We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap For The Area, Expensive For This Place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
464 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Cheap For The Area, Expensive For This Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is not a bad deal if you need to be in this particular area or as an alternative to much more expensive places in downtown St. Louis, Mo. (which you can see from here). This is a very old place that I have known as a Holiday Inn and then a Motel 6. The place didn't change hands, just banners as it seems to be nearly identical to what it was last year. The rooms have individual outside entrances and are pretty dated but seem to be clean and well maintained. Outside has suffered more damage with some brick and mortar deterioration and cracked concrete walks. There was a bathtub with a shower and free Wi-Fi that was flawless. Everything worked well in the room other than electric outlets were very worn. The bed was very comfortable and the place was nice and quiet. Even though it is early August, the pool was not open and was covered up. Parking is decent and actually wraps around the property allowing you to park close to your room. There is a complimentary breakfast offered that is bare bones and with low quality stuff. The area does have a lot in the way of eating establishments close by (Denny's is about 20' from the motel) and shopping as well. friendly service at check in and check out. I paid $56.49 for a solo visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perky037, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your responces, but this property has been renovated inside and outside, with new bedding and freshly exterior paint also the concrete work has been taken care of.
As for the cold continental breakfast, we have added hot waffle, may be in the future more item will be introduced.
To pass on the saving to the guest, extra amenities are not placed in the room, we try to keep our rates economically, so why pay extra for the extra amenities that are not everybody uses. Certain items like iron, iron boards, hairdryers are available upon request at the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
9
5
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royalton, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The photos on their website showed a nice updated room and that is what I was expecting. The carpet was stretched, the bedspread had cigarette burns and the pillows were horrific. I must stay the room was clean and the staff was gracious and helpful. Do not put photos of the ONE
room you have updated, it was very deceiving!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perky037, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Sorry for your experience we are still in the process of renovation we had a house full so we had to rent the unfinished rooms, please except our apology. Hopefully in the future, you will give us another chance to accommodate you in a renovated room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Collinsville hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We booked through Travelocity several days in advance. When we checked in we were asked for a credit/debit card for incidentals. This is a standard, expected procedure. However, my debit card was then charged TWICE for the room that was already paid for! This was after the clerk confirmed our Travelocity reservation number. Because of this, my banking account was literally wiped out. No kind of compensation was offered and no management on site.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaukiDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perky037, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Incidental credit cards are authorized at the time of check-in to verify validity of the card. A debit card authorization translates into a "hold" on your account, this hold is for the duration of your hotel stay and your Bank's policy. Regardless of your reservation been paid by an On-Line Travel Agency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osage Beach, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights, payed a little over $100... I work in a hotel so i know what too look for when i go in... Wen i first walked in, the room seemed very clean. Worn carpet or not, when its clean and the bed is comfy and clean, just makes the room look a lot better. One thing i didnt like was that there wasnt alot of stuff in the rooms, no coffee pot or any of that but i didnt need it either... And the things that were in there, kinda looked like they were just thrown... Id say maybe put more attention on that bc it makes the room look better! Me and my boyfriend are coming back in a few days to visit!:)

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perky037, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We will do a better job in placing the items in the room, the reason we do not have many items in the room as you had mentioned even if they were there you did not need them, is to keep our cost down, so we may pass on that cost to our customers by keeping our rate reasonable. certain items like iron and iron boards can be requested from the front desk also hair dryers depending on availability, coffee is in the lobby.
Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a classic No frills hotel. It is very basic, but it was just off the highway and a logical stopping point. Worn carpeting.
Clean room. For being so close to highway, it was relatively quiet. It helped that Denny's was next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micdic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perky037, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
No frill Hotel, If only a bed, shower and free continental breakfast is required then why pay for frills when not all customers require it, to keep our prices down. Certain toiletry items are complementary in the Lobby if required,
Thank you for the positive comment for the cleanliness of our room, we are in the process of renovating our hotel, so we apologize for the carpet, but i hope you will give use another opportunity to accommodate you on you next visit once our renovation is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I have used this facility for over 5 years staying 3-7 times a month. The facility was just recently acquired by American Best Value Inn. It was a disappointment. The mattress was worn out , the room was not as clean with trash from the previous guest remaining in the room. The internet was sparce with minimal connectivity. Satellite service needs to be tuned! I am relocating my loyalty from this facility. Staff waa friendly and cordial.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishoprbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perky037, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
My apology to you, but as we speak all the rooms in the hotel are being renovated, so I a sure you the standard is coming up and not going down, and for the WiFi connection having bad weather could be the reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
293 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here before. Over the last few years the hotel has been in steady decline. The carpeting is old and very worn. The bedding was clean, but the mattress was smaller than the box spring underneath. Pass thus place by if you can.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perky037, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Apology for your experience, we are in the process of renovating the room with a fresh look, hope you will give us a second change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Collinsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Collinsville
Days Inn Collinsville
#6 of 11 in Collinsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
#2 of 11 in Collinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Collinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Collinsville
Hampton Inn Collinsville
#5 of 11 in Collinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Collinsville - St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis
Address: 552 Ramada Boulevard, I-70/55 at Exit#11, Bluff Road, Collinsville, IL 62234 (Formerly Motel 6 Collinsville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Collinsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Collinsville / St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collinsville Best Western
Best Western Collinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing