We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #112 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First let me start by saying the staff at this hotel are very good and friendly. This is a very busy hotel so some of the minor things get over looked
Room 2310 window leaked and water from rain gets in
Wi fi horrible I believe they might have a couple different networks and at& t and honors clash. Many people in hotel complained about it
Restaurant breakfast basic continental very basic cereal fruit and pastry and bread products. For 7 dollars more you can upgrade to full buffet breakfast. Scrambled eggs bacon sausage and french toast and potatoes. Was there four days menu doesn't change
People in lobby were telling us to cross the street and go to west egg breakfast place cheaper and more food,
There also is an Einstein bagel store in hotel
Pool is very nice well maintained
Gym well equipped and nice with water and towels
They have a machine in lobby were you can check in and print your boarding pass Great, but the paper that they were using wouldn't scan at security (t s a ) or airlines.
The day we left a good portion of the lobby was blocked off because roof was leaking and buckets we're collecting water
Hotel is in walking distance to everything if not cabs are cheap
Again I can't stress enough how good and friendly service people are in hotel I am not sure if I would stay there agin might check out other Hilton properties in Chicago

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Pete S- Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our friendly staff and on-site amenities such as Einstein's, fitness center, and boarding pass kiosk. We've received any complaints on the paper quality of the boarding pass print-outs, but will be sure to further investigate your comment. We regret to learn if your guest room had any trace of water, but we will be sure to inspect this internally in addition to the WiFi connectivity. If given another opportunity, we hope to welcome you back for a much improved experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 3,021 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have stayed at several Hilton properties in the past and this Hotel failed in a couple areas that I felt most Hilton properties excelled at, front desk was disorganized during check in not only for ourselves but throughout our stay, saw people being assigned to rooms that were occupied. WIFI unless you paid for it was very poor, when in your room you virtually had to stand by the door. On the other hand the concierge, room service and Bell service were very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Susan M- We are sorry to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. Everyone here is extremely passionate about delivering exceptional service to each guest who walks through our doors. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations; however, your experience is certainly not a typical one. Your comments about the WiFi service will be addressed internally, and we apologize if the connection caused any inconvenience. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and hope you will give us another chance to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very reasonably priced for downtown Chicago; great location close to Magnificent Mile and Lake Michigan. Good size room, very clean. The only negative is the outrageous parking fees - $50/day. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Took four kids, mother in law and mom on a quick get away to Chicago. They were soooo helpful from the moment we checked in until we left! They made sure we had adjoining rooms and on the same floor as the pool (5th floor) Helped with cheapest parking garage, and told us best way to get places we wanted to go. Big Ben came to our window of our car the minute we got there and let us park our car in the front until we were situated in our room. Then, told us exactly where to go, etc. Then, Kenneth made sure the kids couldn't touch the room mini bars, gave us suggestions, etc. Pool was adorable! Room had great window seat, was clean and comfortable! 3 blocks to a beach, Lake path and Navy Pier.

Room Tip: Pool is on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 290lisae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Lisa E- Great comments!! We were happy to read about your memorable experience at the DoubleTree Chicago. Thank you for personally recognizing Big Ben and Kenneth's hospitality efforts. They are great assets to our team, and don't know what we'd do without them! We are glad you appreciated the adjoining rooms, in-room window seat, and close proximity to the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the 4th weekend. Very nice hotel, room was great with a view of the lake. Can't beat the location. We arrived on Tuesday and left Saturday....never used the car once. Eveything was in walking distance. Very friendly and accomodating staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Jim C- Thank you for the wonderful comments! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel two block from Michigan Ave. Very helpful and friendly staff. We were created by Big Ben, one o the bellman who let us leave the car while we got checked in. Rasheed brought our bags to the room and offered to get a different room because our room smelled like food. We got a great tip on Italian beef sandwiches and I love the cookies! The only reason I didn't give five stars is because the Einstein closes at 2pm and the restaurant closed at 10am. I wanted a hot tea and a snack couldn't get anything.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank kwilk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

kwilk67- We are happy that Big Ben and Rasheed went above and beyond during your check-in process. We apologize if you were unable to get a hot tea and snack after 2pm, but there are many coffee shops and convenience stores surrounding our hotel. Next time, please inquire with our front desk agent or concierge if you need

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

1st let me say that Pablo at the front desk was extremely helpful when I checked in. I had called twice and spoke with 2 difference people before my stay (because I was used to getting different answers everytime I called) to confirm what size bed the sofa bed was in the king room. I was told it was a king size sofa bed - I thought that was odd, but I was told in 2 separate phone calls that they checked the computer and yes, the king room with a sofa bed was also king size. I thought this would be perfect since my teenage niece and nephew were going to have to sleep together on this trip. While checking in, Pablo informs me that this is not the case. He did get us in a 2 queen bed and also made up for the room not being ready until after the 3pm check in time. Now the room was a little dustier than I would have liked, but we lived with it. We were staying 4 nights. I requested foam pillows on the first night and then housekeeping took them away on our 3rd night and I had to request them again. We also didn't get washclothes for 2 of the days - just little things.

The concierge was extremely helpful, however, I would suggest that you add for those that are completely new and have NEVER used the bus EVER, that if you are going to the Lincoln Park Zoo. you need to take the Southbound Bus back to the hotel. All the piece of paper says that you hand out to the guest is that the "same bus #151 will return you to the hotel area" We had no idea that we needed to get on the Southbound bus to get back to Michigan Ave. It would be nice for those that have NO knowledge of the bus system. It would have saved us 2 hours.

Beautiful Pool!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank auntjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

auntjessie- Thank you for recognizing Pablo in your review! He's been working here a long time and never misses a beat with our guests. We apologize if your foam pillows were accidentally taken away and if you were not provided enough wash cloths throughout your stay. Rest assured, we will address this with our housekeeping department. Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback regarding the Lincoln Park Zoo public transportation directions. We will be sure to include this important detail moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £58 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing