We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, but spicy!”

La Gardenia Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #12 of 79 Restaurants in Collinsville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic, but spicy!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is by far my Dad's favorite Mexican restaurant within 100 miles.
The location isn't the greatest. It is in a rough part of town. The street address says Collinsville, but locals consider this Fairmont.
They have a great new outdoor seating area. Lots of shades and fans.
The indoor seating is small and cramped.
The food is really good. The salsa is a little spicy for my taste. Aside from that... the food is great. American's are so used to the Tex-Mex, American spin on things... This is very authentic. It is definitely worth trying. May end up in the same boat as my dad... - A FAVORITE!
My dish = Enchiladas

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Jen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Finally, authentic Mexican food in the area!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have eaten at nearly every Mexican themed place in the area, Zapatas, Mariachis, Mi Casa, La Casa; all from poor to awful. We travel widely in the Navy and grew up in southern Arizona of Mexican American descent and this place serves the real deal, FINALLY near our current station. The Posole was perfect (smoky and rich red chili) with lots of onions, cilantro and radishes on the side. The tacos are great. The enchiladas suizas with tomatillo was yummy and the refried beans almost as good as our families in Arizona. Lots of real deal stuff on the menu, menudo will be my next try. The place is little more than a hole in the wall but the folks are nice and attentive. This one is worth the drive from the tourist fare in Belleville and OFallon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“fantastic burrito fajita”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had the beef burrito fajita and my partner had the chicken. Really really good. meat, green and red peppers, onion, and cheese inside a large tortilla and then with white sauce on top. very yummy. Rice is very good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerPaul18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
1,053 reviews
527 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Friendly Authentic Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have tried a few other Mexican Restaurants in this area and decided to go to La Gardenia. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful with recommendations. They happened to have $1 margaritas on the day that we went. Happy to say that they were nice sized and very good. Food was great and huge portions. We each took home enough for another meal. This is not my favorite authentic Mexican restaurant in the area. But it was very, very good and we will certainly be going back. They also have a very nice patio, so will have to give that a try next spring.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Tucked away in this strip, La Gardenia has a warm, friendly atmosphere, very helpful staff, a very nice patio and the food is wonderful! Nice flavor, good portions and hot when it came to our table. There are a number of Mexican restaurants in the area, however this is the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gardenia Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 
Collinsville, IL
Collinsville, IL
 

Been to La Gardenia Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing