We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Around the Clock

Around the Clock
Ranked #12 of 128 Restaurants in Crystal Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our whole family enjoys the casual friendly atmosphere. The food is always fresh and the service is quick. The menu has a wide variety so what-ever you have a taste for is available at a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mogamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    51
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food 24-7”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

What can you say about a place where the eggs are done right and the all you have to do is think the word "coffee" and your server is there pouring all that you need when you are a quart low! I've only had breakfast there, but they also have killer-looking desserts near the front register.

Bathrooms are a little antiquated, but very clean! a fact not lost on this picky traveler. Parking is plentiful.

Only bad point - the acoustics are funky, so if someone gets on a cell phone a few tables from you, you hear his life story without trying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Award Winning Pastries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

It's so easy to go to Around the Clock (be careful of traffic pulling into the parking lot) after enjoying a movie at the nearby Crystal Lake theaters. You have got to try one of the pastries in the display case rather than ordering the standard fare off the menu. I had the pecan roll, which my server suggested havin cut and toasted. It was amazing, and so big I had the second half for breakfast this morning.

Their coffee is passable, so try the hot chocolate mounded with whipped cream instead!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something for everyone...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Around the Clock is a tradition when coming home for a visit. Came here many times growing up and the place hasn't changed a bit , the best breakfast , and soups , pastries , anything you could want and really helps if your with a group with different wants.
The service had always been wonderful , and they will do all they can to make your visit special , I went one morning when I first arrived and had a pastry I have not had in years , the waitress decorated it special for me and I really just thought that was so kind , I wish I could remember her name and sorry about that , but I'm sure the owners know that they are very lucky to have the staff they do have .
Always clean and cheery so no worries there , if you are in crystal lake for any reason it's a must to try no matter the time of day . Thank you for not changing a thing all these years . Great memories came back to me sitting in one if your booths . :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geselle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagol, IL
Level Contributor
160 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nothing special about this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Breakfast, just okay. Had pancakes, nothing special about them. Husband had an omelet with mushrooms, onions and cheese. The cheese was supposed to be American cheese, but it sure looked and tasted like cheese sprayed out of a can. There were also two large groups with young children and when they left with quite a mess of food on the floor, there was no attempt by restaurant staff to clean the floors before seating another party. I think the "cleanliness" of the restaurant was a bigger issue for me than the food and because of this, we will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Around the Clock also viewed

 

Been to Around the Clock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing