We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My brother and I stayed here for four nights in early April and it was perfect for visiting Chicago. The location of DeWitt is very central, with great access to public transport. We were able to get the CTA from O'Hare to the hotel with no trouble.

The building itself feels a bit dated, but for the price one cannot complain. The room was very spacious with two double beds, a sofa and television, toilet and shower, and a full service kitchen. There was also a reasonably equipped gym and sauna on the ground floor. The free wifi was a bit hit and miss but was fine for checking email. The kitchen was very useful as we were able to cook food in the room using the kitchen, and store things in the fridge. The water from the tap isn't drinkable, however there is a Walgreens just down the street where one can buy bottled water. We also travelled into Chicago late at night to eat, and had no trouble or issues walking back in the evenings.

The staff at DeWitt were very helpful during our stay, and organised a taxi back when we were pushed for time.

Would certainly stay here again upon returning to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    266
    113
    29
    29
See reviews for
142
273
65
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Highly recommend looking for a room at DeWitt Place. Location is perfect - city and beach on either side of you, rooms ok (not great but you don't want to be in your room if in Chicago!) and the staff are friendly.

We booked 2 rooms for the 4 of us and will be looking to see if there are any available next time we are in town. Hotel is off the main streets so not much in terms of noise. There's parking across the street for around $40 a night. Like I said, the rooms are pretty basic so it's ideal for those who just want a bed and a nice area to come back to. If I was searching for a luxurious hotel I would go elsewhere but all in all I'd expect the majority of people who visit would be happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry City, N Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

As all the other reviews correctly state the Dewitt is in an unbelievably central location,some Dewitt rooms have a direct view on to Lake Michigan and it's just round the corner from the famous Drake hotel with rooms starting at five times the price of the Dewitt.
The hotel is just five minutes walk from the famous Michigan Avenue and the Hancock building with its must do Signature Room is at the end of the block. It is also just a few blocks from the Water Tower shopping complex with Macy's as the anchor tenant and the fantastic Foodease self service restaurant with fantastic choice of healthy food at great prices. We ate there twice.
The rooms are very spacious,clean and well equipped but one slight irritation is the noisy fridge whose motor switches on and off all day and night. One solution is to disconnect the fridge at night if you're a light sleeper.
We discovered an excellent supermarket, with great choice of food and wine etc., "The East Delaware Pantry" just round the block and much better than the pricey option facing the entrance to the hotel.
The staff are uniformly brilliant, always super friendly and helpful.
The one problem I had with the hotel and the reason I gave it four instead of five stars is the scary lift/elevator system. First of all it's absolutely tiny, three people with cases is a very tight squeeze. It feels ancient and is really slow, with the door taking for ever to open. But the SCARY bit for us was that the service elevator broke down on the way to the third floor ( and this was when we had returned from the 103 floor Sears tower!) and we were trapped inside this really claustrophobic box of a lift. We pressed the little intercom and got a very vague offer of help. Fortunately another guy in the lift said "Oh this happened to me yesterday", he phoned his friend who knew the combination of ancient buttons to press to get the thing moving again. He repeated the procedure which seemed to involve pressing an emergency button and another number of floor button and by some miracle the thing wheezed into action again.
Needless to say we never used the lift/elevator again and since we were on the third floor the stairs were easy to use. Higher floors would have been a problem!
If you can get over this problem the Dewitt is a fantastic place to stay when visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a great 3 night stay in Chicago. This place is about a 10 minute walk from the Chicago Ave station on the Red Line, and is just beyond the massive John Hancock Tower.

The well equipped apartment had full cooking facilities, sofa, cable TV, free Wi-Fi,

For self catering, there is a small mini-market opposite the hotel reception and a supermarket/drugstore 5 minutes away.

Only two issues were one with housekeeping/maid who made a mistake, which I think was probably a one off, the other thing was the radiator making a racket at 3am as there were loose chunks of metal in the pipes. Despite this... I would still definitely consider staying here again as the price was unbeatable for such a nice room.

As mentioned earlier, this place is a few doors down from the huge John Hancock Center. It's just a few stories shorter that the Sears Roebuck (Willis) Tower, but the admission is half the price, and there is usually no queue, or massive crowds of tourists. Best head up an hour before sunset, get a coffee and watch the sun set over the city, an unforgettable view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here in July 2013 in one of the apartments.

The location of DeWitt place is absolutely sublime, barely a five minute walk from the John Hancock Center and Chicago's excellent public transit. A taxi from Grand Union station costs about $10.

The staff were also excellent, always on hand and happy to help with recommendations for shops and resturants, and very knowledgable of the city. A problem with our air conditioning was fixed immediately and with no bother. The bed was very comfortable, the shower powerful and spacious and there was barely any noise coming up from the street.

If I had to offer a slight negative, we found it hard to find any supermarkets to utilise the kitchenette and the convenience store opposite is an absolute rip-off, although DeWitt obviously can't be expected to control that.

I'd happily recommend DeWitt Place to anyone staying in Chicago, and I have no doubt we will be stopping in again.

Room Tip: Kitchenette has some good facilities, although you may wish to research nearby supermarkets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We booked 4-nights in a studio apartment at DeWitt Place directly via the website. Before our visit we emailed to ask for a room high up with a view of lake based on advice in other TA reviews. Juan Monroig was always swift in answering any queries we had by email.

Due to a delayed flight we eventually arrived at nearly midnight but there was still a member of staff on reception to check us in. Following our request, we were allocated room 1002 on the 10th floor with view of lake and found we had actually been upgraded to 1-bed apartment. This is a big apartment with a kitchenette and lounge area, all very modern. The separate bedroom with a kingsize bed was a good size and off of it was a very small bathroom (slightly dated decoration). There was also free wifi available in the apartment and it was a consistent good speed.

Dewitt Place was built in 1920’s so there are a number of original features but the facilities are not modern. The blind in the bedroom fell off it’s fittings when I was gently pulling it up. The air. con. unit was very loud and noisy although effective and we could still hear some traffic noise from the North Lake Shore Drive even on the 10th floor. If noise is an issue for you, I would suggest asking for an apartment on the other side of building. The apartment itself was clean with plenty of towels and supplies in the cupboards but strangely the wooden flooring was very dirty, I just don’t know why when the rest of apartment was so clean.

The lift is old (looks original) but it works albeit slowly. There is a service lift to the basement where there is a laundry for use by residents - very useful after travelling for a long time. There is also a PC and printer in the laundry, again very useful for printing boarding passes or tour tickets etc. There is a small gym and vending machines on ground floor.

Staff were very helpful on the front desk with booking tickets for tours etc. There is a small shop across road for immediate supplies such as milk and bread but there is a bigger supermarket not far away. We ate out at ‘Food Ease’ most evenings at the Water Tower Place Mall, this is excellent value, good quality and healthy! We took a couple of tours during our visit, both of which we booked when we arrived - an architecture boat trip and the Untouchables Tour, both were good value and fun.

To summarise, DeWitt Place is in an excellent location just a few minutes walk from Lake Michigan, the John Hancock Centre and ‘Miracle Mile’. It is good value for the area although a bit dated in facilities in some areas.

Room Tip: Room 1002 seems to have been redecorated (apart from the bathroom) and is a good size with views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights around Thanksgiving.

The property is in a great location. It is close to the Hancock tower and the shops at Water Tower place.

The property specializes in short and long-term furnished corporate housing, so a lot of amenities of a hotel are missing. For example, the front desk is only open during extended business hours. This makes it difficult to check in or check out in the early morning or late evening. The housekeeping services are also more spartan.

However, the upshot is that the rooms are all equipped with a kitchenette with oven, stove and microwave. There are plenty of pots, pans and utensils for cooking. They have a full sized fridge and freezer.

The building is older. The elevators are small (think 6 people or 3 people with luggage) and relatively slow. The room also had a strong scent of lemon cleaner when we entered and despite hours of window ventilation, the smell persisted over the 5 days. The rooms were clean. The bed was relatively comfortable.

The cost of the stay was about 60% the price of similar hotels in the area, so it was a good value.

Overall, if you are on a budget and just need a place to rest your head, I would consider Dewitt Place. Just don't expect hotel type service or amenities for the price that you are paying.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mudphud08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Property: Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against Chicago’s picturesque lakeshore, Dewitt Hotel & Suites is situated in the upscale Gold Coast/Streeterville neighborhood, just east of the John Hancock Center and the iconic Magnificent Mile. With world-class shopping, beaches, and the city's wide array of tourist attractions, there is an endless list of sites to see and places to visit within walking distance. The vintage 1924 building has 82 tastefully decorated residential-style studio and one-bedrooms units, each with its own full kitchen. Offering our short-term, intermediate and long-term guests comfort and convenience, the hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi, an on-site gym, sauna, and private steam shower, as well as guest laundry facilities. With over 90 years of history, Plan·Do·See – America will continue with a new and exciting chapter, including a multi-million-dollar renovation (2018) that will have our local and world-traveling guests raving about their experience in the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing