We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring room - unique experience”
Review of Wind Tales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wind Tales
Ranked #1 of 1 Ano Siros B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
“Inspiring room - unique experience”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were definitely overwhelmed by Wind Tales and look forward to going there again. We stayed at "the Rock" room for 5 nights - comfortable bed, very clean bathroom, decoration of good aesthetic. The breakfast was of local products/ingredients and of high quality. The patio is great for having a drink while enjoying the breathtaking view in the evening, after a long day at the beach. The cosy restaurants of Ano Syros are walking distance, which is super convenient. Alexis, the owner, was taking great care of us, offered us local wine and limoncello, putting chill-out music in the patio, if we wanted to, and gave us great tips about beaches and nightlife. Deppy, the girl who works there, always smiley, made us feel very welcome. We already miss our stay and cannot wait to the next one!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If one could dream up the most perfect vacation, Wind Tales Guest House would be in it.
Quite simply the best place we've ever stayed.Not only a lovely place to stay in Syros, but a very memorable one.
A breath-taking view and an outstanding service.
PS : you ought to taste the cocktails

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

One of the best vacation experience of our lives! We were there for our honeymoon and stayed at the room "the Rock" for 4 nights. The room was very clean and organized, very nicely decorated with local artifacts, quite and relaxing. The bed was extremely confortable. The room service lady was a perfectionist in cleaning each day.
Alexis, the owner, welcomed us down at the port when we arrived and helped us get a rental car. He was very inviting and friendly and we felt like we knew him for years on the first day we met him. He recommended us many places for swimming, eating, and where to go in the city for all different things we needed to do. Every morning we were served a delightful breakfast on the porch overlooking the sea. The breakfast included local things from Alexi's family such as marmelades, fresh fruits, and juices all prepared at that instant. The lady who served us each day was extremely friendly and personable and gave us advice on several things to do on the island.
We felt that Windtales is unique and makes you feel at home. A perfect example of Greek hospitality and an exemplary hotel. We certainly recommend it to other couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

wind tales is the other option.is for those who seek adventure and somethink different.if u usually visit 5 star resorts and you need everything in your hand try something else.here u must carry your lugage,walk etch.......but the view the stylish dorns inside the rock and the family atmosphare is awarding for 90% of people........your choise

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimitriskifisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A unique place in Ano Syros, decorated in a traditional way, making you feel truly like a inhabitant of the Cyclades in the old times. Rooms and decoration make you forget in a couple of days all your worries back home! Hospitality and staff friendliness make you feel better than home.
Highlight: The breakfast. All healthy and hand made!
Must try!
Be prepared to walk a few stairs through the medieval city of Ano Syros from the place you leave your car or motorbike.

Room Tip: The one with the rock inside keeps cool even on very hot days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I had the great fortune of finding Wind Tales, at the end of our week long sailing charter in the Cyclades. We took a ferry over to Syros for 2 nights at Alex's hotel.

We were met by 2 of his friends who were waiting for us at the ferry, they were warm and welcoming and after car transport, walked us up the winding streets to WindTales, which sits pirched on the top of Ano Syros and is reached only by small walking streets. The rooms are built into the rock of the mountain, are stunningly beautiful and naturally designed for a cool breeze and a lovely view of the sunrise on your personal veranda overlooking the port. The staff was more than gracious, friendly, and kind, even delivering us to the airport in time for our flight back to Athens.

The room, veranda, shower and common space were emaculate and beautiful with thoughtful touches for our comfort. The breakfast was by far the best bed and breakfast fare I have had, including homemade grape juice from their vinyard, tomato juice from their garden and figs from their trees. We also sipped wine from their vinyard on our veranda as we unwound from the day.
We did take full advantage of Alex's other business, his windsurfing camp, with excellent equipment and very economical rates on a little hideaway of a beach.

We couldn't think of a better way to end a trip to Greece, and have decided that Wind Tales will be the first reservation we make if we every get back here, and plane tickets will be the second reservation.

Thank you to all the support staff and ownership of this very well maintained, toughtful and one of a kind lodging.

Mary and Andy

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We chose Wind Tales because of its location in Ano Siros (old Hermoupolis) high above the "new" town, and this has a superb terrace with magnificent views over the town and islands. It also has a room dug out of the rock - the back wall is all rock as is the absolutely unique shower.
We never met the owner although talked to him by text and phone. He gives the impression of being a rather "cool dude" - and runs a windsurfing school - hence the hotel name.
The website is far too "cool" for its own good, and tells you virtually nothing. There are no directions to find the hotel - impossible without a guide or asking locals.
Anyway, we loved the room (one of just 3), and the terrace where we had breakfast - excellent - and sunbathed read and snoozed for hours with the magnificent views whenever you looked up.
The room with a terrace of its own might be as good - if less distinctive a choice.
However, despite the sign saying water is rare, please minimise its use, the toilet flushes without ceasing unless you manually stop it, the bed is a cheap futon (and much better should be provided for these prices), and the shower, despite its unique rock back wall and marble bath, is cheap and nasty - again, not good enough at these prices.
All the same, we'd recommend it, especially if the owner managed the place attentively, and if only to stay in unforgettable Ano Siros.
Taverna Lilis has equally fine views and pretty good food just 100 mterres down the hill..

Room Tip: Choose the rock room or the room with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ano Siros
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ethrion
Hotel Ethrion
#2 of 14 in Hermoupolis
148 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 4 in Galissas
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Remvi Hotel and Apartments
0.6 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
150 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Harmony Hotel
Blue Harmony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kini
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Tales

Property: Wind Tales
Address: 4 Agiou Aloisiou, Ano Siros 841 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Ano Siros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ano Siros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind Tales is situated in the Medieval part of Ano Syros, overlooking the Aegean Sea and Ermoupolis Port. The green hotel offers traditional accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wind Tales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing