We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #114 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location at a good price”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Dewitt for 5 nights just after the Marathon. Check-in very quick and without problems. We had reserved a Queen Studio which comprises of a kitchen, fridge, sofa, widescreen tv.... We didn't use the kitchen as ate out all the time but it looked well equipped. We had a room on the 10th floor (1008) which is situated just below the exhaust fan for the building and so had a constant motor engine throb between 8am and 10pm. We asked to change but they had no availability for that night. They did however change us the following morning to a room on the 8th with a lake view. A great improvement!

The bed was comfortable and as other reviewers have said the bathroom is outdated (in the first studio the bath ceramic was cracked and worn away) but functional.

Staff very friendly and helpful (change of room). Complimentary coffee in the lounge and the location couldn't be better really. Just off Michigan Ave. No maid service but not a problem.

The place is great value for what you get. But don't go expecting a five star, double glazing, big bathroom, sound proof room

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    322
    145
    55
    34
See reviews for
210
316
70
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This place is excellent for an extended stay but it also works for short stays. The room is quiet essential, you get the basics but is is clean and everything works fine. The price is very good compared to any other hotel in the area. You get a kitchen and can save a lot on meals.
Location is perfect, a block away from the lake shore, two blocks away from North Michigan Ave, minutes away from Hancock Tower and Water Tower Mall. There are also nearby bus stations.
This is one of my favorite neighborhoods in Chicago. The buildings are beautiful.
Wifi is very fast.
There is no staff at certain times of night.
I would pay more attention on cleanliness so to be really excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our family of four stayed 3 nights. The location is excellent. It is 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave. It is 2 blocks from Lake Michigan. There is a bus stop (weekdays only) right on the corner. There are other bus stops 2 blocks away.

Do not expect to be pampered here. You get the essentials only. A clean room in a great location. We had some friends who were also staying in Chicago. I thought our room was small until I saw their room at the Holiday Inn Express. The bathroom is small and there is no vanity in the bathroom. There is a pedestal sink, a stool and a bathtub/shower. The room is cleaned before you arrive but there is no daily maid service in the room, which is just fine with me. The decor is a little dated. But we weren't there for the room. We left in the morning and returned in the evening.

They have free coffee in a lounge just outside of the lobby. There are plenty of small tables there where you can sit and talk. There is a large TV in the lobby as well. There is an exercise room, which we did not use because we walked so much during the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for six nights and the location to be very central. The apartment/studio is well fitted with a kitchen which seems to be fully equipped. I did not actually use the kitchen as I was staying alone and ate out. There is a convenience store across from the apartments which makes cooking in the apartment relatively easy. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Check out the convenience store immediately opposite the DeWitt. It does not appear to have a name b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthsideEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed for four nights in a deluxe studio complete with full kitchen on one of the upper levels and it even had a lovely view of Lake Michigan. The apartments are perfectly located just a couple of blocks from The Magnificent Mile, one block from the lake and close to public transport.

All of the staff were very helpful and friendly and it really had everything you could need for accommodation.

My one complaint, which is why I gave it a four instead of a five, was that the previous occupant hadn't washed any of the kitchen items properly and as I cooked a few meals at the apartment I basically had to wash everything before using it. They could do with putting the contents of the kitchen through a commercial dishwasher. That was the only issue though with cleanliness and it wouldn't stop me from recommending this place. Great value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled in the US over the summer for 6 weeks and this place was one of the best places we stayed the whole trip.
We stayed for 3 nights and we didn't want to leave! The room was perfect, big bed, couch, flat screen, dining table and kitchenette. Not that you needed it as Chicago is probably one of the best places i've ever been too! The staff were friendly and helpful.
De Witt place is 2 minutes away from Michigan Ave and State Street. There are bars, restuarants, shops, boutiques, delis EVERYTHING within minutes of the apartments.
The only teeny tiny downside (and I hate writing this) is the bathroom was very small. However as all we wanted to do was get out and explore Chicago it really didn't bother us. Great place, great price, even better location!

Room Tip: If you're a tourist by the Sightseeing Tour bus, great way to see the city and it lasts for 3 da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in August, the location of the hotel is perfect and literally a 2 minute walk to Michigan avenue at the John Hancock centre. The hotel rooms aren't fancy but the room was clean and spacious with a kitchenette which came equipped with a toaster and large fridge. The hotel was quiet at night and we had no issues sleeping any night we were there. This hotel is so much cheaper than other hotels in the area so it is definite good value for your money especially if you plan on being out all day and only coming back to the hotel to sleep and shower. I would definitely stay here again.
The only negative thing about the hotel was the elevators were extremely old and very slow so they require a little patience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holmakerrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#75 of 190 in Chicago
1,540 reviews
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#100 of 190 in Chicago
2,141 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Property: Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against Chicago’s picturesque lakeshore, Dewitt Hotel & Suites is situated in the upscale Gold Coast/Streeterville neighborhood, just east of the John Hancock Center and the iconic Magnificent Mile. With world-class shopping, beaches, and the city's wide array of tourist attractions, there is an endless list of sites to see and places to visit within walking distance. The vintage 1924 building has 82 tastefully decorated residential-style studio and one-bedrooms units, each with its own full kitchen. Offering our short-term, intermediate and long-term guests comfort and convenience, the hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi, an on-site gym, sauna, and private steam shower, as well as guest laundry facilities. With over 90 years of history, Plan·Do·See – America will continue with a new and exciting chapter, including a multi-million-dollar renovation (2018) that will have our local and world-traveling guests raving about their experience in the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing