We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not expect this nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2011

On a business trip in southern Illinois and stayed here based on TripAdvisor recommendations. Good advice. This was a very nice hotel. Great service. Newly renovated rooms. Nice open front lobby. One of the better mid-priced hotels I have stayed at in the past few years. Would definitely stay here again. And the restaurant in the hotel was excellent, although on the pricey side.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOaKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

948 - 954 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

On a 3 day trip to St. Louis with a 6 month old. The rooms were a nice size, big enough to separate us from the baby. The rooms were super clean, but the halls, elevators and other places that generally don't count were a bit dirty. Other than that, excellent place. And they give you free warm cookies upon check in!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aVerySmartMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Most of the other hotels in the area are similar in price, but not in quality. This one is top of the line quality, room was luxurious and comfortable. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlichadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Loved this hotel! Got a deal through another website, and we paid half price so I wasn't expecting much. Upon arrival, the lobby was modern, staff was friendly, and the room was stellar! Very upscale fixtures, modern touches (things like a bathroom sink on a detached cabinet), and best of all - the uber comfortable bed! My friend and I both slept like a rock. The HVAC worked perfectly, the shower had great water pressure and fancy shower head, and the towels were nice and big.

The only downside was that the pet fee is crazy high ($50), but hey, at least they allow pets! if I was ever coming through the St Louis area (which I am not), I would totally stay here again for even double the price I paid.

OH, and the hotel wifi was fast - the first of it's kind! Most hotel wifi is slow, and almost useless I've found.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We were traveling to local sites with our teenage granddaughter. It is close to Cahokia Mounds and St. Louis. We were able to have affordable connecting rooms, that gave both of us privacy, The lobby was impressive and the rooms have been refreshed. The linens were lovely, beds very comfortable. There is every franchise nearby for convenience. WE had read negative reviews on another site and were nervous, but our concerns were unnecessary, it is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcubed48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My father and I stayed at the hotel for a night so we could go to a baseball game one night and a football game the next day.

The hotel was very, very nice. The lobby was impressive and the staff was very friendly. We also appreciated the chocolate chip cookies we received when we arrived.

The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The room was pretty quiet.

We appreciated the dividing of the garbage cans into a recycling side and a garbage side. The hotel also had the option to decline cleaning of sheets and towels to help the environment (and save the hotel money).

We were mainly focused on sleeping, but did pass a very nice looking indoor pool and read about the free business office and other services.

We also found the hotel's close proximity to the Metrolink to be very useful. We drove about 5-10 minutes to the East St. Louis Metrolink station, next to the casino, and made it to Busch Stadium in another 20 minutes. Why hassle with the traffic and the expense and hassle of parking?

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UofIx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stayed at the Doubletree Wednesday and Thursday of this week. Drove the 350+ miles from my office and arrived here at 4.30pm. Checked in with the front desk (had checked in online) and was sent on my way to the elevators. Walked quite a way and got up to the third floor. It was then that I realized I was at the complete wrong end of the L shaped hotel. Walked to my room, passing 2 other sets of elevators (thanks for the directions!!).
The front desk did inform us of the "Managers reception". 2 hours of free drinks and snacks. Had a few beers and some spring rolls / cheese and buscuits. Edible.,. but you can't expect the best for free!
Room was very nice. Newly furnished. Very clean. The only negative about the room was the air con unit. When turned off it still made a hell of a racket.

Location was pretty good. Walking distance to several restaurants.

Breakfast was excellent. Free with HHonors. Not sure of the price if I was paying..

Would definitely recommend stopping here

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Collinsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
#1 of 11 in Collinsville
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Collinsville
Hampton Inn Collinsville
#3 of 11 in Collinsville
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Collinsville
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Collinsville - St. Louis
14.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis

Address: 1000 Eastport Plaza Dr, Collinsville, IL 62234-6103 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Collinsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Collinsville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Collinsville
Price Range: £71 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Collinsville-St. Louis is located in Collinsville, Illinois just outside of St. Louis. The hotel is located next to the Gateway Conference Center, a premier event space. Downtown is just a quick drive and Lambert St. Louis International Airport is 30 minutes away. Guests can enjoy a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis Hotel Collinsville
Collinsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Collinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing