We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Kilronan Castle was the second of four castles my husband and I stayed in while touring Ireland in late-May. Our 2-night Kilronan experience was perfect. So perfect that we did not want to leave! We were fortunate enough to have a room in the castle portion of the hotel. An unexpected surprise for us. We had a lovely view overlooking the lake. The breakfast served each morning in the dining room was wonderful. We enjoyed the service of Mary especially. She was so warm and had a welcoming smile for us each time we saw her throughout our stay.

We had planned a day away from the castle for sight-seeing. But, when we saw the spa, the services offered, and the hydrotherapy area, we cancelled our plans and instead, opted for a spa day. No regrets on that decision. My husband enjoyed his hot-stone massage from Amanda. I enjoyed my massage and facial from Geraldine. Absolutely lovely and professional women. We then enjoyed the hydrotherapy wing of the spa. Overall, the spa is first-class, well-designed, and so relaxing. It is one of the best spas we have had the privilege to visit.

We also made the decision to have dinner at the Douglas Hyde restaurant within the castle and have that be our official 10-year anniversary dinner. No regrets on that decision either. Everything we ordered was delicious! The presentation of the dishes was beautiful. Service was personal and attentive. We had a lovely table by the window. When they heard we were celebrating our anniversary, they gave us two glasses of complimentary champagne.

Kilronan Castle should be a must on everyone’s list as a place to stay while visiting Ireland. We can’t recommend it highly enough. They have a gift of making their guests feel like royalty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    254
    100
    56
    40
See reviews for
254
732
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed on our anniversary for 2 nights. It was a package deal with dinner and spa. Well worth it. the whole experience was brilliant. and only an hour away! Food was just excellent- had their specialty steak the second night - cote de boeuf- unreal. Breakfast each morning was yummy and fresh. Spa was quiet and relaxing with not many people around which was great. We requested a room in the old castle part. Cosy room and comfy bed. All in all - great spot. We'll be back

Room Tip: Request a castle room with the lake view & if you like steak dont miss out on theirs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sligo
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a friday night madness special and was very pleased.
Room - Room was great, lovely big bed with loads of cushions. Bathroom also nice too.
Couldn't figure out air con though! Guest info folder referred to thermostat in room but there was none in our room!

Dinner was great. It was inclusive and was surprised to get extras, Staff very attentive too. One small thing is, when ordered trio of chicken - had presumed potato would come with it but had to ask after we realised it wasn't included. Don't mind having to pay but just would have liked if waiter/waitress suggested that it did not come with potato.

Bar on ground level is lovely with great views. At a certain time we were told it was closing and that there was live music downstairs in the Dungeon Bar. This bar was nothing like upstairs. It was a bit dingy to be honest and no real atmosphere. I think it has a lot to do with the layout of the bar also.

Will be back soon though to try out Spa & Leisure Centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomoko2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

You really feel like royalty at this hotel. It's filled with antiques and flowers and paintings, and the rooms are very comfortable. The lobby is inside the castle proper. All the rooms are in a portion that has been added on, but made to look very much like the original castle. The grounds are breathtaking. All the staff were friendly and seemed to really like working there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 409, which overlooks a rather drab courtyard. I believe the even numbered rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candyp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

...with our 20th Anniversary this weekend we opted to not travel to the usual spots people go to: Paris, Madrid etc etc, and Google prompted Kilronan Castle - and only 90 minutes from home.

A fantastic hotel, which is a welcoming change to the usual standard fare that so many have become.

Good sized clean rooms, great bathrooms and facilities. Clean, warm, comfortable.

We booked treatments in the Spa as well which were both very enjoyable.

It's not cheap, but as a treat is a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galwaytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

As part of our Royal Irish Manors Tour, we stayed at Kilronan Castle for an amazing stay that all in our party just raved about.!!!
All the staff genuinely seemed to care about EVERY detail to give an experience that was exceptional.
Our only wish, was that our tour would have given us more time for the spa. My wife and I did get a chance for a massage, but with our time constraint for the group dinner, we did not get to enjoy the wonderful whirlpool and steam rooms...Staff like, massage therapist Anna are an amazing asset to the long list of kudos for your hotel and spa services.
Thanks Kilronan for the Irish hospitality at its best.!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzTravellerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked a two night break to celebrate my husband's birthday and we were delighted with the overall experience. All the staff were excellent from the moment we arrived to leaving. The bedroom was of a high quality and the food was excellent. The leisure facilities are the best we have experienced. We are looking to our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyfarnon
5.5 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
13.9 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
6.9 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
18.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa

Property: Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Address: Ballyfarnon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Ballyfarnon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ballyfarnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan Castle is one of Ireland’s most luxurious Castle Hotels in Roscommon Ireland, Kilronan Castle Ireland is the ancestral home of the Tennison family and the legendary Colonel King Tennison. It is one of a few Irish castle estates that can trace its history back to royal families. This secluded, luxury, Roscommon Castle hotel is majestically set on the shores of Lough Meelagh, surrounded by over forty acres of breathtaking Irish scenery, lush green pastures, ancient forests and historical points of interest. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent Roscommon lawns, the luxury Castle hotel overlooks a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. Our World Class Spa & Leisure Centre is now open. Relax and unwind in our Pool or let us pamper you with one of our luxurious treatments. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of luxury, comfort and service. You will enjoy old world elegance with modern day comforts. One step inside Kilronan Castle, Roscommon and you are at home. With our warm and friendly atmosphere we will see to your every need, everything has been designed with your desires in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Castle Hotel And Spa
Kilronan Castle Hotel Roscommon
Kilronan Castle Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing