We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Awful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #108 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel, Awful Service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nice, clean hotel in a decent location. Terrible staff with very stand-offish personalities - specifically the check-in and reception staff. Usually, I have very pleasant stays at doubletrees...this one was completely off the mark.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 235amiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear 235amiry,
The service you described in your review is not our standard, and can assure you this is something that we rarely ever hear on this travel forum. Please be assured of our best efforts to regain your confidence in us, so that we may have an opportunity to redeem ourselves and sincerely display our customer service standards.
-The DoubleTree Mag Mile Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    1,053
    522
    182
    113
See reviews for
827
595
143
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

location was great and the room was spacious. Only one complaint. It rained while I was there and I was literally two blocks away from my meeting room, so I didn't want to take a cab. I would have expected a higher end hotel to have umbrellas at the desk, but they didn't. I had to buy a $15 umbrella I could have bought for about 5 at Walmart, at the gift shop. Just an added amenity that would have been nice. The difference between a good and excellent rating in my mind, all based on service

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank RickD0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear RickD0216,
Thank you for sharing your concern with us. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as this is something our team should take into consideration moving forward. Our team strives for service excellence, and having umbrellas available for guests to borrow would be a great extension of our hospitality efforts. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
-The DoubleTree Mag Mile Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nice hotel, good location, and pretty quiet. The price was good for Chicago and we would stay again. I liked the check out procedure, not having to do anything on leaving. One strange thing that I don't understand is that when we used a debit card a $50 extra charge was made. When I called about it showing up on our bank statement, they said it was their practice and that it would be refunded in about 5 days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Close to the Chicago river and in the heart of Downtown. Great staff and facilities. CJ at the front desk was awesome! Easy to get a taxi to get around town. The bartender at night was very courteous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Mark W,
Thank you for staying with us over St. Patrick's Day weekend! We are proud to read that CJ and our bartender at the hotel exceeded expectations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
-The DoubleTree Chicago Mag Mile Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great location, excellent price, really nice locally sourced restaurant with a great brunch. Extremely friendly staff, great bartenders. Everyone was very nice as to be expected from a HIlton. Love the free infused waters and cookies! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natgrin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was in Chicago working for business for a week and generally prefer Hilton properties. I selected the Doubletree based on price and location.

Overall the property is in decent shape. When I told the check in person I was staying for the week, he put me on the top (26th) floor and gave me the internet code free. The room and bathroom were again in good shape, nothing spectral but well maintained given the age of the property. I chose to skip the daily maid service to get $8.00 per day credit towards food, etc.

I had room service twice and both times it was on time and very good. Einstein Bagels is attached to the lobby and provided a convenient, faster and cheaper breakfast that the main hotel restaurant. The workout room off the lobby was very large and had all the cardio, free weights and machines I wanted. Only thing missing was a bottle of sanitizing spray. Overall, the hotel was a good option and just a few short blocks off Michigan Ave and the heart of Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I had the worst experience with my check in they didn't want to help me at all . As soon as I came in she took my passport and took it to the back no nothing I felt as if I did something wrong . Took about 25 minutes to call the job for verification of employment and she denied me my room until my grandma called her job to tell them she works there which is backwards I could have pleasantly walked to the restroom played the roll and call
But I didn't if it was just that simple the Supervisor was talking to me as if I was illiterate or wasn't understanding her. With me currently being employed at Hilton I knew they didn't go thru proper procedure to accommodate me . When after 45 minutes passed someone confirmed for us and then we got keys I politely ask for each persons name email address and number one employee which was the supervisor or manager she complied but Selva failed to so. Now all while we've been waiting I see that all guests were giving an WARM COOKIE they all
Commented while leaving desk how warm these cookies were not room 1410 ours were not hot at all I chose not to make an big deal considering I'm already being treated poorly like I'm a criminal like i caused harm but I knew I was livid . I promise service was terrible .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triggs0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Triggs0206,
It disappoints us to read about your unpleasant experience at our hotel. Please be assured that we never judge anyone that checks in, and always have the best intentions in mind for each and every person that walks through our door. Many guests consider us their "home away from home", and tell us that one of the main reasons they return is our staff. We are sorry that you did not experience the exemplary level of services that we usually provide. Our hotel manager would like to learn more details of your recent experience, and encourages you to contact her at: 312-224-2137 or via email: bradin@doubletreemagmile.com.
-The DoubleTree Chicago Mag Mile Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing