We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #124 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 27 June 2014

These rooms are small apartments which are a little tired in places but having the kitchenette & fridge is great. The location is very good for all the sights & is close to the lake. The car parking is a little pricey but you are in a city!! But have a look around if you are prepared to walk you may find it cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxyRowland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

For the very first time my wife and I brought our bicycles to Chicago on the Amtrak train for a long weekend getaway (3 nights). Biking on the Lakefront trail with our own bikes was a key activity for our trip and bike safety and security was a high concern. For our trip, Dewitt Place was the perfect place to stay.

These rooms have great amenities that you don't get in a regular hotel room including a kitchenette and refrigerator. The kitchenette is equipped with basic cookware, tableware and utensils for four. With multiple convenience groceries nearby (including Lake Shore Grocers directly across the street from the entrance) you can save significant money on dining out.

Some of the best Chicago attractions like John Hancock Center and Water Tower Place are only a couple of blocks away. Navy Pier is a short 15 minute walk away along Lake Shore Drive. Bicycle access to the Lakefront trail is easy; just ride south on Dewitt to Pearson, turn left, get off your bike at Lake Shore Drive and walk a block south on the sidewalk to the underpass at Chicago Ave. Walk down the stairs, through the tunnel and up the stairs to access the trail.

The hotel and rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly (the best I've ever encountered in Chicago). We didn't use the fitness center amenities but they looked very nice. Some of the more hidden areas in the room like the cabinets could use a deeper cleaning. The coffee maker in the kitchenette needed an internal cleaning with vinegar; it smelled pretty bad. However, the microwave, stove, sink, dishes, glasses and silverware were clean.

Though the property is well maintained some of the room fixtures are really showing their age. None of these things would prevent me from staying there again; it's just areas where I feel improvements can be made. I felt that the appliances, sinks and counters needed to be replaced in our room. They are aged beyond their useful life and no amount of cleaning is going to make them look or work better. Half of the buttons on the microwave didn't work. The countertops had burn marks and stains that are permanently etched into the surface. The stainless steel sinks are old and the drains are rusting. The stove worked fine but was probably installed in the 80s.

A word of warning: don't flush the toilet or use the bathroom sink if someone is in the shower; the cold water supply to the shower gets cut off.

Attention cyclists: You won't be able to easily get a non-folding bike up the elevator or stairs and into your room. The elevators are very small and the emergency stairs almost qualify as winding staircases. You'd have a very hard time getting a bike up either one. Prepare to store it outside and bring a cover to protect it from rain if desired. We stored our bikes outside but on the premises in an area fenced in by an 8' wooden privacy fence, brick walls and a steel security door that opens from the inside but is locked on the outside. We took our bikes out through the side door and brought them in through the lobby and out the rear door to the fitness room. There is a low-security bike rack which was too low to the ground for us to properly use U-locks with our bikes so we locked our front wheels and frame to the rack with cable locks and the rear wheels to the frames with U-locks. We would never use such a rack or lock configuration on a public street but I wasn't really overly concerned about it in this secured area. Some bikes were even stored there without being locked to the rack for longer than 3 days and nothing happened to them while we were there. The rack is situated atop a steel grille above some heavy duty A/C and electrical equipment; be careful not to drop anything down there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ductbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My family and I recently spent four nights at DeWitt Place. I found DeWitt Place here on tripadvisor and couldn't be happier with our stay and their service. The room was perfect for the three of us. We had two double beds that were very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but it is an older building. Everything was clean and fresh. I could not believe how quiet it was. We did not hear anything. We arrived a little early and they took our luggage for us and off we went to get lunch. When we returned about an hour later, our room was ready. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. We will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at Dewitt Place. I found Dewitt place online and it got such great reviews and was in a terrific location that I thought we would give it a try. I was a little nervous about how it would be because the price was so low! I am so glad we stayed. The room was clean, a good size and has everything you need. It's not fancy, so if that's what your looking for then don't pick this place. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. I love the fact that it has laminate flooring, not carpet. It has a window unit, which blocks out all the noise, but keeps the room very cool. The housekeeping staff does a great job and if you call for clean towels they bring them right up to you. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For good, honest value and convenience you couldn't do better than here. Quiet room, comfortable bed, awesome central location, great value and safe neighbourhood. Loved to walk around the area which has so much to offer. Nothing fancy, but they don't try to be something they are not, so you only have yourself to blame if you are not happy. This was my first trip to Chicago, and I will certainly return - when I do I will absolutely be staying here, no questions asked!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location, just off Michigan Ave. Boutique hotel, nice studio room with kitchen. Do not expect bell boys or a big reception desk. The only downside is that there are no ac in the rooms, during my stay it was nice and cool outside so no problem.The bathroom needs work, its outdated and to use the toilet is was an experience on its own. Other than that GREAT.

Room Tip: Ask if the ac units are install and working, if you on summer months. Rooms to the street have nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOZUMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There's a lot to recommend about DeWitt Place: good location, well-designed small apartments, quiet street. But I was traveling with my daughter and we needed the sofa bed, advertised as a second bed. It was AWFUL! It's a folding vinyl thing that didn't even open flat. It was impossible to sleep in the middle of it--a deep ditch with a metal bar--and the two sides were each about 22" wide, sloped to the side, and graced with another metal cross-bar cutting into your ribs. THIS IS NOT A SOFA BED; IT IS AN INSTRUMENT OF TORTURE. Sleeping on the floor would have been far more comfortable, but there was not even one extra blanket to spread on the floor.
Also: This was Memorial Day weekend, over 85 degrees, crowded beaches--and NO AIR CONDITIONER OR WINDOW FANS! There were other smaller flaws--no ventilation of any kind in the bathroom (is this legal?); no plug for the bathtub; no one at the front desk before 8 AM. But I could have forgiven it all if not for The Rack, a.k.a. sofa bed. (We DID indicate in a note in our reservation that we needed this bed! Also, it was not made up for us--we just found some sheets stuffed on a closet shelf. Luckily it was too hot to need blankets, as there were none.)

Room Tip: Sofa bed is NOT fit for human use!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#75 of 192 in Chicago
1,126 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#79 of 192 in Chicago
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#106 of 192 in Chicago
2,213 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#145 of 192 in Chicago
1,892 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £55 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against Chicago’s picturesque lakeshore, Dewitt Hotel & Suites is situated in the upscale Gold Coast/Streeterville neighborhood, just east of the John Hancock Center and the iconic Magnificent Mile. With world-class shopping, beaches, and the city's wide array of tourist attractions, there is an endless list of sites to see and places to visit within walking distance. The vintage 1924 building has 82 tastefully decorated residential-style studio and one-bedrooms units, each with its own full kitchen. Offering our short-term, intermediate and long-term guests comfort and convenience, the hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi, an on-site gym, sauna, and private steam shower, as well as guest laundry facilities. With over 90 years of history, Plan·Do·See – America will continue with a new and exciting chapter, including a multi-million-dollar renovation (2018) that will have our local and world-traveling guests raving about their experience in the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing