We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smaller comfort inn but wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Crystal Lake
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“smaller comfort inn but wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This Comfort Inn in Crystal Lake was smaller than most but our stay was great. Wonderful staff, excellent breakfast, gym and nice pool. The rooms were a but outdated but very clean and had everything you needed.....microwave, fridge , internet access. Very close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debski49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    31
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
17
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
409 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is an average Comfort Inn that could use a little updating. The rooms are done in a country motif and somewhat dated. The bath had extremely dark lighting. The public places were nice and clean and overall our room was too. The pool area is extremely small as is the pool - so good for business people more than families.
Overall, we would stay here again. We would like to see some good updates though soon.
PS: Excellent service!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is a Comfort Inn, don't come here expecting anything else. The rooms are clean, the staff is very friendly and it is quiet. These qualities set this Comfort Inn above any I've ever been in before.

Negatives: The elevator is extremely slow so I take the stairs and the third floor smells like smoke.

Room Tip: This is the quietest Comfort Inn I've ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Our trip to Crystal Lake was to attend a funeral. The night supervisor helped us find the hotel with very clear directions. When we arrived, we were given a "bereavement" rate. After a stressful day, I found this comforting. The hotel is clean, and the staff, from the desk people to the people who serve the breakfast, to the cleaning staff, were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was hot and good.

My favorite Comfort touch was complimentary coffee and popcorn in the lobby.

I thank Comfort Inn for making a difficult situation a little better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELKHART LAKE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

What a wonderful experience. We are in the final stretch of week long stay and can't say how impressed we are with the staff at this hotel. The front desk associates (Nathan and Cecelia) are outstanding! They have both gone above and beyond their expected duties to make us feel wlecome and comfortable. The accomodations are above average but the employees are excellent! This stay has not only been very affordable (compared to other hotels in the area), but wonderfully pleasant. Thank you, we will be back again.

Room Tip: Third floor is a mix of smoking and Non-smoking rooms. I would recommend first or second floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

When I stay at a hotel, I look for a few things: Is it safe? Is it clean? Can I rest there? Does the internet work? This hotel has a lot to commend itself and some things are exceptionally good but there were some issues that should be mentioned.
Upon arrival, I was greeted by the clerk who was, in a word, delightful. She soon has me ensconced in a room but not before explaining to me everything that I needed to know about the hotel and its amenities. This hotel is located in a commercial area on a major highway with every sort of restaurant and store, some within walking distance. I felt secure as to my person and my vehicle during my entire stay. One evening I came in to find a police officer parked in the lot. I could not have felt safer.
The exterior look of the hotel would have led me to believe that it was a new facility, as would the condition of the lobby. The room itself was very clean and the furniture was in excellent condition. The ceilings were unusually high, giving the room a spacious feeling. It was only in the bathroom that there was a little paint peeling, though no mold and the paint-over job and some of the worn edges revealed that this is not a new facility. It is well maintained. The sink and counter were outside of the bathroom and therefore usable if the bathroom were occupied. In addition, the counter was quite long and could easily have accommodated three people at the same time.
The bed was comfortable and the pillows plentiful and fluffy. I always take pillows with me in case hotel pillows are inadequate but they were not in this case. There were two problems. One was that the curtains overhung the air conditioner in such a way that if the curtains weren’t folder up into the windowsill, all the cool air went behind them. I came in at one point and found the room warm even though the a/c was turned on and realized that the cool air was circulating up to the window. In addition, at one point, the a/c would not turn on, as if there were some issue with the switch. Eventually, whatever the problem was, it resolved itself. I was able to keep the room effectively cool during my stay.
The bigger problem was that the curtains did not keep out the morning light so the room was quite bright in the morning, waking me up.
There was plenty of hot water and the water pressure was adequate. There were sufficient soft and fluffy towels and all the needed amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, ironing board and iron.
There was in indoor swimming pool and a very nice exercise room with a large-screen TV. There were about 40 channels on the in-room television.
There was a spacious and well-appointed dining room with a large array of edibles, including fresh-cooked eggs, bacon and sausage. There was also a waffle iron and the lady that runs the room was ready to assist with anything. There is coffee on a 24-hour basis and internet access through a lobby computer.
In-room wireless internet was fast and easy to access. However, at one point during the second evening I was there, the internet modem shut down and though I could easily access the hotel’s server, there was no internet service. The hotel apparently has several nodes in different areas, each of which can be separately accessed. When the internet went down, I could get access through various ones of these nodes but not to the internet. Internet access did not resume during the remaining hours I was there. Since I was about to sleep and left early the next morning, I did not pursue the issue.
All in all, this was a very good stay and a good value in a very fine facility with good service and good amenities. With the exception of the intrusion of the morning light and the internet problems, this was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nighthawk416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our family stayed at the Comfort Inn in Crystal Lake over Memorial weekend 2012 and were extremely pleased! The cleanliness of the hotel is incredible; even the detail of the vents in the bathrooms, they were spotless. I have found that to be one thing that is filthy in other hotels. The bed linens were fresh and smelled clean. You can definitely tell the staff takes great pride in their hotel and were simply incredible. We were treated extremely well and they took very good care of us with requests of additional towels needed to the wonderful shuttle service! The hotel is old, but they are renovating to be very modern and updated.The continental breakfast, which included much more than the typical waffles, pastries and yogurt, was wonderful. The location is close to lots of shopping and several restaurants. We look forward to staying here again. Thank you to the staff at Comfort Inn in Crystal Lake!!! The best!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Lake
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
10.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 595 E. Tracy Trail, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Crystal Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Crystal Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Crystal Lake
Comfort Inn Crystal Lake
Crystal Lake Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing