attractions. The room and beds were very comfortable with excellent amenities. Service from the check in staff and concierge were prompt and attentive.

We had the buffet breakfast included, which was pretty good, and also had internet included in our rate, which worked well.

Overall, a solid option if you're looking for something in this area of town.

Room Tip: We took a 'Lake View' room on a high floor, which had a glimpse of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear aimoverseas,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. Glad you enjoyed our close proximity to Navy Pier, the Mag Mile, and other downtown attractions. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location! It was very attractive and had great service. One comment: it could use no-charge internet in rooms and complimentary coffee and/or continental breakfast in lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank CheriePortHuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great location! Easy walk to Navy Pier as well as Michigan Ave. I had the "20 13" package which gives $20 food credit & only $13 for parking. The $20 didn't come off bill at the end of our stay, but the front desk removed our $19.96 breakfast from the on site bagel cafe, so that was fine by me! We had leftovers so I asked if they had a spot we could use to keep it cold, & they brought up a mini fridge to our room, free of charge! I also asked at the front desk if there was a password to use in the lobby to access the free Wifi in the lobby, & I was given a code that worked in our room as well! Only 2 of 4 elevators were working, but they made the service elevator available for guests to use, which was nice. The rooftop pool was a nice amenity. We spent our last hour there before we checked out!

Room Tip: Pool is on the fifth floor & can be seen from the windows by the elevators. HHonors members get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKanaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear SKanaar,
Thank your for your review and taking advantage of our "20 13" package at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. It pleases us to read that you made good use of our on-site amenities, and it would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had nothing but problems. Staff just kept referring to how busy they were. They gave us a room that was occupied. Walked right in and other peoples luggage and belongings were out. Good thing we are honest people. Then they gave us a room and the key cards did not work. Staff just said it was really busy. Our floor was very noisey with all night parties both nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Joe T,
Thank you for your review. It disappoints us to learn of the shortcomings you experienced during your recent stay at our hotel. If given another opportunity, we hope to welcome you back for a much improved stay.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very please with this hotel. I've never had a bad experience at the Doubletree and this was no exception. Outstanding customer service and our room was extremely comfortable. As always, the bedding is top of the line. Love the location too!!

Room Tip: Higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncandoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Duncandoodle,
Thank you for your review. It gives us great pleasure to read that you experienced outstanding customer service at our hotel. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Doubletree Hotel Magnificent Mile is in a great location. Between Michigan Avenue and Lake Michigan. Close to all the Chicago attractions or just a short cab or train ride away! Enjoy being able to walk to Michigan Ave Shopping and take a walk along Lakeshore Drive. Easy walk to Navy Pier.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 788melindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We too agree that our location is tough to beat being only steps from Michigan Avenue and other popular Chicago attractions. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £66 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing