We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
midlands, ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Night away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very special place. Couldn't fault location, food, spa, room and the overall experience in this lovely castle, not forgetting the friendly and helpful staff only complaint being our stay too short, this is an ideal place for a ladies break as well as couples

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loismidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    254
    100
    56
    40
See reviews for
254
732
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I did a 8 night trip where we stayed at 4 different Castle Hotels. Kilronan by far was the best and most beautiful we stayed in. We loved our room, the bet was amazing (best one the whole trip), and the grounds were just beautiful. I would totally recommend Kilronan. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueduck3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Kilronan Castle itself is an excellent hotel, absolutely too class. The winner however is the grounds, lake and surrounding area. With two very young kids, it was a great place to stay and explore the beauty of Ireland. I would definitely recommend it our friends. Loved it!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast NIreland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed overnight in Kilronan Castle on a special deal. The surroundings are truly magnificent with the hotel overlooking a beautiful, tranquil lake and public areas furnished appropriately for a castle. Our room was overlooking the lake and had an extremely comfortable bed and fabulous bathroom with walk in shower and bath.
We had afternoon tea in the splendid drawing room and an excellent dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast was cooked to order and there was a wide choice. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We were lucky with the weather and had a leisurely stroll around the lake before dinner.
Kilronan is definitely in my top ten hotels in Ireland. We didn't get to the spa but it looked wonderful.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms in the castle give you a chance to relax in beautiful surroundings and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Got a deal to stay at Kilronan Castle and it certainly lived up to its good name, the castle stands very imposing on beautiful grounds beside a lake. Our room was large and fabulous we asked for a twin and got 2 large double beds in an enormous room with a great big bathroom (fab for us ladies). Dinner in the restaurant was a little expensive about €30.00 for a main course so we decided to eat in the bar its called the drawing room. The menu was limited but everything we had was absolutely delicious especially the steak €20.00 and the warm goats cheese tart yum! There was a good wine selection. The decor is all very stately and castle like with dark wooden panels and beautiful artwork. The leisure center was good although the water in the Jacuzzi was slightly cool!. We used the spa as well and this was great. Above all the staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. We went for some great walks in the grounds all clearly marked out. The only very minor criticism that we would have was that there was no water in the rooms (even a bottle of tap water would of been great) or no biscuits with the tea and coffee facilities other that that we would highly recommend Kilronan Castle and we will most definitely be back.!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starchildDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just back from a weekend at this hotel where we really enjoyed our time there. The rooms were beautiful , very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was great, good showers and good ventilation. Dinner was a great experience, it was excellent! The breakfast was beautiful, really relaxed and in lovely surroundings. Would definitely go back there. Nice bar too
The Spa. Booked a manicure and pedicure. This was done in a room in a busy hallway leading to the leisure centre. as it was glass we could be seen by all. I was not impressed at all with the manicure and pedicure I would even say that it was one of the worst I have ever had. On top of that we were charged €15 to go into the thermal suite after paying €90 for the manicure and pedicure. The thermal suite was lovely and it was in these treatment rooms I would have expected to have had my treatments. If I return I will not be booking treatments . Overall the hotel and the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Look for one away from where they recycle the bottles, wedding on Saturday and during the night they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and visited this lovely old world hotel back in the depth of winter and it was a super weekend stay awY from it all. Based in the Heart of the country you are able to totally chill away from it all.
The reception is a beautiful grand old room that makes you feel like you have arrived at somewhere important yet very relaxed.
The rooms were simply decorated and suited the overall look and feel of the hotel and a king size bed that was a dream to sleep in.
We ate in the main restaurant one of the nights and we have to say that it was a treat sitting in the old room been waited on hand and foot, super service and food to match.
If your looking for an old world treat visit this old castle in the middle of the country.
Well done all the staff keep it up. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bond107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyfarnon
5.5 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
13.9 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
6.9 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
18.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa

Property: Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Address: Ballyfarnon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Ballyfarnon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ballyfarnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan Castle is one of Ireland’s most luxurious Castle Hotels in Roscommon Ireland, Kilronan Castle Ireland is the ancestral home of the Tennison family and the legendary Colonel King Tennison. It is one of a few Irish castle estates that can trace its history back to royal families. This secluded, luxury, Roscommon Castle hotel is majestically set on the shores of Lough Meelagh, surrounded by over forty acres of breathtaking Irish scenery, lush green pastures, ancient forests and historical points of interest. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent Roscommon lawns, the luxury Castle hotel overlooks a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. Our World Class Spa & Leisure Centre is now open. Relax and unwind in our Pool or let us pamper you with one of our luxurious treatments. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of luxury, comfort and service. You will enjoy old world elegance with modern day comforts. One step inside Kilronan Castle, Roscommon and you are at home. With our warm and friendly atmosphere we will see to your every need, everything has been designed with your desires in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Castle Hotel And Spa
Kilronan Castle Hotel Roscommon
Kilronan Castle Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing