We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Start, Good Finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Collinsville, United States
1 review
“Terrible Start, Good Finish”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My experience was hopefully out of the ordinary, and had a stressful start. I stayed here for my wedding night, so needless to say a quick check-in is a must. For this reason, I paid for the room online about 1 month in advance to insure a smooth process. Unfortunately that wasnt the case... Upon arrival we proceed to the desk and hand the gentleman our paperwork only for him to respond "I am really sorry but I know you paid for a kingsize bedroom but we don't have any left" Outraged I ask why in the world they wouldnt have what I reserved a month ago and he said they put people in rooms as they arrive...which makes reservations pointless. I asked for an upgrade and was told none were available, I asked for a refund and he told me online payments cannot be refunded... he tried to get us to downgrade with no refund...after a resounding "H*ll No!" , he magically found a room available...it was then that he told us they only lock the rooms for preferred members of the honors program... I was about ready to dive across the counter at the guy, then he said there was another married couple that was coming that night as well and we could have their room. I asked him why he held their room and not ours and he said "because they told us they were married" Why the heck should I have to tell you why im staying there for you to hold the room I paid for a month ago!?!?! By now my bride is holding me back from throwing fists. He finally hits a few buttons and gives us that couples room, then tells us "well now I am going to have to break the bad news to the other couple"...punk was guilt tripping me... I essentially said thats your problem, give me a key and we were sent to our room. After looking for an elevator because he didnt tell us where to go, we finally get to the room. We had an issue with the shower, but it wasnt a big deal, just took some muscle to turn on. HERE IS THE GOOD FINISH We were given a upgraded room, a free bottle of champagne, and free breakfast. Then upon checking out the following morning, a very nice gentleman apologized for the previous guy we spoke to, told us the information he gave was wrong and we were given a Full Refund. So we had a better room, free breakfast, free champagne and a free stay. These accomodations are the only reason I would return to a Double Tree. They took care of us and accepted responsibility.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rafael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    280
    107
    62
    23
See reviews for
294
154
47
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blanchard, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Excellent service and great amenities! Would gladly stay again. The Cookies at the front desk are great. The Pool looked inviting but did not have enough time to try it out. I liked how there were many restaurant choices within walking distance of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to a family on vacation or anyone for business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alisa M. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I love this hotel in all the states I have been in would not stay any where else.... just make sure the bathroom vents work before you dry your hair... if there is a double tree hotel around that is where ill be..my grandson had to keep his med cool so they even brought a frig. to the room ... the people are great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This place may fool you on the outside, but the inside is very nice, the accomodations are great, and Porter's steakhouse is superb. It has a nice bar and really everything you could want, and it is convenient to everything...highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice hotel but we had trouble regulating the heat/cool. Had to call at 3am to get someone to look at it. They did come right away. Did not think he could fix it but incidentally did and brought us a fan in the interim. Also they did not offer a discount for college families. All other Hilton Hotels in the area do but this one did not. Shame on you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The service was very good. I had a problem with a pet having in the room before us --- not the motel's fault, but I'm highly allergic to dogs and cats and you cannot prevent people sneaking in their pets. However, we were moved to another room. An employee helped us move and also got me a soda pop to help clear my breathing passages. Another thing, the fire alarm went off early Saturday morning and the crew at the motel handeled the situation effiecently and carefully. Very good. My only complaint was that the toilet was not clean. The bowl was clean, but around the outside and the back it was VERY dirty. Sitting in the tub it was very noticable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beecher, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Everything was great, the only thing missing is a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The hotel is really upscale at a reasonable price. I will be staying here again.The only thing missing is a breakfast bar, but the hotel has a wonderful restaurant. Entering the hotel it feels like a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Collinsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
#1 of 11 in Collinsville
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Collinsville
Hampton Inn Collinsville
#5 of 11 in Collinsville
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Collinsville
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Collinsville
Days Inn Collinsville
#7 of 11 in Collinsville
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis

Property: Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Address: 1000 Eastport Plaza Dr, Collinsville, IL 62234-6103 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Collinsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Collinsville
#2 Family Hotel in Collinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Collinsville-St. Louis is located in Collinsville, Illinois just outside of St. Louis. The hotel is located next to the Gateway Conference Center, a premier event space. Downtown is just a quick drive and Lambert St. Louis International Airport is 30 minutes away. Guests can enjoy a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis Hotel Collinsville
Collinsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Collinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing