We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and unique but desperately needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parsoli
Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unique but desperately needs updating”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Lake Nahargarh hotel address is Parsoli, near Chitorgarh - make sure your driver knows where he/she is going. The bottom line is don't go to this hotel until it has been updated or at the very least go with your eyes open.

All of the reviews are accurate from the 1* through to the 5*. In it's day it must have been truly 5* and amazing but it is now in need of a major re-furbishment. My wife and I were the only guests when we had an overnight stop on the way to Udaipur - this made the feel of the hotel very different if it had been full. It is definitely not for children or teenagers, only sightseeing tourists.

It would be easy to say don't go there but it has many endearing and unique features. The hotel lies in the middle of a lake at the end of a narrow, rutted dirt track through very poor houses and farm buildings. It appears as if the design of the hotel could be based on the Floating Palace in Jaipur - but I'm not sure.

On the plus side, the hotel gets the sun all day, the lake and gardens are very pretty and in November the temperatures are lovely. The staff are friendly and attentive but probably come from the local village with very little English but we always managed to be understood.

Our bedroom was huge and perfectly comfortable and the pigeons were quiet once the sun went down. There was no hot water during the evening but we don't know if this is normal or just because we were one nighters but it felt like they had just switched on the electricity for us. The bath is of a unique construction and you may scratch your skin on the lumpy mosaic tiles, they need to put in a standard porcelain bath.

The Indian food was good (goodness knows what you would get if you asked for Chinese, also on the menu) but we were restricted to one beer each due to the elections (it turns out no Indian beer or wine is served during the elections although subsequently we were told by Indian friends this was not right). The young staff are attentive but the downside is that we had 3 of them staring at us at dinner and breakfast, watching every mouthful, waiting to serve and clear at a moments notice. Nice to be quiet and on your own but the waiters need to learn to give guests some space.

In India, pigeons are meant to be lucky but in this hotel it means there are pigeon droppings on the windows and outside walls. The staff do try to keep the inside areas relatively clean, these days painting the Forth Bridge is easier. The pool was scummy and the mosaic tiles were breaking off - I wouldn't swim in the pool. Luckily, on the pool terrace there were only the 2 of us as there were only 3 sun beds . Perhaps more beds appear when the coach parties arrive.

Sadly, 1 out of 10 but the hotel does have some magical qualities, it's setting and the unique architecture.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juSTaTheResidence, General Manager at Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking out your precious time to share your feedback. It is
indeed important for us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have had to
experience during your stay in our resort. We have investigated on the areas of
concern highlighted by you and noted down the feedback provided.
Guest Service & Staff Attitude – There has been a serious lapse on our part. We
have intensified the training sessions to all our staff members in every department
to improve efficiency levels with responsible communication, behavior and
demonstrating extreme care, promptness and sensitivity while interacting with all
guests. I would like to assure you that this is not our standard practice and we
value every guest need and feedback as important.

Food Quality – This is another area where we are working to bring about positive
changes. We yet again apologize and assure you that this mistake will not recur.

We have shared your feedback with all our staff members and we once again
thank you for your feedback. I would like to take this opportunity to assure you
that your feedback is treated with high importance and it is our foremost priority
to ensure that every feedback is actioned and looked upon as an opportunity to
go the extra mile to ensure a great experience for all our guests.

We once again thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to having
the opportunity to be able to host you again at our hotels in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

U.B. Srivastava
Head - Rajasthan
jüSTa Hotels & Resorts
ubsrivastava@justahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    73
    29
    14
    8
See reviews for
78
49
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at Lake Nahargarh on 15 & 16 Nov 2013. Its a lovely property surrounded by a Lake & has a lovely lawn & garden in the courtyard.There are lots of artifacts & paintings around the corridors.Its a quiet & serene place.Its not to be missed if you are visiting that side of the country. Its on Chittorgarh Kota Highway,one km ahead of Parsoli village.It can be difficult to locate after sunset & its best to reach by evening.From Udaipur its a 2.5 hr drive.The road is very good.
We received a very warm welcome from Saurabh & his staff. Saurabh took us around the property & spoke to us about the place & the area around in general.
The food too was excellent & I had absolutely no problem in getting room service. Infact both the days we had dinner in our room which was served promptly. When I enquired for early morning tea , they arranged an electric kettle etc so I could have tea whenever I wished
Overall it was an amazing experience.A great place to relax & unwind.
My special thanks to Saurabh & his team.

Room Tip: Before booking please enquire if they has a group booking or a party in the courtyard lawns since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashishkhadilkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juSTaTheResidence, General Manager at Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

My team joins me in thanking you for your gracious comments about our resort, service and the product. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you liked our resort, its location, the food quality and the service provided by our staff members.

We have shared your feedback with our team especially with Mr. Saurabh, who are extremely glad to be given the opportunity to serve you during your visit to Chittorgarh. Your appreciation of our hotel and service is indeed heart-warming. It is truly heartening to have our efforts recognized by you in such a manner.

It is our constant endeavor to provide highest quality of service to every guest and to make them leave like ambassador. We look forward for the delight of welcoming you and your family in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

U.B. Srivastava
Head - Rajasthan
jüSTa Hotels & Resorts
ubsrivastava@justahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Well , i agree that this place is in one of the most remote places from the busy towns of Rajasthan, it is tucked away into the most common rural scene is this beautiful property set amidst a man made lake.A former royal house with its own coat of arms , its own stable now converted into hotel is an ideal stake out for honeymooners for a couple of days while covering the Udaipur , Chittorgarh and jaipur belt.

A good 40-50 KMS away from the town of Chittorgarh this place is set in backdrop of hills and lush greenery around it with a dirt road leading to this super property.Since we were planning on a budget trip this place fit in and with the Justa branding we booked it right away with out thinking twice and enjoyed our stay but with a few minor hitches.

I would like to point out a couple of things here for the benefit of future travelers , which i am sure would help Justa improve the experience of the other travelers.
Of all the of things 1.the staff are poorly trained and their reciprocation in English is really bad every time i had to manage to make them understand in broken Hindi that i knew.

1.It is completely understandable that there are no activities here and as the website says they did have horse riding over a very small trail and that too for a very small time .Something could be done with respect to that , they could have at the least some friendly horses & a guide who can could understand what we speak in English.Every time i choose to ride a horse she wanted to go back to the stable and rode for only half hour though i informed the front desk that i wanted to ride for 2 hours as they said that was only possible.They bought the same horse twice.

2.I have no complains about the food as i enjoyed it but thought it was priced a little high considering the fact that this was a budget luxury hotel.Though i got a good package while taking the reservation from Justa team directly.

3.Before handing the room it is expected from the hotel to check the room for necessary toiletries, I had a hard time trying to reach the skeletal front office staff over the room phone and trying to get them give it to us .I had to walk down each time to the front office to tell them.

If only the staff are a little more responsive and are well trained, this could turn out to be an amazing experience staying at this property.

Must try on the Menu :- Laal Maas

Also if you would like to have a couple of drinks i recommend that you take your own drink as they have a limited bar menu and it is very expensive.

Room Tip: Every room is lake facing and there is not much of a view expect if you can get to the terrace over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeshwanth_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juSTaTheResidence, General Manager at Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking out time to share your thoughts about our resort.

Your feedback has been noted and discussed with concerned personnel to action.
Staff Attitude – This point highlighted by you is very important. There has been a serious lapse on our part. We have intensified the training sessions to all our staff members in every department

I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that your feedback is treated with high importance and it is our foremost priority to ensure that every feedback is actioned and looked upon as an opportunity to go the extra mile to ensure a great experience for all our guests.

We do look forward to having the opportunity to be able to host you again and On behalf of the team at jüSTa, We assure you that we will definitely work on our standards.

Yours Sincerely,

U.B. Srivastava
Head - Rajasthan
jüSTa Hotels & Resorts
ubsrivastava@justahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Lovely property but service is a huge concern…
Key observations:
- Amazing location
- Beautifully done building – new building with an old world flavor!
- The reception is amazing – and imposing – it really makes you feel that you are entering an old world space
- The hotel is well maintained
- Some of the best experiences:
o Parking the car and taking a speed boat to the hotel reception! Amazing feeling…
o When in the room – one could still feel the water moving and hear small waves hitting the walls of the hotel
o Waking up in the morning and seeing the water as one peers out of one’s room
o The swimming pool almost seemingly merging with the lake
o The sunset near the pool and watching the pool water change colors along with the lake
o The color lights used inside the pool in the evening
- But the only problem is with the people they employ and whom they employ without training…
- Some of the other experiences:
o I asked for water and refill of my tea/coffee supply… in our suite and it took me four iterations and the last one saw the man banging the water flask and walking out!
o During breakfast – the service is particularly bad. I asked one of the guys there to serve us coffee. He showed me a pot of coffee powder lying on the buffet table and asked me to take it in a cup and take milk lying there next to the cornflakes! I was surprised and did as he asked… the piece-de-resistance was that what I had a cup of milk with coffee powder in it… that was actually Bournita (a drink for kids!)! Too many thinks went wrong…
o Food is not children friendly. We stayed for three nights. All three nights we were forced to have very spicy and oily food that is not good for children and generally not good food. And we gave feedback on each day that they should reduce the spices… but none of that was implemented.
o As all clients who visit this hotel come using their own vehicle… and the approach to the hotel from the highway is a dirt road (a 3Km village road with no gravel or tar), it was expected that the hotel will ensure the cars are washed and cleaned – no… there is no such service available. This is when you ask for it and it is denied after they confirm that they will do it (on payment)!
o The weekend crowd is very different and causes poor service. We stayed on subsequently on a Monday and found the service improve… but still no reason to give poor service during the weekend. Conclusion – they can’t handle volumes… training issue again.
o Once, we were leaving and it was pouring in the morning. There were no umbrellas to help us out… and the speedboats are not covered… so we waited till the rains stopped… (wasted almost an hour and a half).
o The checkout was also memorable as I was almost charged the entire amount again – though I had paid for the entire stay… so beware and careful about advance paid. Their systems are not too good.

Room Tip: 1. Careful how you pronounce the name Parsoli – I was corrected twice by the locals when I was askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juSTaTheResidence, General Manager at Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking out your precious time to share your feedback. It is indeed important for us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have had to experience during your stay in our resort. We have investigated on the areas of concern highlighted by you and noted down the feedback provided.
Guest Service & Staff Attitude – There has been a serious lapse on our part. We have intensified the training sessions to all our staff members in every department to improve efficiency levels with responsible communication, behavior and demonstrating extreme care, promptness and sensitivity while interacting with all guests. I would like to assure you that this is not our standard practice and we value every guest need and feedback as important.

Food Quality – This is another area where we are working to bring about positive changes. We yet again apologize and assure you that this mistake will not recur.

We have shared your feedback with all our staff members and we once again thank you for your feedback. I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that your feedback is treated with high importance and it is our foremost priority to ensure that every feedback is actioned and looked upon as an opportunity to go the extra mile to ensure a great experience for all our guests.

We once again thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to having the opportunity to be able to host you again at our hotels in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

U.B. Srivastava
Head - Rajasthan
jüSTa Hotels & Resorts
ubsrivastava@justahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehsana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Good location lake palace hotel, but not maintained to the expectations...
Services are so bad in all aspects... No room service is available... Which is not mentioned in website and they put big board there NO ROOM SERVICE NO ALCARTE MENU... If you want even a cup of tea than you will get that on there assign time and pre-decided place not at your wish in terms of time or place even.

It's Zero in hospitality...

We got up early to checkout early to reach Nathdhwara in time we asked for a bed tea at 6:45am even we had to request for the same for getting tea to reach in time and than all the way to reach home (Gujarat), sorry to say but person on duty said no and asked us to come at 7:30am... This was something ridiculous when we say HOSPITALITY ... ...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandipMehsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were told good and bad things about this place so we decided to take the risk and we booked ourselves for two nights.
Positives: Clean linens. Tolerable food, Hardly any mobile connectivity (if you consider it a plus), No vehicle noise.
Negatives: Hardly any staff on the property to serve your needs. Very poorly maintained property. Absolutely NOTHING to do for kids under 12 years of age. Nothing to do for adults either unless you want to sit somewhere and just read a book. Dirtiest swimming pool I have ever seen. You have to inform the front desk half an hour in advance for hot water post 10 am. I can go on and on but the bottom line is... this property is worth no more than Rs.2,000 per night with all meals inclusive and not even a single rupee more.
I wouldn't go back to this property even if someone is paying me to do so.

Room Tip: Sweets are worst than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desi_Tadkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Only the location of the hotel is excellent in the middle of a lake. Other things are just average. The staff is not courteous. Food is bad. However, it was a value for money trip as we got a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virendra_Pandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parsoli
10.0 mi away
Fort Begu
Fort Begu
#1 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
19.2 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Ranbanka Heritage Resort
Ranbanka Heritage Resort
#1 of 4 in Bhilwara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Meera
Hotel Meera
#6 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort

Property: Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
Address: | Distt. Chittorgarh, Parsoli, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Parsoli
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parsoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing