We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bush Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrick Plaza Suites by theKeyCollection(Carrick-on-Shannon)(Great Value!)
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Castle Dargan(Ballygawley)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Landmark Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Temple House(Ballymote)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
989
282
114
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
282
114
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomafternoon tealough rynnsorbetout of this worlddining roomgrounds are beautifultop classtreated like royaltythermal suitea real treatwedding partyspecial occasionchanging roomsstaff were excellentnight breakwedding reception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,010 - 1,015 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just back from 2 wonderful days in Kilronan Castle, from the lovely drive up to the castle through the grounds and then our first sight of the castle it was amazing. We had a beautiful room with a large bed, and everything was so clean, the shower and bath was excellent and there was no shortage of lovely fluffy white towels and there was blue led lights underneath the bathroom press, really nice effect. The food was very good, both in the bar and the dining room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We went for a swim in the pool which had unusual lighting throughout which was very relaxing. Breakfast was self-service but if you had a special request there was no problem for the waitress to get it. If the weather is good there is some nice walks around the lake and grounds and then back to the hotel for afternoon tea or a drink.
Would highly recommend this hotel and will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millie036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I visited Kilronan in the mid-1990s as part of research I was doing for a book I was writing at that time. It was then a total ruin only accessible with great difficulty. It was a tragedy to see it in such a terrible state.

I revisited Kilronan as a guest at the King family Gathering in May. I had mixed feelings about the place when I saw it.The new mock entrance gateway was a put-off. The hotel development obviously needs more money to bring it to the standard that a hotel of this nature ought to attain. Some of the restoration work appeared to be excellent, but the extension lacked taste and could have been better if it had been undertaken in a high quality modern architectural style. This contrast between new and old often works, but mock-old tacked onto the real thing rarely works and it doesn't work at Kilronan.

The dinner served that evening at the 'banquet' was OK, but nothing to get excited about.

Maybe my expectations of Kilronan were too high, but I had heard good things and looked forward to a brilliant evening. It fell short of my expectations. But it would be unfair of me not to remark that seeing Kilronan re-roofed rather than roofless is a joy. Back in 1996, I despaired of it ever being brought back to life. It is back to life and long may that remain so.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powerpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

beautiful castle set in the peaceful countryside, afternoon tea was delicious with a variety of accompaniments and staff were very attentive and brought a vegetarian option when requested. Our bedroom was perfect and bed was very comfortable, bathroom with shower and bath and blue led lights, very pretty! Dinner was fabulous, bar staff make yummy cocktails! breakfast was also tasty hot food made to order, friendly waitress! I had a quick swim in the pool so clean, definitely recommend this hotel if you are considering a break, we were 7 happy, relaxed ladies, we might bring the boys next time! can't wait til then!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitiebee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed in middle of week in this beautiful hotel.And got exactly what i wanted,relax and peace.
Tried a Spa as well and one facial.They work with Elemis cosmetic and my cosmetologist Sarah had a wonderful hands. Food in restaurant in dinner was very good,only bar finished at 22:00,but anyway this hotel is very very good,maybe more suitable for older people, couples,because it is very quiet. It is near lake,if weather is nice you can take a long walk around.Rooms are nice with,big Tv ,coffee maker,small fridge inside. Would recommend this hotel absolutely.

Room Tip: better to stay in Castle not in a new building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingvija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were lucky enough to have stayed there early September, what a beautiful place. We has a slight problem because we booked on line and it wasn't recognised when we got there however the reception staff were fab and had it sorted out in no time. The room we had was a standard room, there was nothing standard about it it was amazing. Would love to go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksterM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews