We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in need of a make-over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #113 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“in need of a make-over”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

At $100 a night I had high expectations of this place but they were not fulfilled. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of linen (as I was the only person using the room) but the bathroom was not just in need of a revamp (the tap was loose, the towerrail fell off every time I picked up a towel!) but it is also far too small, especially as this room is to accommodate two adults!. it was practically impossible to close the door if using the toilet! The decor of the room could also do with a make-over. The black leather sofa, the centre piece of the room, is very old fashioned and has also seen better days. If this was replaced by a nice modern sofa bed and the kitchen cabinets were pained white, the room would look immediately look 10x better. Also for $100 a night I would have expected nicer crockery than Ikea basic white, a water cooker, and more than 1 handtowel. I have stayed at fairfield inn suites before (though not in chicago) and certainly would consider going there next time when I'm in Chicago (two blocks away) rather than using this place again. Also considering that it caters for longer stays, I was expecting a larger gym with more equipment. The positive thing about this place is the staff - very helpful and friendly - and its location (opposite a grocery store, near the main shopping malls) but it is a bit of a walk to the nearest tube station.

Room Tip: probably opt for a room at the corner as then you only hear the tv of one set of neighbours rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roodkapje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    301
    132
    49
    34
See reviews for
188
301
68
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Location is the best attribute here. Three blocks from the Mag Mile, one block from the lake and in the heart of residential living in the Gold Coast neighborhood, this building is a hidden gem. My room was reasonably priced but lacked any great view. Convenient (but pricey) grocery across the street. No desk staff late at night, and sometimes had to walk a block to catch a cab, but the value is great and accommodations are clean and adequate.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank NCMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because we stayed in Chicago for a week & the price was right. I knew it would not be fancy or modern. My priority is CLEAN. I was not disappointed. The room was very clean. It's a very old & quaint building but not bad for less than half what others charge. The walls are thin, plumbing is noisy & the radiator occasionally makes banging noises. The staff was nice. I would recommend as long as you know what you are getting.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Seadiverjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just got back from spending 3 days in Chicago.We did have a little trouble finding it, and were dropped a block away by the cab driver who pointed at a building which he said was our hotel - it was not, but we did locate with a little help from some locals. Well located. We had a Queen Studio, very well equipped, comfortable clean beds. The fridge was quite noisy but as we were not using it we unplugged it at night. We had an apartment on the 2nd floor. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The building is one block from the Lake and near to John Hancock tower and shopping at Water Tower place. We ate at The Cheesecake factory which was nice and close. Also Tempo café for breakfast not too far away on E Chestnut street.

My son used the gym which was small but adequate. There was complimentary coffee served in the lounge. For the money you could not complain. Would recommend the hop on hop off buses as you see so much more of the city and a good way to get around. The closest stop is near the John Hancock observatory. Would also recommend the Millennium park and Sky deck - the Willis tower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bletchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We chose DeWitt Place due to the many good reviews it had. It turned out to be a big mistake.
Our room was soooo dirty. And not just a little or in places that could have been simply overlooked by the cleaning staff. It was really filthy and disgusting. We never used the kitchen, even though that was the reason we booked that hotel, so safe some money. But there was no way to handle food in that dump. We ate out every day. And we are not rich, we usually stay in much cheaper places and are not bothered easily. But this was too much. We have posted some pictures so we will let them speak for us. To top it all, housekeeping didn’t make up our room two out of three nights, even though we had put the sign out. The second time they even turned around the sign, so it looked like didn’t want them to „clean“. Might have worked out, only that we had both made sure, that it was hung out correctly, as housekeeping hadn’t shown up the day before. So we both double-checked and therefore knew… Nice try though.
A couple of other things:
The fire alarm was broken.
Our oven was leaking gas. It was a terrible smell, especially at night. We always had to leave the window open.
The fridge was incredibly loud and the freezing compartment didn’t work right.
The a/c was also much too loud and it was right next to the beds so you had to turn it off whenever you were on the bed.
Generally, it was very loud in the rooms, as the a/c was built into the window and so there was no glas but just some sort of cloth.
Our safe didn’t work.
We were pressured by the hotel staff to do a river cruise by some company they obviously had a deal going with. We didn’t. We took the architectural river cruise by ArchitectureFoundation.org. Eventhough it wasn’t cheap (don’t know how much the other companies take though) it was great and we really enjoyed it.
We booked at least three months in advance. The day we booked the hotel, we figured out, that we would stay another night in chicago and quickly booked one more night at DeWitt Place. Afterwards we wrote them an e-mail to let them know and we asked, if they could arrange for us to have be in the same room for the time of our stay. We never got a response. We figured that it would be no problem. When we got there, we asked again and NO, we had to change rooms.
And the bathroom really does need to be renovated.
As we finally left the hotel for good, we asked the woman at the front desk if she could call us a cab. She said yes. It turned out that she called some cabdriver she knew (again some weird deal). She said it would be a flat fee of $35 of which we had to leave $5 dollars at the hotel as „deposit“.
It took 10 min. until some guy showed up. He smelled really badly and didn’t even help us with our luggage. We got in his POS-cab and all the windows were rolled down and the a/c was off (probably didn’t work) - great for driving on the highway and getting sick. We couldn’t roll the windows up from our seats either. We had to ask him to at least roll up the windows in the back. The other windows had to stay open because of the heat AND the stink!
When we FINALLY got to the airport, he didn’t get out to help us with the luggage, no, he just wanted his money. I got out quickly to get the luggage just to be sure he would not drive off with our suitcases. My boyfriend stayed in the car to pay and guess what price the driver named: $35!
Well, not a surprise by this point. My boyfriend told him no, it was just 30 because of the deposit. He tried to argue but my boyfriend said if there was a problem he would have to settled it with the hotel. After that, my boyfriend just handed him exactly 30 bucks because we’d had enough at that point. Then the driver was like: „What is that, no tip???“ Are you kidding me??? First of all, I would rather walk then get in a cab with you again and then you try to rip us off and you have the guts to ask demand a tip??? Wow! So my boyfriend was like „No, it’s a flat fee.“ and got out.
I have NEVER been happier to get out of a cab. And that was the guy that the hotel called and new by name!!!
Seriously, we DO NOT recommend DeWitt Place. Never ever! We travel a lot all over the world and this was such a bad experience, that it drove us to write our first review to warn you guys.
The ONLY good thing about it was the location. But not worth it!
Chicago is a great place though. We had a very good time and met a lot of nice people. Don’t let DeWitt Place ruin your stay. We definitely cannot understand where all the good reviews are coming from…

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jaja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very well located, efficient appartments at an excellent price, given the location and overall prices in Chicago.
Highly recommended for stays over 3 days in the area
Staff is not present 24/7 so do plan ahead

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Dewitt for 5 nights just after the Marathon. Check-in very quick and without problems. We had reserved a Queen Studio which comprises of a kitchen, fridge, sofa, widescreen tv.... We didn't use the kitchen as ate out all the time but it looked well equipped. We had a room on the 10th floor (1008) which is situated just below the exhaust fan for the building and so had a constant motor engine throb between 8am and 10pm. We asked to change but they had no availability for that night. They did however change us the following morning to a room on the 8th with a lake view. A great improvement!

The bed was comfortable and as other reviewers have said the bathroom is outdated (in the first studio the bath ceramic was cracked and worn away) but functional.

Staff very friendly and helpful (change of room). Complimentary coffee in the lounge and the location couldn't be better really. Just off Michigan Ave. No maid service but not a problem.

The place is great value for what you get. But don't go expecting a five star, double glazing, big bathroom, sound proof room

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#71 of 189 in Chicago
1,503 reviews
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#100 of 189 in Chicago
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Property: Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against Chicago’s picturesque lakeshore, Dewitt Hotel & Suites is situated in the upscale Gold Coast/Streeterville neighborhood, just east of the John Hancock Center and the iconic Magnificent Mile. With world-class shopping, beaches, and the city's wide array of tourist attractions, there is an endless list of sites to see and places to visit within walking distance. The vintage 1924 building has 82 tastefully decorated residential-style studio and one-bedrooms units, each with its own full kitchen. Offering our short-term, intermediate and long-term guests comfort and convenience, the hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi, an on-site gym, sauna, and private steam shower, as well as guest laundry facilities. With over 90 years of history, Plan·Do·See – America will continue with a new and exciting chapter, including a multi-million-dollar renovation (2018) that will have our local and world-traveling guests raving about their experience in the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing