We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The first night's room had an awful, overpowering deodorizing smell . As the night wore on, it's effects on me intensified and by 3 am I was sick to my stomach and had a headache. I asked for a change of room for the second night. That room was not very well cleaned. The bed's headboard was white with dust as was the carpet around the wall's edge. There was also popcorn on the floor between the bed's headboard and the wall. I also felt like I was being bitten during the night and I do think there were fleas in the room since the hotel does allow pets including large dogs . Worst two nights in a hotel ever!! The front desk personnel were very nice but I do expect better cleanliness in a Doubletree Hotel. No fridge in the room was a disappointment as was no type of breakfast .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Did not provide in room refrigerator. Had to pay for Breakfast buffet to get Oatmeal, Milk and dry cereal for 2 people. Cost was $21.00 +tip. Maids take over the elevator and main hall way bringing guest travel to a halt while we waited for them to get to their floors to clean. It was clean and fairly quiet but not impressed for the cost. King rooms unavailable and reservations made 6 mo previous to stay! =

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scutler32, General Manager at Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay. I apologize that we were unable to meet your request for a king room. I will make sure that we discuss with our servers to offer the ala carte menu to all our guest as well as the buffet option. Although they buffet offers a large amount of food for the price it can be overwhelming for those that just want a smaller portion. Again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is clean, comfortable and encounters with the staff were all pleasant. The warm cookie upon check-in is a nice touch. Breakfast is a bit expensive, however the food was good and the wait staff was excellent.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business conference. While the hotel itself is very conveniently located, the rooms are in serious need of updating. They smelled moldy/musty. For $119/ night, I think you could find better accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scutler32, General Manager at Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all of our guest feedback so build upon. We will share this will the engineering and housekeeping teams regarding the smell of your room as this is not typical of our hotel.
Again we thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is very clean, modern, and welcoming! All of the staff members were friendly and accommodating. This hotel offered a great value for Hilton Honors members. We were extremely pleased with our experience and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Corell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lobby is welcoming. Staff were somewhat friendly upon check in. Staff knew nothing of Collinsville, IL. or of the surrounding restaurants. The purpose of our visit was to see the giant Catsup water tower, they knew nothing of it. Was told our bed was a king which is what we reserved but it was not, as we have a king bed at home. Bed was terrible to sleep on. Bath tub did not drain while taking shower. Cookies were never warm, just cool. We have stayed at Hilton Doubletree's before Never had these types of issues. The server at the Denny's down the street was more helpful. Overall disappointed stay at a Hilton property

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scutler32, General Manager at Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We appreciate your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. We apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. We will be addressing all of your concerns with our team in our ongoing training sessions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel was great but while there the vehicle was broken into - apparently this isn't a new issue, we weren't the only victim but still there are no security cameras in hotel parking lots. That would be a huge improvement. We probably will not stay here again because it seems it must be a target.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 243brendad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Collinsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
#1 of 11 in Collinsville
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Collinsville
Hampton Inn Collinsville
#4 of 11 in Collinsville
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Collinsville
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Collinsville - St. Louis
14.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis

Address: 1000 Eastport Plaza Dr, Collinsville, IL 62234-6103 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Collinsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Collinsville
#2 Family Hotel in Collinsville
Price Range: £71 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Collinsville-St. Louis is located in Collinsville, Illinois just outside of St. Louis. The hotel is located next to the Gateway Conference Center, a premier event space. Downtown is just a quick drive and Lambert St. Louis International Airport is 30 minutes away. Guests can enjoy a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis Hotel Collinsville
Collinsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Collinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing