We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
sligo
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a friday night madness special and was very pleased.
Room - Room was great, lovely big bed with loads of cushions. Bathroom also nice too.
Couldn't figure out air con though! Guest info folder referred to thermostat in room but there was none in our room!

Dinner was great. It was inclusive and was surprised to get extras, Staff very attentive too. One small thing is, when ordered trio of chicken - had presumed potato would come with it but had to ask after we realised it wasn't included. Don't mind having to pay but just would have liked if waiter/waitress suggested that it did not come with potato.

Bar on ground level is lovely with great views. At a certain time we were told it was closing and that there was live music downstairs in the Dungeon Bar. This bar was nothing like upstairs. It was a bit dingy to be honest and no real atmosphere. I think it has a lot to do with the layout of the bar also.

Will be back soon though to try out Spa & Leisure Centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomoko2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    258
    105
    60
    41
See reviews for
265
753
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

You really feel like royalty at this hotel. It's filled with antiques and flowers and paintings, and the rooms are very comfortable. The lobby is inside the castle proper. All the rooms are in a portion that has been added on, but made to look very much like the original castle. The grounds are breathtaking. All the staff were friendly and seemed to really like working there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 409, which overlooks a rather drab courtyard. I believe the even numbered rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candyp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

...with our 20th Anniversary this weekend we opted to not travel to the usual spots people go to: Paris, Madrid etc etc, and Google prompted Kilronan Castle - and only 90 minutes from home.

A fantastic hotel, which is a welcoming change to the usual standard fare that so many have become.

Good sized clean rooms, great bathrooms and facilities. Clean, warm, comfortable.

We booked treatments in the Spa as well which were both very enjoyable.

It's not cheap, but as a treat is a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galwaytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As part of our Royal Irish Manors Tour, we stayed at Kilronan Castle for an amazing stay that all in our party just raved about.!!!
All the staff genuinely seemed to care about EVERY detail to give an experience that was exceptional.
Our only wish, was that our tour would have given us more time for the spa. My wife and I did get a chance for a massage, but with our time constraint for the group dinner, we did not get to enjoy the wonderful whirlpool and steam rooms...Staff like, massage therapist Anna are an amazing asset to the long list of kudos for your hotel and spa services.
Thanks Kilronan for the Irish hospitality at its best.!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzTravellerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked a two night break to celebrate my husband's birthday and we were delighted with the overall experience. All the staff were excellent from the moment we arrived to leaving. The bedroom was of a high quality and the food was excellent. The leisure facilities are the best we have experienced. We are looking to our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay from 5/23 to 5/25 even with the number of weddings. Staff is very good, very courteous and well trained. Dining in the main dinning room is a must. Only small hiccup was the lack of olives in our gin martini as stated in the bar menu. 49 years ago we would have been married at this perfect location

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here last weekend for two nights while attending a family wedding. We had our two young daughters with us. The surrounding area is beautiful and tranquil and the hotel is only a short drive from small villages and larger towns. Our room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The pool and spa were wonderful, especially the 'morning after'. Food in the restaurant was delicious and the setting was really nice. The best thing about our stay was definitely the staff - other hotels should send their staff here for training! The lady at front of house (I don't remember her name but she spoke with an Australian accent) couldn't have done more to help us with any request, even telephoning her own babysitter to see if she could mind our children for us in the hotel on one of the evenings. The restaurant staff were friendly and welcoming, but not over familiar. We got a great deal for two nights bed and breakfast with one evening meal included. I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyfarnon
5.5 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
846 reviews
13.9 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,242 reviews
6.9 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,617 reviews
9.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
154 reviews
20.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa

Property: Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Address: Ballyfarnon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Ballyfarnon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ballyfarnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan Castle is one of Ireland’s most luxurious Castle Hotels in Roscommon Ireland, Kilronan Castle Ireland is the ancestral home of the Tennison family and the legendary Colonel King Tennison. It is one of a few Irish castle estates that can trace its history back to royal families. This secluded, luxury, Roscommon Castle hotel is majestically set on the shores of Lough Meelagh, surrounded by over forty acres of breathtaking Irish scenery, lush green pastures, ancient forests and historical points of interest. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent Roscommon lawns, the luxury Castle hotel overlooks a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. Our World Class Spa & Leisure Centre is now open. Relax and unwind in our Pool or let us pamper you with one of our luxurious treatments. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of luxury, comfort and service. You will enjoy old world elegance with modern day comforts. One step inside Kilronan Castle, Roscommon and you are at home. With our warm and friendly atmosphere we will see to your every need, everything has been designed with your desires in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Castle Hotel And Spa
Kilronan Castle Hotel Roscommon
Kilronan Castle Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing