We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at the Magnificent Mile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #106 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Wichita, United States
1 review
“Christmas at the Magnificent Mile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived on Christmas Eve at about 7:30 PM. We found warm cookies and an inviting atmosphere. The hote staff were always helpful and friendly. The quality of the mattress was much better than the one I have at home. We could walk or take public transportation all over Chicago. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jonette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Jonette S,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree Chicago Mag Mile over Christmas Eve! Our welcoming staff and warm chocolate chip cookies make us one of the most inviting hotels in the city. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    1,035
    512
    176
    110
See reviews for
803
587
141
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel was very clean and colorful. I appreciated the service and cleanliness of our room. The location is great right off of Michigan Ave so no need to take a cab to shop or go out to dinner if you stay on Michigan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Tried to come right after Christmas, but was not able due to weather chalIenges. Scored a GREAT RATE online for the first weekend of the New Year, and the weather looked like it would cooperate - until Thursday.

I traveled here via bus on Friday (arrival was delayed SIX HOURS due to Thursdays weather; those folks needed to get on the road first after they overnighted in the bus station) to have the family Christmas gift exchange with my sister who now lives in Chicagoland. She and family members took the Metra down to the hotel and spent the afternoon. We had a blast. Watched playoff games, ordered stuffed pizza, and opened lots of boxes.

Checked weather reports Saturday night/early Sunday morning. Couldn't get thru to any of the suggested phone lines for updates, so went to bus station to catch scheduled Noon departture. Station was full of people who aren't going anywhere - not TODAY anyway. Got on the phone with my sister and asked her to book a hotel. Using a completely different search engine, landed right back here at another GREAT RATE. Was right back on property in an hour's time from my original check-out. Requested and received a wonderful City View under reservation one. Asked for a Lake View, and was granted under reservation two. LOVE the window seat and the light.

I wanted to say THANK to the staff and management here in real time. The service here is EXCELLENT and so is the staff. They accommodated multiple guests who also are not able to leave the city today, and I saw a flight crew from a major carrier in the hotel yesterday.

I'm at home here because I am born and raised in the Mighty Midwest. WEATHER is never a deterrent to having an adventure. I went to Undergrad in Chicagoland. I try to stay Downtown whenever possible. This is a very comfortable property with generous spaces. The beds are amazing. The hotel is conveniently located to the MagMile, with all of its shopping and cultural opportunities. You can walk everywhere from here and take advantage of all that Chicago has to offer.

I'd happily lodge here again.

Room Tip: Make your request known as soon as you arrive for type of room and type of view desired. If availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Janice0801,
Winter has certainly come on with a vengeance these last couple of weeks, and we applaud you for braving the weather to enjoy a Chicago adventure! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to thank us for your overall positive experience! We also thank you for choosing to celebrate the holidays with us. Our hotel's success is built on several factors like excellent service and making sure each guest feels right at home. These are the reasons why we have such a high percentage of return guests time after time. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon!
Happy New Year!
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our experiencia at the hotel was excelent. The impecable room was exactly what we need after our long days of walking. Also the location of the hotel is outstanding, just 1 block away from magnificent mile. We definitely recomend DoubleTree by Hilton for everyone visiting Chicago. The only bad thing is that the Lobby bar was closed every single night in our visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nicolás C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just to clarify, our lobby lounge is open from 4:00pm to 10:30pm every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was not our first trip to Chicago! We love it there and this hotel was in a great location, at a great price. It is very easy to navigate the downtown area and there are plenty of places to eat and shop very close by. The room was great and the staff were very friendly and proficient!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank FLnatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a great vacation spot hotel. The rooms have enough amenties and space to be comfortable for a family. Some of the other hotels in this area have a very tight room space. The view from our room on the 27th floor was awesome. I love the city views into the office building and urban lofts. The window bench seat was pretty nice. If we were staying a little longer, I might have spend some leisure time relaxing at the window!

The colors and updates in the room were obviously done as needed -some things looked fresh and on trend while other things were dark and outdated. But, the necessities were right - clean, comfortable, high quality.

This hotel is very close to Navy Pier and dangerously close to Garrett's popcorn. Along Ohio are some of our favorite restaurants which we discovered don't keep hours after 10pm on weeknights - bummer!

The cookie welcome was a nice touch and the front desk staff was friendly. Lastly, thanks for the copy of the Wall Street Journal!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosielovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear rosielovestravel,
We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and panoramic city views from your guest room. Our hotel's central location and plentiful amenities is tough to match in Chicago, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is a little older, but clearly has had fairly recent updates to the rooms, including comfortable beds. Location is excellent, just two blocks east of North Michigan Avenue (the Magnificent Mile) on East Ohio St and close to shopping and restaurants. Friendly desk staff, and attached parking deck ($50/night). Contrary to other reports on the web, the in-house restaurant (Markethouse) is open and looks good, though we didn't have a chance to try it. Panera and a 7-11 are also close by for snacks and light fare.

(Note: WiFi is only free for Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members.).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing