We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Went here to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday. Everything was wonderful lovely room amazingly comfortable beds and a nice touch a small fridge in the room. We had the afternoon tea which was really nice. Had a 5 course dinner in the evening, the food was excellent as was the service, my husband was treated to a rendition of Happy Birthday and given a lovely piece of chocolate cake. So impressed we have already booked for my 70th next April. All this just 45mins from home. The grounds are pretty amazing also especially as we were lucky with the weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisCudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Went here today for lunch with my husband and toddler. I have been here several times before and I had my wedding reception in their sister property Lough Rynn. We sat down in the drawing room and a gentleman came over to take our order. Myself and my husband ordered our food and I asked for a small bowl of pasta with a tomato based sauce for my son. I was told that he wasn't sure if he could do that and would I not order a baby bowl instead! I told him that I would like to order pasta as my son is not too fond of baby bowls. He said he would check with the chef. How big of a deal is it to make a small bowl of pasta for a toddler???? We ate our food which was fairly average nothing to write home about. I went to pay the bill at the bar with the same gentleman. He did not present me with a bill but just took my laser card from me and disappeared into a back room with my card and the machine. You NEVER take a customers card away from their view. I was just about to say something to him when he accidentally spilled a drink over a customers suit that was attending a funeral party at the hotel. He barely apologised and handed the gentleman a napkin to clean his suit but no major apology was offered. I was not asked if I enjoyed my meal or thanked for my custom. I was in hotel management for nearly 20 years and I have never seen such unprofessionalism in a property of this caliber. We had looked at this hotel as our wedding venue but chose their sister property because we had a similar experience here before. Shame!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ros1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Visited with parents & son (Mother from Leitrim) for afternoon tea. Best thing we did on our trip to Eire. Fantastic atmosphere & décor in 'drawing room'. The Light Afternoon Tea was superb, tea perfect. Very happy & relaxed & would recommend this. Fantastic treat after walking round the building & gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julesd0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I have been to Kilronan serveral times now and I absolutely love this place. This hotel is peaceful and relaxing. The food is great and plenty of options to choose from, however can be a little expensive so I usually opt for the bar food rather than full on restaurant experience. The spa is the nicest I have been too, the pool and thermal suite are to die for!! My only criticism is that on the several occasions that I have booked spa treatments there have been bookings that they did not have recorded, times of treatments taken wrong and on one occasion they did not have a trained staff memeber on duty to carry out a treatment that was booked over a month in advance. But when you get through all the administation issues the experience is fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Arriving here stressed out wasn't a great start but after walking around the lake and eating afternoon tea I soon destressed considerably. Upon reaching the spa I felt in heaven. One thing, the pools here were very cold, so much so my partner or myself couldn't stay long. Amazing steam room and sauna. Pool was lovely too, although they should push to stop people using cameras in it. It was on the wall but that didn't seem to work and I wasn't happy about that at all.
So they're the two slight negatives, the cameras isn't their fault but they should stop people.
The food is wonderful and I found the waiter very knowledgeable and friendly.
On our second day staying we returned to the spa and I asked a few questions about their products and was given samples. This is the kind of service that gets people coming back, the ladies in the spa really know what they're doing. Rooms were spotless and very comfy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galwayladyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I have just had the most amazing experience at Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa from the genuinely warm & friendly welcome of Sinead, to the beautiful complimentary treats in our amazing suite which had stunning views of the lake and landscape. The spa was outstanding with the best steam room I've seen. The staff in the bar and restaurant were excellent especially Sandy. We thouroughly enjojed our meal and the following morning the chef kindly cooked fresh pancakes at our request. We had such a special time and really appreciated the 5 star treatment from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. We will definately be back. Thanks so much to all the staff at Kilronan Castle for making our experience so special.

Room Tip: Room 117 is gorgeous with superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here with my wife on a castle hotel tour of Ireland. Our room was beautiful and very well appointed, and the food and service were both excellent. A bit of a ways off of the N4 motorway, but not difficult to find at all. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimRMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyfarnon
5.5 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
889 reviews
13.9 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,267 reviews
6.9 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#3 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
525 reviews
20.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
9.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa

Address: Ballyfarnon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Ballyfarnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ballyfarnon
Price Range: £126 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan Castle is one of Ireland’s most luxurious Castle Hotels in Roscommon Ireland, Kilronan Castle Ireland is the ancestral home of the Tennison family and the legendary Colonel King Tennison. It is one of a few Irish castle estates that can trace its history back to royal families. This secluded, luxury, Roscommon Castle hotel is majestically set on the shores of Lough Meelagh, surrounded by over forty acres of breathtaking Irish scenery, lush green pastures, ancient forests and historical points of interest. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent Roscommon lawns, the luxury Castle hotel overlooks a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. Our World Class Spa & Leisure Centre is now open. Relax and unwind in our Pool or let us pamper you with one of our luxurious treatments. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of luxury, comfort and service. You will enjoy old world elegance with modern day comforts. One step inside Kilronan Castle, Roscommon and you are at home. With our warm and friendly atmosphere we will see to your every need, everything has been designed with your desires in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Castle Hotel Roscommon
Kilronan Castle Hotel And Spa
Kilronan Castle Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing