We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I couldn't believe that I had never heard of Kilronan Castle until a friend recently held her wedding there. It really is a wonderful place to stay. The setting is gorgeous, everything was spotlessly clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a great setting for a wedding, The attention to detail was excellent, the food was served promptly, and was piping hot and delicious when it arrived. On leaving, I accidentally left some money behind in my room. I was about 30 minutes away from the hotel when I received a phone call (from Anne I think it might have been) just to let me know that it had been found and to make arrangements for it to be returned to me. I was so impressed with the proactive approach - I thought it was such good customer service. I would definitely recommend Kilronan Castle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in Kilronan Castle last October while on a tour of Ireland, this was my favorite stop on the tour. There are pictures throughout the property chronicling the rebirth of this castle from just a few wall to its current state.

Our room was large with an exceptionally comfortable bedding, large bathtub and a separate shower; the view from our room was of the large lake onsite, the food and service was incredible, the grounds were worth the visit alone.

Onsite is a grand ballroom that would be perfect for a wedding, the basement bar was really inviting. Great place if you are in the southern countryside.

The spa was incredible, the large swimming pool is worth a visit

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dufferme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed in Kilronan castle for 2 nights in a suite! The room was gorgeous! 4 poster bed, very spacious room, big bathroom with bath and shower! The service was 5 star quality! Restaurant was divine with very professional service! Spa was amazing! Perfect way to end the day! I'm so glad we came to Kilronan castle! It's a trip that we will never forget and most definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenkadawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was staying in Kilronan as part of a wedding party and as such stayed a total of three night. On arrive the drive up the the castle was breath taking in itself. The ground are truly beautiful and there is no doubt that you are entering a real castle.

The room was lovely with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept it. What really made this stay for me however was the staff. From the moment I checked in they were above expectation. Helpful to the last, predicting needs I didn't even know I had.

I also tried the thermal suite as there was a good value deal and that was throughout enjoyable also.

Room Tip: The castle is in a quite location but to best enjoy the view you want a room on the outside of the c...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a nice stay here for a wedding. The interior was a lovely gothic style. The bedroom was nice but for the price was not worth it. No water in the room, and the room was small. The food was good but at breakfast i had to ask for tea and toast three times. While we did not have a 'do not disturb' sign on door, cleaning staff opened bedroom door while we were in the room. They gave a knock while opening door, surely they should knock and wait for no answer before entering?!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The rooms are very clean and good sized. The bed was extremely comfortable, and covered with lots of pillows. The bathroom was spacious and clean as well.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and filling.

It is a bit out of town, so make sure you get good directions when traveling, but it certainly isn't a bad drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmpst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Was here recently for a friends wedding. Amazing wedding, super professional staff. Castle it self was great, very comfortable beds. Breakfast was very tasty. Dinner menu is limited & expensive but expected I guess.

The Spa was a bit of a let down, having paid so much to stay in the castle then having to pay the 30euro extra for both of us to use the thermal spa was a bit much considering some of the spa areas didn't work(pressed buttons but nothing happened)

Location is in the middle of now where but thats the fun of it. Lovely walks around the very large grounds

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyfarnon
5.5 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
875 reviews
13.9 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,260 reviews
6.9 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
156 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,675 reviews
20.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa

Address: Ballyfarnon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Ballyfarnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ballyfarnon
Price Range: £126 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan Castle is one of Ireland’s most luxurious Castle Hotels in Roscommon Ireland, Kilronan Castle Ireland is the ancestral home of the Tennison family and the legendary Colonel King Tennison. It is one of a few Irish castle estates that can trace its history back to royal families. This secluded, luxury, Roscommon Castle hotel is majestically set on the shores of Lough Meelagh, surrounded by over forty acres of breathtaking Irish scenery, lush green pastures, ancient forests and historical points of interest. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent Roscommon lawns, the luxury Castle hotel overlooks a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. Our World Class Spa & Leisure Centre is now open. Relax and unwind in our Pool or let us pamper you with one of our luxurious treatments. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of luxury, comfort and service. You will enjoy old world elegance with modern day comforts. One step inside Kilronan Castle, Roscommon and you are at home. With our warm and friendly atmosphere we will see to your every need, everything has been designed with your desires in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kilronan Castle Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Castle Hotel And Spa
Kilronan Castle Hotel Roscommon
Kilronan Castle Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing